We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“For pure souls” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Skay's Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bandhavgarh National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Skay's Camp
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“For pure souls”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

kudos to Satyendra and Kay for the honesty and zeal with which they run their camp- a rarity these days. This place will do justice to those who respect wildlife;those who have other ideas should look elsewhere. A place where the nature enthusiasts (whether amateur or professional) will truly value the invaluable experience of the hosts. A must visit for birdwatchers, wildlife enthsuasts and anyone who respects birds and animals or wants to understand nature. No touristy thrills like music, DJ, spa etc- please go elsewhere. Throughly enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunil066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    2
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
35
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Satyendra and Kay and the most knoweldable and gracious hosts. This small, simple setting was the perfect place to recover from jet lag and tour the Tala zone. Kay shared her stories of tigers and her magnificent wildlife art with us. Satyendra went on the safri's with us and knew everything. The guides that the park requires get a break when Satyendra arrives! We couldn't have been more happy with our stay. The staff even hand cut bamboo sticks for us to bring home to our son. The food was flavorful but not too spicy which is just what I needed. My husband was provided extra hot peppers on the side to spice up his dishes. If you want to feel cared for and safe yet experience India more close at hand, this is the place for you. One of my favorite extras was the beautiful cats that lives on the property, so fun!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Skay's Camp last January. The room was comfortable and although it was quite chilly at night, the hot water bottle and the blankets kept out the cold. What made our stay special was to be able to listen to Satyendra's and Kay's stories about the park and tigers. Satyendra came on the safaris with us twice and again, we were very pleased that he shared his knowledge about wildlife with us. He also did well to arrange that we would ride an elephant to see a tiger, which was a magical experience.
Meals were good and we felt very well taken care of. We would definitely recommend staying there.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clem-John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Satyendra and Kay made our visit to Bandhavgarph extraordinary! Satyendra was extremely helpful from quick responses to my emails, accommodating when our train was 4 hours late, to remembering my desire to ride elephant hence went out of his way to arrange private elephant rides for us when we arrived!

Satyendra and Kay are very knowledgeable and passionate about the tigers in Bandhavgarph and they shared their stories and experiences with us freely during our 2-night stay. Satyendra came along on our safari the last morning and because of his experience of judging the tiger warning calls, we had a tiger walked right to the jeep, while all the other jeeps gave up waiting and left earlier.

The huts are simple but the meals at Skay's camp were delicious. We picked eggplants out of their garden and they will be cooked for our next meal. We sat around the fire pit for dinner and listened to tiger tales every night, it was an extra-ordinary experience, thanks to Satyendra and Kay!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LengL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

If you want to meet people with excellent knowledge of tigers Kay is a specialist of tigers and other wildlife in the national park. Rooms are very basic, four concrete wall and floor, and two beds. It was a bit cold at night in december they provided a hot water bottle, The time we spend there they're was no hot water, it was solar power, but we didn't manage to get any. The morning before the games, you get some biscuits and the, then the breakfast is good, a very light lunch and a nice diner around the fire with the hosts. But the grounds of Skay's camp are good for relaxing between game drives,and a place with Wi FI in the garden, If it's important for you to be able to discuss with experience host , then it's for you. But do not expect comfort. The driver was very respectful of the wild life. The only con at the end of our stay , one of the meme of the staff came in our room and ask for 500 rupee tips. It's nt that we will not give a tip, but I do think we should be able to chose when and how much we will give. I thought that it was a bit rude. If you go to Bandhavgarh park just to see tiger, and do not want to learn about the park animals, you could save some money and stay in the small town for a lot cheaper then 90$ a day.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcogliese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bandhavgarh National Park hotels
8.8 km away
Nature Heritage Resort
Nature Heritage Resort
#2 of 12 in Bandhavgarh National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
2.7 km away
The Wildflower Resort
The Wildflower Resort
#5 of 12 in Bandhavgarh National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
1.2 km away
Aranyak Resort
Aranyak Resort
#1 of 12 in Bandhavgarh National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Syna Tiger Resort
Syna Tiger Resort
#16 of 35 in Bandhavgarh National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.4 km away
Mogli Jungle Resort
Mogli Jungle Resort
#5 of 10 in Tala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.4 km away
Tree House Hideaway
Tree House Hideaway
#2 of 35 in Bandhavgarh National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skay's Camp? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skay's Camp

Property: Skay's Camp
Address: H.NO. 129, P.O. Tala, Bandhavgarh National Park 484661, India
Region: India > Madhya Pradesh > Bandhavgarh National Park
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Bandhavgarh National Park
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,691 - ₹ 16,959
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a simple home stay type accommodation where you share the jungle experience in a family atmosphere. Skay's Camp is run by Satyendra K Tiwari, Wildlife Photographer and Kathleen Mary Hassall, Wildlife Artist duo. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Skay's Camp Bandhavgarh National Park, Madhya Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing