We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“our first time staying here, but it will not be...”
other travellers have booked this property
Armchairs in the living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Armchairs in the living room
The living area with the double sofa bed The console near the entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Armchairs in the living room
The living area with the double sofa bed
The console near the entrance
View from the living room
A detail of the living area
A detail of the fireplace
The dining area
The small secretary
The kitchen in the first floor
The helpful butler tray
The double bedroom
The dressing room in the double bedroom
The twin bedroom
The day bed in the single bedroom
The breakfast nook
The second dining area
The kitchen in the ground floor
The first bathroom
The second bathroom
The third bathroom
View from Ivi to the swimming pool and the sea
Another view
The private garden with the BBQ
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Sami, Cephalonia, Ionian Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Jamie S
Lowdham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“our first time staying here, but it will not be our last as we loved it.”
Reviewed 3 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

we have been to Cephalonia 8 times over the years and this is definetly the best placed we have stayed so far.
It was suprisingly spacious for Greece which the pictures dont really show.
It was very well furnished
The apartment was spotlessly clean when we arrived and we were greeted by Sarah and Nick to show us around and explain how everything works.
The pool looked very clean, but i never actually used it as I much prefer swimming in the sea.
I saw some reviews about the sea opposite the apartment being dirty. I cannot comment on them, but i can confirm that is was crystal clear and quite warm whilst we were there,
If swimming in the sea, i would recommend buying a cheap pair of sea shoes from any of the gift shops. They only cost a couple of euro and are very handy when going to some of the other beaches.
Eating out is always one of the great pleasures of staying on the island. There is a great taverna about 100 metres from the aparment where you can sit right on the beach to have a meal, or just a Mythos or 2. We ate there a couple of times and had no complaints.
A short walk along the footpath by the beach takes you into Sami where there are many restaurants.
My recommendations are, as you get to the harbour, the first restaurant is very good for fish.
At the other end of the harbour, the 2nd to last resturant does a very good giant pitta giros with Souvlaki pork. Ths is particuarly good value when washed down with a beer or 2 at lunchtime although dont expect to be doing anything too strenuous afterwards, instead make use of the siesta.

My top tips from this holiday are, dont bother with air conditioning unless it is in August, just open the windows (but keep the mossie nets closed) and let the sea breeze into the apartment.
Air con makes you too cold so when you do step outside, it feels even hotter.
Visit Mount Enos, but dont drive to the top, instead park just below the top and take the hiking trail up through the trees from the recreation area as this gives much better views.
Get a hire car! There are so many gems on the island that you will miss without one

We will be going to Cephalonia again, and will certainly be booking Ivi if it is available.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, layout, size and cleanliness of the apartment
Liked least: having to leave it to return home at the end
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stealer
eastbourne
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“One of the best self catering holidays we have had”
Reviewed 19 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

There were so many reasons to love this apartment which was clean, spacious and well presented. The furnishing were all you would expect of this class of apartment. The 2 kitchens had every type of utensil we needed apart from a knife sharpener. We would have appreciated a cool box though.
We used the kitchen and barbecue for those nights we ate in but had to buy the ingredients in Sami which had two reasonably sized supermarkets. There is a minimarket in the village which is good for drinks, ice cream but not much else.But they are open all hours and on every day. The village bakery is superb. Quality bread and pastries cooked daily apart from Sunday. We ate out at Il Familia in Sami and the two restaurants on the right hand side of the going towards Sami of which our favourite was Kokouros where we ate on three nights. All three provided an excellent range of Greek food, well cooked and presented and at reasonable prices.
Our double bed on the lower floor was comfortable and opened out to the ground floor patio from there you can reach the pool which was of a good size, exceptionally clean but unfortunately surprisingly cold. We had a shower room each and appreciated that luxury. We were surprised that we were expected to share the pool with the owners of all the other apartments in the block . But as many of them were empty it did not cause a problem but may do when they are all sold.
The house managers, Nick and Sarah, were always to hand and were very helpful with directions to the sites/beaches that we wanted to visit . Their set of instructional photos detailing the journey from the airport, where we picked up our hire car (CBR hire cars), to the villa were superb. Although no such photos were provided for the return journey the road signage back to Argostoli were easy to follow. But heading out from the capital towards Lassi and the airport presented difficulties as there were no signs telling you which road to take to the airport. We had a very interesting tour of the Argostoli trading estates before finding the road we needed. TIP- if you hired a car close to the airport and had to return the car refueled then choose a garage at least five km from the airport. All the garages close to the airport charge an extra ten euros per litre compared to those further afield.
The apartment block is close to the sea- yes you can hear the waves coming ashore. But there is little or no beach and the sea being cold.and full of seaweed deterred us from swimming here. There is a better beach near Sami which is walkable from the village.
The village is a ten minute walk round the bay from Sami which has plenty of restaurants and a few shops. But as a bus service in practically non-existent you most certainly need a car to reach any of themain beaches and villages in this part of Kefalonia.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of build and furnishing of the apartment
Liked least: The temperature of the swimming pool- cool to cold
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2013
Thank you for your extensive review, we are pleased to hear it's one of the best s/c places you've ever stayed! The description of the apartment clearly states that the pool is unheated and shared and in mid-Sept, when the temperature drops a bit at night, so does the water temperature in the pool. We were suprised to hear that the sea wasn't clear in front of the house but Sarah & Nick said there had been a storm.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
italiabel...
essex england
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“very nice accommodation in a lovely location”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Ivi house was ideal for us 5 mature girls - near enough to town but in a quiet location. It's very well equipped and maintained by Nick and Sarah to a high standard (the only extra thing we woud have liked was a DVD player so we could have sat and re-watched Captain Correlli and Shirley Valentine!) There's plenty of choice of places to eat on the walk into Sami and of course lots more when you get there. A car would be ideal to see other parts of the island but as we were there just a week, we were happy to sit on the local beach or by the pool and got taxis to a couple of the nearby beaches at Antisamos and Santa Friday, both of which were lovely and had sunbeds and good facilities. The boat trip (Sami star) to Ithaca was a wonderful day out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: attractively furnished and location by beach
Liked least: There's not really anything not to like. (personally I'd have preferred the accommodation layout with the bedrooms upstairs and the lkitchen/eating/sitting all downstairs but that's a very minor thing)
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sally g
west midlands
2 reviews
“Fantastic holiday”
Reviewed 29 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We had a wonderful relaxing time, faultless really, apartment had everything, including a fantastic view, pool was spotless. Nick and Sarah a great help. My only other comment would be that there are also residents in adjoining apartments who were quick to comment if the noise levels rise above the minimum. If you have young children you might want to bear in mind. Apart from this the place is bliss.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, unspoilt area, clean, spotless pool...i could go on...
Liked least: residents intolerance of noise particularly at siesta time...but we were on holiday!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2013
We are pleased to hear you found bliss at Ivi House! All guests and residents are informed about the siesta laws when they arrive, and the law applies to all areas within Greece (residential or not) and are only for 2 hours between 3-5pm. Unfortunately, as it is a law there is little we can do, and we or the guests could be fined for breaking them. The advert states that the apartment is in a complex so we also have to bear in mind the other guests wishes. We hope it doesn't put you off coming back, it was a pleasure having you stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhileasFr...
Lancashire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Luxury apartment in a perfect location”
Reviewed 21 August 2013 for a stay in June 2013

The property is very new, well maintained and has everything you could possibly need. Nick and Sarah, the house managers, live in an adjacent block and are great. They were there when we arrived and when we needed them. The directions that they provided for the drive from the airport were very good and made the journey much easier.

Ivi House is in a block with about 7 other apartments. There are 3 other blocks, one of which was not occupied when we were there. There is plenty of space within the property and they are well built and furnished. They all share the pool which is just in front of Ivi House. If we had one criticism, it would be that that the area around the pool is small and not really suitable for sitting or sunbathing for more than a few minutes. There are chairs in the garden and on the patio but no sun lounges.

Karavomilos is a great base from which to explore the whole island. You can drive just about anywhere within 1 hour. Sami is a 40 minute walk / 5 minute drive away and has a good selection of tavernas and restaurants. A taxi back cost 6 euros. Ag Effimia is less than 10 minutes drive in the other direction, Ag Effimia is smaller than Sami but has a lovely harbour and several places to eat. There are a couple of restaurants within 5 minutes of Ivi house but we did not try these. There is a supermarket and a bakery close to the apartment.

A car is not essential as there are several things within an easy walk (the area is flat with no real hills) but a car makes a big difference and the roads are quite good and the driving is easy. A few places we would recommend:
Asos - very picturesque. Nice place for a coffee. The hike up to the castle is hard work but worth the effort.
Sami ruins - the old castle and ruins that are on the hill behind the town are interesting (if you like that type of thing)
Ag Jerusalem beach on the west coast, south of Fiskado. There are several small beaches in this area and we found this one to be nicely sheltered from the wind. Very quiet but with a taverna.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Pool area
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2013
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you had a great vacation at Ivi House. We were surprised that you would have preferred to sit in the area around the pool when Ivi House has a large furnished terrace just 2 metres from the pool, and a furnished balcony on the first floor. All of our apartments have furnished balconies and/or gardens so we do not understand why anyone would want to sit around the pool when they are so close to it anyway. But for guests wishing to sit around the pool we can provide sunbeds/deck chairs for their use on request.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing