We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
56
11
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
56
11
2
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

It’s a secluded place offering a great stay in the lap of Himalayas.
Difficult to reach, as a good access road is badly needed. Mr. Piyush Kumar is a gentle host trying his best to provide for every necessity at such an isolated place. But I personally feel it’s Little overpriced than what they really offer during a stay. Spacious Rooms with great view but need heaters/ bonfire.
Food is simple, tasty n satwik. ( please don’t expect non veg)
It would be more appealing if they can also provide for driver’s accommodations. Coz at such faraway places it’s difficult to find a shelter for your driver. ( please negotiate about driver’s policies before you visit)
Overall good, truly retreats

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank swagata s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

One of the most special places in the world. Piyush and his team do everything possible to make it a unique experience for each guest. This has been our second Yoga retreat to Dunagiri and I know we'll keep returning for many more. Dunagiri has been lovingly created & designed, it thrives on kindness and warm hospitality.
Its quite simply the perfect place in nature to retreat to. Our group had the time of their lives. Thank you to everyone at beautiful Dunagiri retreat for making our Yoga Retreat with you so smooth and calm to organise and so incredibly special.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ClarePaulLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

Dunagiri temple and mountain is very beautiful. It becomes more beautiful when we alone visit and walk sometimes. Temple is on the top, need to go by many stairs. There is just Temple of Divine mother and excellent mountain views.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Aavara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017

Dunagiri Retreat is just that - a retreat for tired bodies and souls who seek peace and tranquility from their usual hectic stressful sides.

It's pretty at first glance there is definitely tremendous energy that envelopes you. This is the place where we were first introduced to the Mahavtar Babaji known to have passed on Kriya Yoga to his disciples. One needs tremendous enthusiasm and a never say die spirit for that hard climb up to the cave where he is supposed to have first appeared. Once there you are glad - the cave is peaceful, cool and one automatically gets into a meditation mode no matter how ordinary a mortal you feel you are. We enjoyed the walk up to the shrine behind the retreat, visiting the famous Dunagiri temple and would have loved a forest walk if we had more time

Piyush and Katy are genial hosts they can converse on anything that interests you. A lot of retreats are held here. There was Sufi whirling by a group from Singapore while we were there.

Accommodation was disappointing.. The rooms need a total face lift. Half the things don't work. With just one major domo Manoj running all over the place cleanliness is a big issue. Our room got a cursory sweeping and the bathroom was not cleaned during our entire stay of two nights. Disappointing if you look for basic human comforts. Food can be far far better and adequate enough to fill growling stomachs constantly hungry in the mountain air, hygiene definitely needs to be paid attention to in the kitchen. Flies feasting on the salad is not a pretty sight.

Remember the reason you go to Dunagiri Retreat for then no physical discomfort should matter

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Indra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017

The Dunagiri Retreat, run by Piyush Kumar, is a small place up and away in the Kumaon Himalayas. A wonderful place, to have got away from the city, and spent time during the monsoons. What a sight with the clouds and mist coming in and the views of the mountains and valley when it clears.

This place is not for everyone though. No TV, no newspaper, and mobile works occasionally or at certain places only. the food is vegetarian and strictly no booze.

Wonderful treks through the forest. You may be lucky to spot a leopard here.

Any weather is a good time to be here.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Goyal_Anupam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews