We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A marvelous home from home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of La Clef des Champs

South facing front of house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
South facing front of house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
South facing front of house
Cute nursery room
Top floor power shower in the ensuite bathroom
Plenty of space for children, even toddlers, to play around
Relax in the garden facing the sun all day long
The property seen from the riverside picnic area
Coutances Cathedral
View from a walking path around the gite
A couple of Blue tits nesting by the gite's window
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Montpinchon, Manche, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
alexgibbo...
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A marvelous home from home”
Reviewed 21 January 2018 for a stay in October 2017

We have stayed at Les Clefs Des Champs on numerous occasions, both for holidays and while working on my house in the next village.

I am extremely particular about where I stay, and this is one of the few places I've returned to. I love it every time!

The gite itself is immaculate, and very comfortable, with plenty of space for everyone and cosily warm (but not in the least bit stuffy, I hate that!) Outside there is a sunny garden and magnificent view to enjoy a glass of the local cidre with!

Valerie and Alban are thoroughly outstanding hosts, and it is always a pleasure to see them. The gite always feels very private, but they are just next door should you have any questions, or would like a chat!

I can't recommend Les Clefs Des Champs enough, and have absolutely no doubt I'll be back in the future! It might even be sad when my house is finished!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tnek2001
Mullingar, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellently equipped Gite!”
Reviewed 27 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Excellently equipped Gite, especially for families. Nice rural location and spacious garden. Plenty to do and see within a short drive. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter Y
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stunning Gite and well equipped”
Reviewed 8 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed for a week in Normandy and this gite has been magnificent, well equipped with everything we could need, comfortable and rural luxury. Situated convenient for Mont Saint Michel, Caen, D Day beaches and all the superb sites of Normandy. Bayeux only an hour away and this year Le Tour de France will be passing close by.
The welcome we received has made the whole experience a delight. We are looking forward to returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Situation
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin J
1 review
“Fantastic country retreat”
Reviewed 26 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The Gite was a surprise when we arrived at just how large it was and in a lovely quiet spot in the country. Alban and Valarie were very welcoming and told us everything thing we needed to know about the Gite and the area. The kids (11 and 9) felt right at home and had a great time playing outside and exploring the nearby river.

The location of the Gite is great for visiting both Mont Saint Michel and Normandy beaches as both are about 1 hour away in opposite directions. Overall, we cannot recommend this place higher, fantastic place to stay with a family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The open spaces for the kids to relax and run around
Liked least: Nothing - it was all great
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2016
Thank you very much Martin and can be a next time for another stay in Normandy !
Regards
Valérie and Alban
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knobby748
2 reviews
“Outstanding rural retreat in the heart of Normandy”
Reviewed 29 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

From our first dealings with Valerie and Alban we knew we were going to be treated so well.
Upon arrival my family and I were met with the sight of the beautiful gîte and gardens before being met by Valerie; who could not have been more charming or helpful.
The gîte laid out over three floors was tastefully furnished and cosy! We couldn't have asked for more and our girls loved their room and use of a large hamper of toys; a real home from home.
The location of the gîte is fantastic, giving easy access to The Landing Beaches and other iconic Normandy sights such as Mont Saint Michel - beautiful!
A useful catalogue of "what's what" in the area is supplied by Valerie and Alban, use the local van for a kebab one night and you won't go far wrong!
All in all a fantastic stay at a fantastic gîte run by a fantastic couple!
We will be going back and would recommend you think very hard before choosing another gîte over La Clef des Champs.....enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it! Sorry but true!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing