We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Place!!!”
Review of Hotel Shikhar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mount Abu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Shikhar
Ranked #37 of 39 Hotels in Mount Abu
Reviewed 3 September 2013

horrible place... their is a major elctricity and wiring issue in the hotel. My IPhone charger and DSLR charger got spoiled because of the bad electric issue. 2 other guests laptops got fried due the same wiring issue.
FOod is not good and staff serving is disinterested
On the second last day of my stay there was no electricity and night some wires got burnt.. we changed 3 rooms and as soon as we would switch the light on there would be smoke.. at 1.30 in the night we were struggling to get this sorted. They dont have a bell for room service everytime you want something you have to go look for someone or walk to the main reception which was farther and some other building from the main reception

There is no infrastructure .. even the view is not great from the hotel

Next day when I complained to the manager he just laughed and was least bothered at my material loss and also discomfort from the previous night

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy252511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 48 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2012

Whenever I travel in Maharashtra, I always prefer MTDC hotels as they have the best location, travel network and price. When my friends and I decided to travel to Rajasthan, the first thought that came to our mind was RTDC. The hotel is located on a small hill, 5 mins from the main road and walking distance from the main market. The standard rooms are cheap and well kept. The staff is helpful and can arrange cheap means of transport to other places in the state. There are other better hotels in the area but I prefer the simplicity of this hotel. The online booking process is easy but their cancellation policy is very stupid. Overall I had a very good experience in this hotel and would recommend it to others as well.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are away from the restaurant and the reception but they are less crowded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruddin_hd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

I along with some of my fellow friends were eager to have an weekend trip near Delhi and we choose Mt. Abu. and hotel was Hotel Shikhar, literally saying service is Pathetic. Better to have food outside, because which they are providing is half cooked and we can even understand what the hell the dish is like smething boiled in water thats all.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wilsontom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

I did not expect the world out of Hotel Shikhar, but what i got was a disaster.First the location-it is quite a walk to the main market. The hotel is situated on a hill so expect to walk quite a bit. There were no shops close by even for bare essentilas( so carry your daily utilities with you).The rooms were dirty as if they had not been cleaned in ages and the trash from our room used to be dumped right outside.The restaurant was in shambles(we ordered sweet corn soup and what we got was milk with some pieces of corn). No major attraction around the hotel so you are practically left with nothing to do. Mount Abu itself is a place not worth going to.There is trash lying everywhere, locals do not know how to behave.We disliked this place so much that originally we had plans to stay there for 4 nights 5 days, but we trimmed it to just 2 nights and came back. This place is suffocating and dull. Everything is so expensive that you feel as if you are in Tokyo. People are bad and it seems that they are only interested in drinking and looting the tourists all day long. Please avoid this hotel and avoid Mount Abu. There are many better hill stations in North India than this awful,dirty and degrading place.

P.S.: Have to thank Kishore from the staff who was the only saving grace. Please ask for him. He is the only person who can make your stay(if you really have to stay in this hotel) a bit better.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SushantP83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

I had booked for a non-AC room but had to shift to marginally better AC rooms due to the poor condition of the non-AC rooms.
Room service is very poor as you'll have to ring the service bell at least five times to get the man attend to you.
I'd requested for the laundry guy to visit me, but that person did not turn up during my entire stay at the hotel.
Location wise I'd rate this as 0/10, as it is on the hill top, and it would cost about Rs. 80 to reach the market place (one way only). There are numerous hotels in the market place area which you should inquire/search before actually making the hard decision of booking at this hotel.
Do not book your sight seeing day tours from this hotel as you'll find much cheaper rates (at least by Rs. 200-300) if you walk down to the market place and visit one of the numerous travel agencies in the market place. They'll pick you up from the hotel and drop at the same place.
The reception guy is least bothered, I'd to carry my luggage downstairs, to the car while departing, as the service guy did not turn up.

Room Tip: Don't opt for this hotel unless you have a gun pointed at your head.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sagnik_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mount Abu hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Shiv Villa
Hotel Shiv Villa
#10 of 39 in Mount Abu
125 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Hillock
Hotel Hillock
#1 of 39 in Mount Abu
717 reviews
0.0 km away
The Jaipur House
The Jaipur House
#18 of 39 in Mount Abu
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel Silver Oak
Hotel Silver Oak
#3 of 39 in Mount Abu
840 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Vinayak
Hotel Vinayak
#12 of 39 in Mount Abu
174 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Samrat International
Hotel Samrat International
#23 of 39 in Mount Abu
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shikhar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shikhar

Address: | Near Petrol Pump, Mount Abu, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Sirohi District > Mount Abu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 39 Hotels in Mount Abu
Price Range: ₹ 1,561 - ₹ 17,561 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 75
Also Known As:
Hotel Shikhar Mount Abu, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing