We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,408)
Filter reviews
1,408 results
Traveller rating
952
310
81
29
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
952
310
81
29
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jayanta das premium temptation bird sanctuary vembanad lake oil lamps rabbit boat ride every evening fish feeding luxury villa heritage property kids activities open restaurant main building the general manager chai gm mr
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,408 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We decided to go on an impromptu trip to Kochi for an early birthday celebration. We had dint have much of an agenda other than absolutely relaxing and we got exactly that. The Taj resort was an absolute delight to spend quality time with a loved one. The staff was courteous, friendly and extremely helpful. We were guided through all activities at the hotel and outside.
Had a true Kerala experience with the delicious food under Mr Datta's expert guidance.
All in all an amazing weekend with great people and experience. A big thank you to the staff at Taj Hotel for making it special for us :)

Room Tip: If you can afford then go private pool villa, else luxury cottage would do.
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank achal m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taj-Kumarakom-Resort, General Manager at Taj Kumarakom Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest,

There is always an element of fun in impromptu planning a quick getaway and the same turning out to me memorable. Thank you so much for letting us have an opportunity to look after you on one such occasion and its heartwarming to know that you enjoyed yourselves so much.

I deeply appreciate your kind mention of Mr Dutta and his F&B Service team who work just as hard towards making a difference.

Look forward to welcoming you back again,

Kind regards,

Ashirbad Praharaj
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018

Sprawling property located by Vembanad Lake. Premium cottages by the lagoon and Private Villas closer to the swimming pool and lake. The beautiful heritage building houses the restaurant Currymeen, which serves great local food (the chef's set menu is highly recommended). They can probably improve on the decor of the rooms, but the service from the entire staff is top notch, as expected (that extra star is for them!).

There is enough to do here to keep you busy for a couple of days (at least): Watch a live Indian Classical music performance in the evening, enjoy the complimentary evening tea and boat ride, go on a guided tour to the adjoining bird sanctuary, get an Ayurvedic massage, cycle around the property or just laze around with a book in a hammock by the lake. Bliss.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank siddy_s111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taj-Kumarakom-Resort, General Manager at Taj Kumarakom Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Mr. Siddhartha,

Greetings and thank you so much for a wonderful review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.

We are glad that you have thoroughly enjoyed your blissful vacation with us be it the activities, cultural performances or simply the idyllic resort by itself. We are particularly grateful for a kind mention of our associates who truly make all the difference and keep the flag of Taj hospitality flying high.

Yes, there is always scope for improvement and we appreciate your mention of some areas which we are working on particularly when it comes to refreshing the decor of some areas. We look forward to your return soon,

Kind regards,

Ashirbad Praharaj
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018

A memorable family vacation, nice resort, good climate and the Taj experience. We really enjoyed out short break amidst our hectic schedule . The house boat trip with exotic Kerala cuisine cooked on board, made it even more memorable.

Room Tip: The cottages close to the Lake
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Taj Hotels & Resorts
Thank 486rajeevk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taj-Kumarakom-Resort, General Manager at Taj Kumarakom Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Mr Rajeev,

Greetings and kindly pardon my tardiness in responding back to you.

We are delighted to know that you not just had a memorable break, but enjoyed all aspects thoroughly including the houseboat experience which in itself is quite a unique offering.

Earnestly looking forward to your return,

Kind regards,

Ashirbad Praharaj
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

Really had a great time at the Taj Kumarakom. I travelled with my infant son and my child for a relaxing 3night package. The property is in excellent condition considering the devasting Kerala floods were only a month before we went.
The staff had some survival stories from the floods.
The booking reservation was a breeze supported by Noyal Jacob and Priya from the Front Desk. They went out of their way to accomodate to our requests.
The Chef especially was excellent with stories, tidbits and special meals for the infant. I felt the food at the Sea Food Restaurant was better than the dining cafe and we gorged on the Seafood and the Kerala specialities.
The property has fantastic bikes, small activities like boating, rabbits & ducks feeding, fish feeding, fishing, and a special evening cruise on the backwaters.
A special thanks for the Jiva Spa for some much needed relaxation for the new parents.
Really appreciate the service aspect of Taj Kumarakom.

Room Tip: villas are better than the cottages.
Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
Thank DarshanP82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taj-Kumarakom-Resort, General Manager at Taj Kumarakom Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Mr Darshan,

Greetings from Kumarakom!

While I thank you for your recent stay followed by such a heart warming review, I must also apologize for some technical challenges leading to an unusual delay in my response to you.

I am so happy to learn that you had a great holiday experience greatly supported by the teams in Food and Beverage as well as my colleagues Noyal and Priya who are always there to be of help.

Yes, we have a lot of unsung heros on the team who braved the natural calamities and collectively worked towards turning around their beloved resort to welcome back guests to the same service but an even better looking estate. I can only take this opportunity to thank them once again for the true Taj DNA in them and their camaraderie which makes us what we are today.

Thank you so much for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back again,

Warm regards,

Ashirbad Praharaj
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

While in Kumarakom, we went for lunch and had a great time.

Scenic place with great ambiance, well trained staff who knew about the dishes and wines.

The food was excellent in quality and taste . The service just matched the brand "Taj"

Stayed: September 2018
Thank Tarak D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taj-Kumarakom-Resort, General Manager at Taj Kumarakom Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Mr. Tarak,

Greetings from Kumarakom and let me take this opportunity to also apologize for the delay in my response to you which has been owing to a technical glitch at our end.

I am delighted to know that not just the physical infrastructure but the warmth of our colleagues and their knowledge have contributed to your stay experience being great.

We thank you once again and look forward to your return,

Kind regards,

Ashirbad Praharaj
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews