We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (612)
Filter reviews
612 results
Traveller rating
261
229
63
32
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
261
229
63
32
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool lake view sunset cruise speed boat complimentary boat ride nice property cultural programme house boat restaurant staff other resorts breakfast spread the resort offers courteous staff an upgrade back waters relaxing stay table tennis
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 612 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

It’s an excellent place to stay in ... structure is just like Vivanta by Taj village Goa ... all cottages room are there and lake in front of ur room ... beautiful sunset nd sunrise visible ... accompanied with a pool from where lake is visible
My kids enjoyed a lot as table tennis nd swings are there
A lot of activity for kids
Even the restaurant is excellent with lot of variety in vegetarian food
A relaxing place

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank monag1141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skarunakaran, COO at Backwater Ripples, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Dear Guest,

It was an absolute delight to read your review about our property. It is great to hear that you all have enjoyed the stay with us.

Your comments will be a boost for our team further encouragement to provide personalized service and strive constantly to exceed expectations of all our Guests

Once again thank you for staying with us, we certainly look forward to being of service again when you next stay with us.

Warm Regard
Satheesh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

Visited Back Water Ripples with family and friends for a day. While the property location is quite decent, the only good experience was around the welcoming gesture. Somewhat courteous staff at the front desk...Reality comes to foray the moment services comes into picture. Despite having a good lagoon view, were initially denied enjoying the evening in open area / lagoon facing garden. Reason given - Open area is fly infested and it could cause food poisoning (:-|). While the adjoining hotels doesn’t seem to have any such problem. It took several requests to serve just a couple of snacks in the open area. The staff was adamant to serve us only in the enclosed restaurant (Not worth if visiting such a location). The restaurant closes at 2330 HRS and serving in the room also requires cajoling and requests to the Service Staff (Vishnu & Nishant). Over priced and upon ordering Chhapaatis / Roti for lunch straight away denied with a reason - “We haven’t prepared the dough / chhapaatis since there aren’t too many guests :D

While there are many vehicles parked near the reception area; Taxi’s aren’t allowed to park the vehicle in that part despite ample of space.

All in all a bitter Experience!! Would not recommend the property if desiring guest friendly staff and services.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Sidd2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skarunakaran, COO at Backwater Ripples, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, your comments are very much valued.

It is quite unfortunate to hear from you that you did not have a good experience at the Backwater Ripples especially with our services. I will definitely take this up with my team and make sure such things do not occur again in the future.

Regarding lawn service, we don't have any restrictions other than having hard liquor there,which is illegal. Insects can be a big nuisance in the night , but I agree that would not be a reason to refuse service. We have a round the clock menu with a full fledged room service and no one is authorized to refuse a genuine request from a guest. I assure you that we will take up all the issues of our Guest’s experience very seriously and we will be looking into how best to address these concerns.

Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused and would request you to write to me directly whenever you plan your next trip, i am very confident that we will turn your experience around this time.

Look forward to welcome you back with us

Warm Regards
Satheesh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

Beautiful property, location is wonderful, big lawn with proper seating arrangements. Any can spend full day in lawn area only. Swimming Pool is just wow. It's a value for money property except food. Test of food is mouthwatering.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank sisir g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skarunakaran, COO at Backwater Ripples, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and your kind words about our services & the Resort. We certainly look forward to being of service again when you next stay with us.

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

We stayed here for a night and we liked the place. The rooms were clean but not very spacious. But the view of the backwaters from our room made up for any lacunae. The breakfast served is of traditional Kerala style with some continental options. There is a machan from where you can get a great view of the backwaters.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms offering backwater view
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ZipK4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skarunakaran, COO at Backwater Ripples, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and your kind words about the Resort. We certainly look forward to being of service again when you next stay with us.
Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

Awesome locale.... pleasant and courteous staff.... scrumptious food.... the heavenly breeze.. the backwater cruise.. camaraderie courtesy the 'chayakkada'... the infinity pool.. the well designed and maintained cottages...add all these together and you get the perfect holiday destination- Backwater Ripples!!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Mini D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skarunakaran, COO at Backwater Ripples, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Dear Ma'am,

It was an absolute delight to read your review about our property. It is great to hear, that you have enjoyed the stay with us.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I have already conveyed your “ Trip Advisor comments” to our team, in order to provide personalized service and strive constantly to exceed expectations of all our Guests

We look forward to having you stay with us again on your next visit to Kumarakom

Warm Regards
Satheesh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews