We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place that offers therapy for your mind and soul!”

Puzhayoram Heritage Resort
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kumarakom
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Puzhayoram Heritage Resort
Ranked #19 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Reviewed 12 August 2009

A perfect holiday – that’s what Puzhayoram offered us. We had high expectations after the good reviews from friends who previously stayed in this amazingly beautiful place – and we were not disappointed. In fact, we were delightfully surprised at how well this little gem of a resort tucked away in the quieter parts of Kottayam rose up to our expectations.

Firstly, it is not amongst some of the overly commercialised parts of the district where we’ve stayed previously. Secondly, the spell-bounding greenery is immaculately maintained evenly throughout the resort. We have travelled widely but don’t remember ever enjoying the raw beauty of nature as much as on this holiday.

The cottages are located spaciously with their own private sit-out areas. It’s not an exaggeration to say that each meal surpassed each other with a splendid array of local delicacies. In fact, I was impressed to see the chef visiting the diners to ensure that they were satisfied with the spread. We found all staff extremely courteous and obliging.

The highlights that will stick in my mind forever are the yoga sessions my friend did every morning in the most tranquil air in the ‘Koothambalam’, our walks in the splendid grounds of the resort listening to the wide variety of chirping and twittering from treetops, the sight of the awe-inspiring bamboo clumps by the riverside, our boat ride down the river which all had a physically and mentally therapeutic effect on us.

During our stay there, the new management was in the process of revamping the swimming pool and introducing many other attractive changes. We cannot wait to visit the resort again next year, hopefully for a longer holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank EmJayEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (7)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 7 of 7 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2009

I had been to Puzhayoram Resort with my family to celebrate my dad's birthday.
It was the perfect place for the function, the whole place is so serene and tranquil that the kids enjoyed the stay in the cottages while the elders busied themselves with lots fo activities like a very traditional kathakali performance by renowned artistes in the field in the resort's own "koothambalam", very relaxing boat ride in the meenachil river, plus delectable food with traditional menu in their well appointed restaurant.
The staff too were courteous, I learnt later that the new management has taken over the administration of the resort and they are striving to bring it to the level of one of the top resorts in the region.
I wish them all the very best. i will definitely be reccommending their names to my friends here in UAE.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NayarDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2008

Me and My girlfriend stayed at while traveling in south India stayed at this unheard Puzhayoram Heritage Resort recently. Right from the check-in the rustic feeling and the heritage cottages gave us a serene feeling of different word. We checked into a cottage- Nila, named after a famous rive in Kerala. The cottage was restored from a 200 year old heritage house in Kerala. The well furnished kerala style architecture has lots of story to tell. I wish my architect friend Joe was there with me to study about this fine architectural restoration which is slowly disappearing from Kerala.

We soon realized each cottage is named a after a river and has a story to tell. The resort manager Mr Surshkumar was an amazing guy with great knowledge about the local culture and explained us about the stories that linked to cottage and river.

From a typical urban background where I belong, it was like holidaying amidst a beautiful jungle with a river flowing right in front of you. The boat ride in one of the 100 year old canoe was a humbling experience.

One of the evening we spend our time at the Koothambalam (Performance space) next to the pool to relax with a herbal tea. The earthy design and the umpteen number of trees to create a harmonious whole.

The massage offered by the in-house Ayurvedic treatment was very good and they know what they were doing. The restaurant was well equipped with some good authentic kerala cuisines, which both of us freaked out.

The icing on the cake- Kumarakom backwaters is just few kilometers away. One can go there either by road or by river. I would recommend going by the boat via river because you can feel the reverberation of the river culture and the life as it was ordained…

Would recommend anyone who is looking for earthy holiday at Kerala to relax and be yourself with the nature and the culture.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Bill_Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2007

in 2006 we wanted to go on a holiday to Kumarakom, Kerala and we we browsing on the net. We landed on this website that claimed Puzhayoram Heritage Resort to be one of the best in Kumarakom, private pool, along the river side, heritage cottage, surrounded by trees, Massage room etc etc

Once we went there...we were shocked!!! All what was said in the website was there but in a totally different way...They has a private Pool..but full of flies and germs...they were on the river side..but like a gutter and blocked water way...they had heritage cottage sorrounded by trees but full of mosquitos and the interior of the rooms were BLACK which was very depressing. They has a massage room too but it was open only from 2 hours as they would hire a freelance massaure who knows nothing about massage as they pay peanuts to him and change lions fees from the guests!

Also..the place is full of men staff with staring eyes...my wife and kid was so afraid to even go out of the hotel room that she started crying to leave from that place! She was so horrified that initially we'd booked for 3 nights..but we left within 2 nights and booked ourselves in ABAD WHISPERING PALMS for 1 night (this was a great experience)

Also...these people disguise guests by saying that the property is situated in Kumarakom whereas it is located in KOTAYYAM which is about 20 kms from Kumarakom! so thats another lie!

They have this beautiful photos on their websie...this is all a big fraud.

PLEASE BE CaREFUL FROM THESE FRAUD RESORTS....

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Moiz_Dubai52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
0.0 km away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
345 reviews
0.0 km away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
0.0 km away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Paradise Resorts
Paradise Resorts
#13 of 26 in Kumarakom
170 reviews
0.0 km away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
771 reviews
0.0 km away
Green Fields Kumarakom
Green Fields Kumarakom
#15 of 26 in Kumarakom
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puzhayoram Heritage Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puzhayoram Heritage Resort

Address: P.K Road, Kumaranalloor, Kumarakom 686017, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Price Range: ₹ 3,300 - ₹ 11,250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Puzhayoram Heritage Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Puzhayoram Heritage Hotel Kumarakom
Puzhayoram Heritage Resort Kumarakom, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing