We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull time at Backwater Ripples”
Review of Backwater Ripples

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Backwater Ripples
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai, India
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderfull time at Backwater Ripples”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

My wife and myself went on a holiday to backwater ripples . It was a wonderful time there. The rooms are very clean and the ambiance is excellent. Food is very nice. the house boat was very fantastic . The open air toilets are very nice.

Room Tip: Lake side rooms are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SubramaniamM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    188
    58
    31
    24
See reviews for
211
152
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dehradun, India
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I with my wife Uma visited this resort second time, because it is so good, from 13 Jan to 15 Jan 2012. This time we are given a duplex at no extra cost. If you want to enjoy max put your watch and mobile in your suitcase. it is so relaxing. You can move around, swim in the pool or just do nothing near the water. The staff is very cooperative and helping. The food is good for both veg and non veg travellers. The traditional welcome at hotel just touches every one heart. I would like to come this place again and again.

Room Tip: Rooms on south side are quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uma29july
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

My husband and I visited South India for the first time. We were told to book in at the Backwater Ripples as it was a 4* hotel. When we arrived we were told that check in time was only at 13:00 so we waited for 30 minutes for them to make up our room. The room we were given was a garden view room. It was crampped, smelt of urine, had stained old and worn linen, the furniture was old and outdated. The bathroom was tiny and the floors were wet. We asked for an upgrade to an lake view executive room for which we agreed to pay in 8000 rupees in addition to the 5600 per night. The upgraded room was more spacious and had a lovely view but that's it. The furniture was just as old as the previous room, the linen was old and stained. There was no duvet only an old blanket and each person was given 1 pillow each. The bathroom was more spacious but was infested with spiders and the geyser provided enough hot water for the first 2 minutes of your shower afterwhich it was stone cold water. Terrible hotel for the amount of money you pay. Avoid at all costs. Will stay at Zuri or Taj hotel if we ever visit again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SATraveler03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

A resort with beautiful grounds, garden and potential. However, room in which we stayed, although spacious and clean has old furniture that detracts from the comfort of the room. Cupboards do not close properly and bathroom needs refurbishing. Dining room very comfortable with a rich variety of fruit and indigenous Indian dishes. Seems less luxurious than similar lakeside resorts in Kumarakom or Allepey areas. Staff very friendly and helpful. No individual tipping necessary, there is a tip-box at the reception where you can show your appreciation. The resort has potential but needs atterntion in order to realise its potential.

Room Tip: Room clean and spacious but beds and room furniture old and have seen better days. Bathroom needs re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yaacov K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

It's a nice lake facing hotel with large rooms and extraordinary staff.
The best part of the hotel is the lawn next to pool one can spend a lifetime sitting there and watching the lake/birds/sunset it's actually beautiful. The restaurant was nice the food was as average as you get across karela. (I am quite saddened by the food quality across Kerala).
We stayed at the duplex room which had two double beds and two toilets whic is a big plus if you are traveling with kids it was like having two rooms to yourself.
Checkin was smooth.
Staff is well trained.
It does not look like a 5/4star but there is a definate charm about this place.
Nothing much for kids except a good pool and one broken TT table.
Cons: Kerala food, wifi is paid even in this expensive property and worse it's available only in the lobby area.

Room Tip: Families choose duplex facing the lake its a great option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arj_ind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
0.1 km away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
703 reviews
1.4 km away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
4.2 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
337 reviews
0.7 km away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#7 of 26 in Kumarakom
714 reviews
0.3 km away
Paradise Resorts
Paradise Resorts
#13 of 26 in Kumarakom
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backwater Ripples? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backwater Ripples

Property: Backwater Ripples
Address: Kumarakom PO, Kumarakom 686563, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kumarakom
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
#7 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,837 - ₹ 8,191
Hotel Class:4 star — Backwater Ripples 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backwater Ripples offers 34 luxury independent cottages in a variety of styles to cater various requirements. The accommodation is spacious, private and superbly appointed with state of the art designer amenities and personalized services. The resort has wide range of facilities to make sure a comfort and memorable stay in our resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, EaseMyTrip, TravelGuru, Agoda, Yatra and ClearTrip so you can book your Backwater Ripples reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backwater Ripples Hotel Kumarakom
Backwater Ripples Hotel Kottayam
Backwater Ripples Kottayam
Backwater Ripples Kumarakom, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing