We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fanastic holiday in every way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sami Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sami Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sami
Certificate of Excellence
Lauder, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fanastic holiday in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

This was our first visit to Kefalonia, and we were not disappointed. We booked the Sami Beach Hotel following a lot of research and the great reviews it got on all sites, we did think can this be true? We would have to agree that it's all true and more, it's hard to describe how special the staff and owners are, everyone went out of their way to make you feel at home and special. We thought the library and loan of various equipment was a great idea.
We hired a car for the last 3 days, and visited some more of this beautiful island.
Sami is a lovely 15 minute walk along the beach front, good selection of restaurants and bars, we liked the Adonis Restaurant the best.
We have been to a lot of different countries, never returning to the same place twice, however we have booked to return to Sami Beach next May, don't need to say more.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of hotel, lovely view of the mountains and tennis court
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank May M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    29
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
73
121
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

Recently stayed at the Sami beach hotel. Good location just outside Sami, stunning views. Lots of guests seem to go back year after year. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. Breakfast was satisfactory. The rooms, especially the bathrooms, could do with some upgrading but were basic and comfortable. The pool was clean and nice. Overall good value for money. This is not a five star resort -the sunbeds are not adjustable. There is free wifi and a good selection of books to borrow. It is a good location for exploring parts of the island including the caves and beaches.

Room Tip: Ask for a front sea view room- although you'll be lucky!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CB_Aberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

we were one of the very few at the hotel that were first timers! most had been coming for many many years and it is not hard to see why. We were given the best welcome ever when we arrived greeted with a hug and kiss and a welcome drink by Maryann, Yannis and Pericles (owners) This was a genuine welcome which continued throughout the whole of our stay - nothing was too much trouble - our names were remembered and used thorough out our stay. The breakfast staff were really friendly (not sure why previous review said they were grumpy!) the breakfast buffet had plently of choice and didn't see a drunk in sight! (maybe it was a different hotel!) No the hotel doesn't do dinners however there are at least 3 tavernas within a 5 minute walk as well as the many restaurants in Sami (easy 15-20 min walk away) Pricing for lunch options was very reasonable and I find it impossible to believe same reviewer spent £2500 on crisps and toasties to starve off hunger !!! (exaggeration on their part I would say!). All in all if you are looking for a small hotel to relax and switch off in as well as receiving excellent service- this is the place for you. We will definitely be going back to enjoy the returners lunch we heard so much about! Thank you Maryann, Yannis and Pericles for making our holiday so great

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shirleyr320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

We have been returning to holiday at the Sami Beach Hotel since 2004. Maryann, Yannis and Pericles their family and all the staff provide the most relaxing, thoughtful and caring holiday. The hotel is based in a beautiful location which allows you to swim in the pool and look out to the sea through pine trees and watch the Island hopping boats arrive at Sami. We have encouraged friends and family to holiday with us and they all agree that this holiday allows you to destress and offers a tranquility that is second to none. The sea view rooms are amazing and the breakfast offers a wide range of food suitable for all nationalities. If you want to stay by the pool all day you can order lunch which is freshly made comprising omelette, greek salad and toasties complimented by ice cold beer. All competitively priced. I would truly recommend this hotel and can only think that the previous reviewer (gizmo) must have stayed somewhere else because we have never had a bad experience in all our visits. Oh and I forgot to mention those extras the amazing welcome, caring upbeat staff, wine, soft drinks and fresh fruit in our room on arrival, beautiful celebration lunch provided to returning guests (of which there are many) and most of all the sheer tranquility experienced during our visit. The only recommendation I have is to hire a car - there are plenty of tavernas and shops within walking distance but the car allows you to see the Island and travel to Efimea for meals at night. Arrived home a week ago and we have already booked for next year - can't wait.

Room Tip: Sea rooms at the front offer brilliant views of the pool, sea and islands.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adbounce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

This was our second time at The Sami beach and it was more beautiful than we remembered. Mariane, Yanis and Pericles (owners) all there to welcome us when we arrived with hugs and welcome drink while our cases were taken to our room. We chose a garden room at the back of the hotel as we like being able to sit in the garden in the evening. The views from the rooms over looking the sea are stunning though. Breakfast is a delight, hams, cheese fresh tomatoes, boiled eggs scrambled eggs, sausages, lovely breads, fresh fruits, Greek yogurt and honey, jams,,cake, croissants, toast. I'm sure I've forgotten some things. Fresh coffee, tea and juices. The staff and great and very funny. Yanis comes in and gives everyone the weather forcast back home!!! And the Sami breafast saying is "Smile please its a beautiful day" The staff know people by name and remembered us from our last visit 2 yrs ago!! On the Sunday of our stay we were asked to a lunch party for returning guests. Amazing food and wine and brilliant fun. There are people who have been going to The Sami Beach hotel for 20 yrs. To sum up:-
It's a quiet friendly small hotel situated in the village of Karavomolos about 15 min walk along the beach from Sami town. (5min drive) it's situated on the beach which is very quiet. There is a bar by the pool serving drinks and snacks. It's is quiet location and perfect for couples and families. If you want wild night life and noise this isn't for you. There are lots of bars and restaraunts in Sami and a few within a few mins of the hotel. The rooms all have a fridge which is handy with fruit and complimentary wine.
I am shocked at the one poor review about this hotel and I actually think the people must be reviewing the wrong hotel?? There are a few Sami hotels in Greece!! We really love it and will return.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaOv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sami
1.5 km away
Athina Hotel
Athina Hotel
#2 of 5 in Sami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
1.4 km away
Ionian Emerald Resort
7.1 km away
Odyssey Hotel Kefalonia
Odyssey Hotel Kefalonia
#1 of 6 in Agia Efimia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 km away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
15.0 km away
Garbis Villas & Apartments
7.3 km away
Kefalonia Bay Palace
Kefalonia Bay Palace
#4 of 6 in Agia Efimia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sami Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sami Beach Hotel

Property: Sami Beach Hotel
Address: Argostoliou - Samis, Sami 280 80, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Sami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sami
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,862 - ₹ 8,418
Hotel Class:3 star — Sami Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jacuzzi, Library(wide selection of books), Ping pong, Tennis court, Children's playground, Safe and sufficient parking, TV Lounge(satellite television), Air-condition, Elevator, Sun-beds ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Sami Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sami Beach Hotel Ionian Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing