We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,408)
Filter reviews
1,408 results
Traveller rating
952
310
81
29
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
952
310
81
29
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jayanta das premium temptation bird sanctuary vembanad lake oil lamps rabbit boat ride every evening fish feeding luxury villa heritage property kids activities open restaurant main building the general manager chai gm mr
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 1,408 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2018

Absolutely beautiful property with stunning vistas and scenery. The cottage was extremely comfortable with a lovely view overlooking a large Vembanad lake. The lake side walk within the property really soothing.
From the moment my wife, kids and I arrived on this property in the morning we were made to feel at home. The check-in was smooth and fast which done by Kamesh and before we knew it we were happily settled in our beautiful back water view room.
The property is surrounded by wonderful flora all over and you feel that you’ve landed in a rainforest. The property is very beautiful. We felt like we were in Bali. The flora and fauna attract lot of beautiful ducks. The pool is lovely. Rooms have a tasteful decor and the hospitality is very much the Taj way - warm and prompt. The property has been developed so well that you will fall in love with you with it the first time you look at it. It's lush Green and will give you an old ENGLSH COTTAGE look which is very beautiful.
The short walk from the hotel to Restaurant by the water side is a treat for the senses.

The breakfast in Vembanad Restaurant always had a good selection of beverages, fresh juices and Indian and western options. We ate most of our meals here and the food never failed to impress. Restaurant Manager Nabarun Dutta was always ready to accommodate our request and their staff comprising of Satish, Anand rao, Devi, Biman, Bishwajit ,Ritesh and Chef’s delivered courteous, friendly and non-intrusive service at all times. They even organized a lovely birthday cake table for my wife at the PDR for us on our last night there which warmed our hearts. You could see that they all genuinely loved their work and worked in perfect harmony.

The food her is great, the room service as well as the "CURRYMEEN RESTAURANT". EVERYTHING WAS JUST LIP SMACKING.
Housekeeping did their magic by being practically invisible but every time we returned to our room it had been meticulously cleaned and amenities replenished.

Our heartfelt thanks - to the staff for making our stay comfortable and happy and specially to Mr. Mr.Ashirbad (GM) who goes out of his way to delight all his hotel guests. Mr.Ashirbad for maintaining a fabulous team and many thanks for their warmth and care that made our trip unforgettable. We will warmly recommend this hotel and definitely be back for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SureshK2434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taj-Kumarakom-Resort, General Manager at Taj Kumarakom Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Dear Mr Suresh,

Thank you so much for a heart warming review on TripAdvisor and my apologies for the tardiness in responding back to you.

It is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed the resort in it's totality - be it the glory of a colonial past, a natural forest like setting or the team that works very hard to make holidays memorable.

Colleagues like Kamesh, Nabarun, Satish, Anand, Devi Biman, Biswajeet, Ritesh and Chef Winfred are among a team that stays true to the DNA of Taj Hospitality and are the real assets of the organization.

Much appreciated once again and we earnestly look forward to your return,

Kind regards,

Ashirbad Praharaj
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018

Simply wonderful and amazing. Most relaxing stay. Totally connected to nature with plenty of open spaces. Food was excellent and served with personal touch. The boat ride was equally good.The idea of providing bicycles was very good.

Room Tip: More ventilation may be better.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Taj Hotels & Resorts
Thank Roam474106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taj-Kumarakom-Resort, General Manager at Taj Kumarakom Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your recent stay and an encouraging review on TripAdsivor.

For activities loving guests as you and for those who are going to visit us in the future, we are delighted to announce that apart from the complimentary facilities like the paddle boats and bicycles or the evening boat cruise, we are launching a few professionally managed activities from the month of October as well.

These would include kayaking lessons, experience of bamboo rafting on the lagoon accompanied by dinner in the evenings, aquazorbing, zip-line, archery etc.

We look forward to your return,

Kind regards,

Ashirbad Praharaj
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

our visit was in the mansoons and the rain soaked beauty of place was just mesmerizing. every cottage is on a raised plat form looking out into nature. its just green all around.

off course, all strain and stress vanish the moment your car enters the taj kumarakom. you are greeted very warmly at the reception and welcomed in the traditional way by Priya ( REALLY ATITHI DEVO BHAVA ).

After a swift and professional check- in process, and Priya escorted with our room.
Priya explained the description of the property, restuarant , spa, games area etc and also briefed on the houseboat cruise.

STAY : Excellent
Location : Excellent
Service : Excellent

A very special thanks to PRIYA, her immense knowledge with the surrounding areas
and house boat cruise. she is just one hell of a friendly personality felt like i have known her for years in a matter of only few days .I will see you again next year & keep it up your great hospitality.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank latacho0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taj-Kumarakom-Resort, General Manager at Taj Kumarakom Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and sharing such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor.

We are grateful for your kind remembrance of one of our colleagues Priya who through her friendliness and helpfulness made your vacation extra memorable.

Earnestly looking forward to your return,

Kind regards,

Ashirbad Praharaj
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

its 5 star property everyday u look for different type of breakfast
please keep retain your name
please go and eat paranthas
you will understand yourself
u r top most in our country
north indian food should be cooked by good chef

let taj be professional

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Taj Hotels & Resorts
Thank vikassharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taj-Kumarakom-Resort, General Manager at Taj Kumarakom Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Dear Mr. Sharma,

Thank you for your recent stay and candid review on the North Indian part of the breakfast offerings - especially the parathas.

Considering the fact that the focus of the cuisine in a Kerala resort remains predominantly south indian, we shall definitely strive on seeing how we can do better with other cuisine as well. It's definitely an opportunity for improvement and we thank you for the same.

Kind regards,

Ashirbad Praharaj
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018

A nice quite location, where you can completely relax. Far away from the hustle and bustle of the city world. This is a gem of a property, I think a heritage structure tucked away near Kottayam and Cochin in Kerala. Also, we were luck that during the 3 days we were there in August, there was no rain It rained only early morning.

The property is located near Bird sanctuary and is an old Bungalow belonging to British missionary built in 1880's. Atal Bihari Bajpai when he was the PM had gone to the Taj Kumarkom to relax and recuperate,

Beautiful cottages, landscaped without disturbing the natural beauty. GM Ashirwad welcomed us right at the time of check in and briefed us about the place. Overall courtesy and warmth of the staff was excellent
The GM allowed us to take the resorts bicycles out and go for a ride. We took a 17km ride to a nearby temple Vaikom, which Mahatma Gandhi had visited, Of course coming back we loaded the cycles on an Auto and came back in an Auto rickshaw. But the paddy field along the way were beautiful. Vegetarian food was excellent specially the Kerala speciaities that we ordered.

Kerala Agriculture University is a neighbor and those interested in seed and saplings etc can uy from there.

Room Tip: Nice rooms excellent blend with nature. Private pool and bath area were real fun!
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Taj Hotels & Resorts
Thank Shantanu090569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taj-Kumarakom-Resort, General Manager at Taj Kumarakom Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Dear Prof. Shantanu,

Thank you so much for your kind remembrance and taking some time out of your schedules to pend down such a thoughtful and informative review on TripAdvisor!

I would sincerely request you to come back to us the next time you plan a vacation. Just to excite you on your specific areas of interest - we are developing a small demonstrative paddy field patch inside the resort, just got ourselves some new bicycles and Chef Winfred is at the finishing stages of his "missing home already" food concept that will get you a complete home styled menu in a tiffin box either to your room or the table.

Earnestly awaiting your return,

Sincere regards,

Ashirbad Praharaj
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews