We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Taj Kumarakom Resort and Spa
Nearby Hotels
Backwater Retreat Theme House(Kumarakom)(Great Value!)
US$ 52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 329
US$ 305
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Coconut Lagoon(Kumarakom)
US$ 316
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Aveda Kumarakom(Kumarakom)
US$ 129
US$ 121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Resorts(Kumarakom)(Great Value!)
US$ 87
US$ 74
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 226
US$ 180
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cocobay Resort(Kumarakom)(Great Value!)
US$ 69
US$ 67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort(Kumarakom)(Great Value!)
US$ 74
US$ 66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Illikkalam Lakeside Cottages(Kumarakom)(Great Value!)
US$ 33
US$ 29
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$ 78
US$ 68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,341)
Filter reviews
1,341 results
Traveller rating
901
301
75
28
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
901
301
75
28
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjayanta daspremium temptationbird sanctuarydeluxe allure villavembanad lakeoil lampsrabbitevery eveningboat ridefish feedingheritage propertyopen restaurantthe general managergm mrmain buildingchaiprivate pool
Filter
Updating list...
1,042 - 1,047 of 1,341 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2012

When you start searching for a top end property in a popular tourist destination like Kumarakom, you get numerous options. We had shortlisted the Kumarakom Lake Resort and the Coconut Lagoon alongwith the Taj, but finally chose the Taj simply because it was the familair "Taj" brand (and ofcourse because we got a good deal!)

And we were not disappointed... The property has limited no. of rooms so it kinda gives it an exclusive feel. As you enter through the main gate, you reach an 'open' reception area where you get a traditional welcome. The first sights that you soak in are of the lagoon within the property and the Superior Charm rooms overlooking it. Serene!

The reception area is in the 140 year old hertitage building which also houses the restaurant and bar on the ground floor and a few rooms on the 1st floor for those who want to get the feel of staying in an old colonial bungalow.... i'd prefer the villas, thank you!

Right next to it is the open restaurant which is were the breakfast buffet is served. The property is right next to a bird sanctuary so one does get to hear birds chirping away. There are then the walk-ways and cycle tracks (complimentary cycles provided) along the length of the resort. Little away from the lagoon is the pool and Spa, beyond which are the Villas - Allure Villas with open bathrooms, a concept we had heard and seen in many places but tried out here, interesting experiences to have a shower under the stars!!. The higher end villas are the Temptation Villas which come with private pools.

We stayed at the Allure Villa, lovely large rooms with walls painted in bright colours. Huge bathroom with tub and shower in the open. A private sit out - the lagoon facing it is smaller and unless the lillies are blooming, its large leaves make the lagoon look a bit untidy!

From what i have heard from others, this may not be the best looking property in the city in terms of landscaping etc but what really sets this place apart is the SERVICE. The Staff are friendly and like any top end resort, they can anticipate your needs and preferences. Kudos to the entire team there.

After you have had your prolonged 'Garfield' moments there - Kumarakom is all about doing nothing but enjoying the serenity of the Vembanad lake and the beautiful sunsets - the staff do try and make your evenings interesting. There is complimentary evening snacks everyday at the edge of the lake and they also get you together for some games. Refreshing!

The other highlight of the evening is the diya lighting all along with logoon which is a feast for the eyes at night as you enjoy a live classical music/ dance performance everyday. For the food enthusiasts, do savour the local delicacies - the Chef will be more than happy to help you decide your dish!

We also took the hour long complimentary ride on the Vembanad lake in the traditional boat which was good enough to enjoy the beauty of the vast and seemingly endless lake and hence we skipped the paid day long ride on the house boats.

We did take the dinky speed boat ride along the real backwaters of the town which was neat. And then we took the boat for a spin on the main lake which was exhiliarating! We also took the walk to the bird sanctuary but were disappointed. Guess you need to be a real bird watching enthusiast to enjoy it.

The only shortcoming of the resort - the weed growth at the edge of the property steals away the feeling of being right 'on-the-lake' that some of the other properties have. And the breakfast buffet, though yummy, is not as sumptuous as one expects of a Top end resort.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seejay04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and thoughtful note about your experience with us.
We are glad the family had a memorable time with us.
You are absolutely right.The small inventory gives an exclusive feel to the resort unlike what any other resort in the detaination offers.We have also chosen to keep a small inventory though we have a huge expanse of land because we had already been blessed with a huge cover of flora and fauna when we had taken over this resort .
We do hope the small touches by our associates has made your vacation even more special.
We do look forward to welcome you back to the resort very soon

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Stayed here for two nights in March. Had travelled from Alleppey on the public ferry to Kottayam and then on to Kumarakom via a rickshaw. The ferry boat ride was awesome...a 3hr journey through the beautiful backwaters. We saw Keralan village life laid bare, paddy fields, flocks of white egrets sitting in the water hyacinth and even a kingfisher. The trip cost us about 25p for the two of us and it was so worth it. We were greeted warmly at The Vivanta and shown our "Superior Lake View Room", a short walk from reception at the Baker House. (bikes are provided) The bungalow style accommodation overlooked the small man-made lake at the heart of the resort and had its own private verandah with comfortable seating. Very spacious,comfortable and spotlessly clean room with huge glass doors looking out on to verandah. Restaurant a short walk or bike ride away. Super friendly and attentive staff and superb food. We were very lucky to be offered an upgrade on our second night... to a luxury villa with private pool etc. It was beyond our wildest dreams with palatial accommodation and beautiful decor. We felt like royalty and with the impeccable service too we made the most of it, we just relaxed. The resort ends at the edge of Vembanad Lake, from here you can sit under a thatch canopy and watch the sunset. There is a lawned area here too with hammocks and other seating with a coffee shop at the far end. The resort grounds are attractive with trees and greenery all around and with water courses here and there attracting the inevitable mosquitos. We enjoyed our few days of luxury here before our next stop up in the hills.

Room Tip: Luxury villa with private pool if your budget allows!!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SUSEYG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.We are indeed glad that the stay with us will be ethched in your memory for long.That is exactly what we intend as well.We would like for each guest to be treated as an individual and his/her needs be customised as much as possible.
We do whatever possible at our end to make the stay memorable.
We look forward to welcome you back to our resort again very soon

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I cannot recollect any other hotel (including several Taj group properties & other reputed hotels) where I have experienced such warm & exemplary service - truly in line with traditional Indian philosophy of 'Atithi Devo Bhava'. Such excellent service, together with the sprawling property and its plethora of engaging activities (fishing, boating - both on Vembanad lake & the internal lake, goose feeding, pottery, cycling, swimming, games during evening tea on the lawn facing Vembanad Lake, musical / dance program during dinner) - this property & its offering kept us and all other guests deeply engaged and spellbound.

The cottages all around the property are very well laid out, interiors at par with Taj standards and room services decently prompt.

Our 2 Nt / 3 day package included all food at the main restaurant - I must say we ate to our heart's content! The F&B Manager (Mr Prince) took special care to custom-make non spicy dishes for our little one. Every staff member of the hotel knew each guest/family by their names and at all available opportunities offered to help as much on anything one needs. Overall - a truly refreshing holiday experience we had at Taj Kumarakom.

Room Tip: We stayed in Cottage # 18 which is the only East facing cottage in the property
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SantanuGanguly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much indeed for such a detailed and noteworthy review of our hotel.It is indeed a matter of great pride for us that you consider us to be one of the best properties that you have visited.
Am sure this will encourage several visitors to look upon our hotel when they plan a visit to the destination.
Will pass on your good wishes and comments to the rest of the team members as well.
We are indeed glad that the holiday has refreshed you because that in essence is the importance of a vacation keeping in line with one's hectic lifestyle today.
We do look forward to welcome you back to the resort again very soon.

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Great property...we were upgraded to a Suite...which was a pleasant surprise. The pathways were a bit slippery, which made the walk to and from dinner adventurous..but not a big issue. Watch out for the killer mosquitoes, like everywhere in Kerala. the hotel is next to a bird sanctuary, so one can see them all over.

Food was ok, a bit of a letdown after Taj Malabar. Sometimes lukewarm, sometimes a little low on salt, etc... Not a big issue, but a bit disappointing.

Pool was nice, but again there were slick mossy patches by he poolside, which were a bit dangerous for the kid. Spa was decent...had a good massage, but should be upgraded, since a lot of guests must be using it for the famous Kerala Ayurveda therapy.

Lots of honeymooning couples around as well.

Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
Thank Tushar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.We are glad you had an enjoyable time with us.
Whilst we were happy to note that you enjoyed the stay on most grounds,we have also noted the aspects which were not upto your expectations.
We do hope to be of better service to you in the near future whenever you plan a visit to the destination.

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

My wife,my daughter (12 yr), and I planned our "monsoon vacation" at Kumarkom, and stayed at this wonderful place. The reception was fantastic with fresh coconut water as welcome drink, garlanding, and then we were escorted to our cottage. The lady explained to us about the property heritage, the types of accommodations at the resort, and also took care of explaining us the list of activities at the resort.
We were provided the lagoon/lake facing cottage, and that was really-really good. The lake is hardly 20 feet from the sit-out, and the lake is lit by 1000 lamps daily at ~7 PM by local village folks. That is a feast to eyes.
Vivanta is exceptionally good at its services, be it room services, or the restaurant services, and Vivanta Kumarkom was no exception. My wife, and daughter were flattered. I liked the way the chef interacted with us during our breakfast, and our dinners, asking us to try some of their dishes; and asking us if we were enjoying our dinner/meal. I think we over ate each time :-), and we would attribute this to the server Mr. Suresh, who would suggest us some really good items from the menu.
The resort manager, Mr. Aaron, was kind to upgrade us to the next suite for the second day of our stay. The activities at the resort include sunset cruise, a high tea after the cruise, and fishing/pottery/clay modeling/tour to bird sanctuary/etc. Mr. Raveendran took very good care of all the children at the resort, taking them from one activity to the another. There was so much of staff taking care of everything, whom we wish to thank.
Another thing that I liked was the easy availability of bicycles for moving around in the 15 acres of resort. Just take a bike from anywhere, and leave anywhere in the resort. We loved it !!!
Overall, a wonderful stay...I wish I had stayed for a day more, but the resort was fully booked and we couldn't extend our reservation.

Room Tip: We liked the rooms in front of Lake. Some rooms have "Open Garden" shower place.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ManishMadhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review.We are glad you thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us.
Being a small resort,we try to personalise and customise the experience of each and every guest as far as possible because we realise the importance of breaks in one's hectic lifestyle today.
We are glad you overate with us because you can indulge a bit whilst on vacations.
We look forward to being of service to you yet again in the near future

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews