We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, needs improvement in preparation and guest answering”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Shirdi
Ranked #8 of 79 Hotels in Shirdi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great staff, needs improvement in preparation and guest answering”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

I travelled with my parents to do SAI baba darshan, location of hotel is good, very close to SAI trample, only 5 minutes by hotel shuttle, shuttle is excellent and available from 3 30 am and 11 30 pm all we need to do is give a call to shuttle driver to come and pick you up- very convinent.
At arrival check in was smooth, in the room could find lots of hairs on bed and bath rooms, flush was leaking a little bit.
We were 3 person in room but amenities were set for only 2, I called about 2 times to remind them to place extra ups, glass, tea coffee towels and extra bed.
Breakfast was good - very nice and fresh indian breakfast, room service meal was also nice.
Staff was very polite and nice and all over the hotel they were dry courteous and helpful - 100 out of 100 for staff and hospitality.
Hotel have good fitness and garden n pool facility. Good for family travel.
Other concer was - at check out - when I payed the bill receptionist gave me the change but 4 rupee less, and I was waiting for change, she looked at me with a confused face and asked me what happen, I informed her about the change to which she said - Sorry I do not have 4 RS change. Without any sorry or apology - I felt it was rude for a hospitable hotel. Even though the amount was very less, but I expected a proper change should be returned at checkout and. I surprises .

Over all I would rate it 7 out of 10
Only concern - cleanliness, preparation and checkout,
Good points - staff, shuttle, leisure faculties.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fandumany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    222
    71
    27
    13
See reviews for
344
60
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012 via mobile

We had read the reviews of this hotel in tripadvisor and knew everything was not well with this place. But in comparison to the other hotels this looked like a good option so we went ahead and did internet booking. We reached by lunch time. We took our bags out and waited for the bell boy to come. The guard at the entrance just kept seeing us but even he did not bother to call anyone, so we had to carry our luggage inside ourselves.

The room was good and comfortable. There was a problem with the mattress though. I got a back ache after a nights sleep.

The worst part of the stay was our lunch at Checkers where they serve Indian food. We found a dead fly in the food buried deep down. We had finished our food when we saw it. The manager apologized and mumbled something about the weather and too many flies around the place some of which may have found their way into the kitchen. He didnt charge us for the food which was some relief. We also had food at Little Italy. All I can say is that the food quality is not anywhere near the star status they claim they have.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank andykarmakar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012 via mobile

It was one of my very good experience it was un expected but very very good.
We went for darshan so we decided to stay for 1 night. But the service of the staff was excellent, very very helpful.
Rooms are good, and dinner at little Italy and break fast at checkers we good too. I was traveling with my 10 Month old daughter, from baby cot to hot water to every thing the housekeeping staff and Chechers staff helped us a lot.
I will definitely want to mention Pandey at Checkers Was very helpful.
The lawn and the pool behind the hotel is good. You can go for a small walk.
We loved it, and next time I m there I m staying again.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Traveling-elephants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunnSandHotelGroup, Manager at Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Shirdi, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We hope to see you again at Sun-n-Sand, Shirdi. It is with the help of valuable feedback such as yours that we can continue our efforts towards attaining guest satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We traveled with our two kids Shirdi and chose this hotel based on a friend's recommendation. It was a good choice.

We arrived Thursday evening and thought we'd try going for darshan that day itself. After spending some time playing on the swings and exploring the pool and other facilities we thought we should head to the mandir. Since the kids were tired after the road trip we wanted them to eat something before we went. We stopped at the Italian restaurant and asked if they could bake us a pizza and keep it ready while we went up to the room to freshen up and change our clothes. The manager suggested he do a pasta since the pizza would take 20 minutes. When we came back there was a wonderful non-spicy (since it was for the kids) pasta ready which they polished off with gusto. We then got the hotel car to drop us to the temple and had a very good darshan.

The hotel had upgraded us at the time of check-in (maybe because it was not very crowded) so we enjoyed the morning in the balcony. The breakfast buffet was OK, not as much variety as at a 5 star in a big city, but we found enough things that the kids enjoyed. My wife and I both enjoyed the fresh dosas and banana shake. The service at this restaurant (Checkers) was not as good as at the Italian place - for example they started wrapping up while we were eating without first checking if we wanted to pick up something else. However when we asked for another dosa and some buns they happily brought them to our table. So not bad, just not 5 star.

However, I'd totally go back based on our overall experience at this property. The majority of the staff was great, very helpful and obliging.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are good - the other side you don't really see much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alok M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunnSandHotelGroup, Manager at Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Shirdi, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We hope to see you again at Sun-n-Sand, Shirdi. It is with the help of valuable feedback such as yours that we can continue our efforts towards attaining guest satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We have been visiting Shirdi every year since last 6 years and our stay at Sun-N-sand has been synonymous to it .
Alas! This has not been our experience lately. Inspite of having booked the room in advance and payment done in full for a superior room on reaching we were offered an ordinary room as all the rooms were occupied. They call themselves a five-star property but are not able to keep track of their bookings. Imagine staying in an ordinary room for Rs. 9000/- per night where the wash-basin was clogged and no bath-tub And on that we were not even informed of the change, it was we who questioned them about it. Forget that, as courtesy we were not even offered a refund. Anyways we wowed never to return and decided to visit the new Hotel St. Laurn which has come up just at a short distance. And guess what we had the Manager of Sun-N-sand to give us company in inspecting the new hotel. i would definitely advice all to avoid Sun-n-Sand.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayeshVasani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shirdi hotels
0.1 km away
St Laurn Meditation & Spa
0.1 km away
Marigold Regency
Marigold Regency
#1 of 79 in Shirdi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
2.0 km away
Keys Prima Hotel Temple Tree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Shraddha Inn
Shraddha Inn
#12 of 79 in Shirdi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Sai Jashan
Hotel Sai Jashan
#2 of 79 in Shirdi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.1 km away
Jivanta Hotel
Jivanta Hotel
#5 of 79 in Shirdi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Shirdi? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Shirdi

Property: Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Shirdi
Address: Village Nighoj | Taluka Kopergaon, Shirdi 423109, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Ahmednagar District > Shirdi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Shirdi
#7 Family Hotel in Shirdi
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,426 - ₹ 5,559
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Shirdi 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Shirdi, where history and spirituality blend seamlessly to offer an unforgettable experience. Sun-n-Sand, Shirdi’s premiere five star hotel is situated at just 5 minutes walk from the Saibaba Temple and is conveniently located, one km away from the railway station. The hotel, built on a five acre plot with beautiful landscaped gardens boasts of new richly renovated 100 guestrooms and 20 serviced apartments. Maintaining the sanctity of the pious city, this five star hotel offers strictly vegetarian fare and has a no alcohol policy. Sun-n-Sand Shirdi houses the city’s only Italian fine dining restaurant, "Little Italy" along with "Checkers," the coffee shop which serves vegetarian buffet meals and features a full service multi-cuisine a la carte menu. It is equipped with a conference room, indoor and outdoor banquet areas and the renowned "Kaona Spa." This five star hotel offers unmatched recreational facilities including an outdoor swimming pool, joggers track, children’ play area, fully equipped games room with pool table, table tennis and various coin operated games. Internet facility is available at extra charges. Sun-n-Sand Shirdi offers complimentary buffet breakfast and free shuttle service to The Saibaba Temple to all its residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ClearTrip, Yatra, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Shirdi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun-n-Sand Hotel Shirdi
Sun n Sand Shirdi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing