We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
29
52
30
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
52
30
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boat jetty small hotels heritage room bird sanctuary mosquito repellent hotel room enjoyed my stay air conditioning beautiful place vembanad lake government ksrtc balcony boats property kerala architecture
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2018

Absolutely beautiful property. Lush green and charming rooms but not very well kept and very basic rooms...The staff and the manager Mr. Murali were very helpful. He even walked us to the govt. jetty to help us hire a boat as we did not know the language!!! The menu was very limited and it took one hour for the order to be ready...The day of check out we called for breakfast and they said it would take one hour but when I requested the guy who had come to take the order that we had to leave as we had a flight to catch and i suggested he got us some toast and omelette...he did oblige and got in 10 minutes..:)

It was overall a decent one night hault...it would have been nicer if he bathroom would have been better and had there been some toiletries especially toilet paper other than one medimix soap!!! Loads of mosquitoes around so be careful and do carry some mosquito repellent!!!

The room was very charming with a nice sit out attached to it which gave the feeling of openness!
Good if you want a very basic short stay. Totally a no frills hotel!!! Value for what you pay....

We traveled long ago but unfortunately i posted the review in the wrong property.

correcting it now

Stayed: August 2017
Thank prernarula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

I have visited this just May 18 . There was some construction work going for a swimming pool so it was too noisy but the place is well maintained. You also get food here inside. We had idli (3 nos) 70 rupees and a coffee. AC and TV available, it most look like a home stay. you wont get mobile internet network inside room.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muthukrish2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018

A very decent stay at Tharavad Home, Kumarakom. This place is very well maintanied and good food. Only minus point is that this is not near Lake. But ambiance and service is just good. Rooms are really spacious and clean.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SmitaPatil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018 via mobile

My partner chose this Homestay as he liked the architecture of the building, tbh we didn’t check the reviews prior before booking. We did check when we got there though. Here is my take on the visit:

Positives: The buildings are from a historic past that are amazing it’s a family business which has been on this site since 1870
Purely For couples only - if you enjoy one another’s company - this is remote and Far. This is not for families
We stayed the one night in Kumarkom
Our room - the deluxe bedroom comes with air conditioning and fan
Bed is good - slept well, it’s clean you have a lovely balcony looking over the courtyard. Best rooms are these!!!
Shower and toilet is okay
There is a Hindu temple opposite which calls to pray from 6-8pm with their chanting music - we went across to see the ceremony. The people were most accommodating to us..( see photos)
Also go across the road to boat jetty and walk along the lane to a most beautiful site to see the sunset - stunning holiday

Negatives: WIFI is not all around, its centred only in their office
They do not make their food on site - it’s a takeaway but it’s very good and tasty..honestly! Don’t eat European food, (clue you are in India the land of spice) try the Indian cuisine Putta with plantain/banana is lovely.

Having experienced this - it’s not a Homestay, but the surroundings - it’s building and history are amazing. I would go back for only one night.

Tip: increase WiFi coverage to rooms and they will increase their occupancy!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kalamazoo200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

The Heritage-House is interesting but has only a basic standard for rooms and food. For just one night its okay. The Hindu-Temple nearby is very interesting but the morning prayer with loud music starts before 6 o’clock.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Globalsuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews