We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Genuine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Illikkalam Lakeside Cottages
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
chennai
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not Genuine”
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We booked this resort for stay and House Boat Cruise. We informed them several times that we will reach there early morning. But when we reached there around 05:30 AM no one is around to open the gate. We waited there knocking the gate for 15 to 20 minutes in rain.
We booked for 10 people. But only 8 people went there. They said they will not give any refund. For breakfast we had 2 idly and Dosa. Food is more expensive than 5 start hotel. Then they asked us to go for Boating which is 2 km from resort. We thought they will arrange transport since we booked there House Boat. But they gave only the boat name and asked us to arrange our own transport. When we reached the boat jetty and enquired about the boat name they said that boat is not for us. Again we called the resort and fight with them. Then they arranged another boat which doesn't looks like a house boat. They said for day cruise they will give only small boats though we paid for Normal house Boat. We enjoyed the Boat journey.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john_b58Chennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    69
    36
    13
    7
See reviews for
108
75
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

If it is a camp that you are looking for, one where the cottage AC is managed by camp owners from outside...no control in your hand, no mosquito coil or mat in the camp for doing away with mosquitoes that invade the room, a shower with water falling all over the pot and basin, breakfast served cold if you arrive a little later than the time you had asked for...as the 'dosas' are made and kept!! and not made fresh, a room to step in on step and the bed, once the lady who spoke English left for the day, one is left with people who do not understand a word of English or Hindi -- GOD HELP!!-- ...probably the only thing 5star were the rates for the dinner and breakfast. I booked this place by reading the reviews on trip advisor and was very dissapointed. The only terrible experience in my other wise lovely Kerala trip. Over priced a place for the total lack of amenities.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nandini K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

After reading the reviews of this hotel on Trip Advisor, I decided to book a Deluxe cottage in this hotel. Hotel is quite near to Government Boat Jetty and in same lane as of Zuri. After I reached over there, I found that our cottage was first in line of the property where as we wanted a cottage in middle of line in property. So we shifted to a smaller Standard cottage. The room was quite nice and apt spacious as much as we wanted. Bathroom was quite clean and tidy. The lake was just 15ft from our door step and it had a beautiful view of the lake.

The hotel manager (Susan) was quite humble and understanding and she readily adjusted the amount according to the room we took. Hotel staff is quite nice and humble. I read reviews with LIZARD problem in the rooms but to our surprise, we dint spot any lizard in our room the whole time. Food is also provided in the hotel itself but since its NOT a restaurant, you would have to order 1 hr prior for food to be prepared. We liked the Kerala style food we had. Although food was a little expensive.

Overall, I would define this place as quite, serene, beautiful view next to lake. It is within budget for anyone to stay.

Room Tip: Standard AC Cottage is big enough to accommodate if you are NOT carrying a lot of luggage. But it do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salil_Ricky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calicut
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2012

It was my friends who first told me about Illikkalam lake resort .And now i will say that,Illikkalam with its Eco-friendly ambience is one place you must include in your itinerary. I had a great holiday. I was gazing at the natural beauty, awestruck that a place could be so beautiful.

My work is too hectic,entangled with stress and I was looking for some time to soothe my mind and relax .Illikkalam has provided the break, an exotic holiday to enlive my soul giving me a mind-boggling and a fascinating experience.
I had a quality time & will come here again.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank deepikaCalicut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

we loved our stay at this resort. The setting is really beautiful, right on the lake. The cottage was perfectly clean and comfortable - just right for the two of us. The balcony in front gave us an unimpeded view of the sunset over the lake - lovely for a couple of sundowners (or was it five?). We gorged ourselves at breakfast - so many wonderful dishes, but particularly recommend the fish cooked in banana leaves. The staff were so enthusiastic for us to enjoy our stay - they proudly took us round the eco-friendly, organic veg and fruit growing areas - which all goes into the food served. The resort is well-located for trips and of course Kumarakom is a beautiful part of India. But we were actually happy just to relax there - got through lots of reading, relaxing in the hammock next to the cottage, and looking forward to the next wonderful meal. We went as a couple and loved just having the time to ourselves - but I can see it would also be really good to come with two or three families and spend together in a very relaxed environment.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ben k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
8.9 km away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
0.8 km away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
2.4 km away
Tharavadu Heritage Home
Tharavadu Heritage Home
#17 of 26 in Kumarakom
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Paradise Resorts
Paradise Resorts
#13 of 26 in Kumarakom
164 reviews
3.8 km away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
337 reviews
0.6 km away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Illikkalam Lakeside Cottages? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Illikkalam Lakeside Cottages

Property: Illikkalam Lakeside Cottages
Address: banks of the Vembanad Lake | Kumarakom,Kerala state, Kumarakom 686563, India (Formerly Illikkalam Lake Resort)
Region: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kumarakom
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Kumarakom
#8 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,356 - ₹ 2,971
Hotel Class:3 star — Illikkalam Lakeside Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, EaseMyTrip, TravelGuru, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Illikkalam Lakeside Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Illikkalam Lake Hotel Kumarakom
Illikkalam Lakeside Cottages Kumarakom, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing