We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Taj Service at its Best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Taj Service at its Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

I cannot recollect any other hotel (including several Taj group properties & other reputed hotels) where I have experienced such warm & exemplary service - truly in line with traditional Indian philosophy of 'Atithi Devo Bhava'. Such excellent service, together with the sprawling property and its plethora of engaging activities (fishing, boating - both on Vembanad lake & the internal lake, goose feeding, pottery, cycling, swimming, games during evening tea on the lawn facing Vembanad Lake, musical / dance program during dinner) - this property & its offering kept us and all other guests deeply engaged and spellbound.

The cottages all around the property are very well laid out, interiors at par with Taj standards and room services decently prompt.

Our 2 Nt / 3 day package included all food at the main restaurant - I must say we ate to our heart's content! The F&B Manager (Mr Prince) took special care to custom-make non spicy dishes for our little one. Every staff member of the hotel knew each guest/family by their names and at all available opportunities offered to help as much on anything one needs. Overall - a truly refreshing holiday experience we had at Taj Kumarakom.

Room Tip: We stayed in Cottage # 18 which is the only East facing cottage in the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SantanuGanguly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much indeed for such a detailed and noteworthy review of our hotel.It is indeed a matter of great pride for us that you consider us to be one of the best properties that you have visited.
Am sure this will encourage several visitors to look upon our hotel when they plan a visit to the destination.
Will pass on your good wishes and comments to the rest of the team members as well.
We are indeed glad that the holiday has refreshed you because that in essence is the importance of a vacation keeping in line with one's hectic lifestyle today.
We do look forward to welcome you back to the resort again very soon.

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    745
    252
    63
    22
    29
See reviews for
491
455
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012 via mobile

Great property...we were upgraded to a Suite...which was a pleasant surprise. The pathways were a bit slippery, which made the walk to and from dinner adventurous..but not a big issue. Watch out for the killer mosquitoes, like everywhere in Kerala. the hotel is next to a bird sanctuary, so one can see them all over.

Food was ok, a bit of a letdown after Taj Malabar. Sometimes lukewarm, sometimes a little low on salt, etc... Not a big issue, but a bit disappointing.

Pool was nice, but again there were slick mossy patches by he poolside, which were a bit dangerous for the kid. Spa was decent...had a good massage, but should be upgraded, since a lot of guests must be using it for the famous Kerala Ayurveda therapy.

Lots of honeymooning couples around as well.

Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tushar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.We are glad you had an enjoyable time with us.
Whilst we were happy to note that you enjoyed the stay on most grounds,we have also noted the aspects which were not upto your expectations.
We do hope to be of better service to you in the near future whenever you plan a visit to the destination.

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

My wife,my daughter (12 yr), and I planned our "monsoon vacation" at Kumarkom, and stayed at this wonderful place. The reception was fantastic with fresh coconut water as welcome drink, garlanding, and then we were escorted to our cottage. The lady explained to us about the property heritage, the types of accommodations at the resort, and also took care of explaining us the list of activities at the resort.
We were provided the lagoon/lake facing cottage, and that was really-really good. The lake is hardly 20 feet from the sit-out, and the lake is lit by 1000 lamps daily at ~7 PM by local village folks. That is a feast to eyes.
Vivanta is exceptionally good at its services, be it room services, or the restaurant services, and Vivanta Kumarkom was no exception. My wife, and daughter were flattered. I liked the way the chef interacted with us during our breakfast, and our dinners, asking us to try some of their dishes; and asking us if we were enjoying our dinner/meal. I think we over ate each time :-), and we would attribute this to the server Mr. Suresh, who would suggest us some really good items from the menu.
The resort manager, Mr. Aaron, was kind to upgrade us to the next suite for the second day of our stay. The activities at the resort include sunset cruise, a high tea after the cruise, and fishing/pottery/clay modeling/tour to bird sanctuary/etc. Mr. Raveendran took very good care of all the children at the resort, taking them from one activity to the another. There was so much of staff taking care of everything, whom we wish to thank.
Another thing that I liked was the easy availability of bicycles for moving around in the 15 acres of resort. Just take a bike from anywhere, and leave anywhere in the resort. We loved it !!!
Overall, a wonderful stay...I wish I had stayed for a day more, but the resort was fully booked and we couldn't extend our reservation.

Room Tip: We liked the rooms in front of Lake. Some rooms have "Open Garden" shower place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ManishMadhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review.We are glad you thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us.
Being a small resort,we try to personalise and customise the experience of each and every guest as far as possible because we realise the importance of breaks in one's hectic lifestyle today.
We are glad you overate with us because you can indulge a bit whilst on vacations.
We look forward to being of service to you yet again in the near future

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
119 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed at Vivanta Kumarakom for three nights early last month and it was just awesome. We were in Room 10 with a view of the lagoon. The room is pretty spacious, although the paint was peeling off at some places and the blue brush strokes were so evident. The furniture can do with a bit of modernization as well. The second entrance of the room opens to the lagoon, where if you sit, you can see hundreds of birds fly across. The sight there at night when all the lights are lit up is just very pretty. Service at the Vivanta, as is across any Taj property, is just awesome. Unbelievable and the staff are there to pamper you. The evening boat ride with the staff and other guests, complimentary of the hotel, is very cool. It's a half hour ride across the Vembanad lake and once it's over, they treat you to complimentary tea and kerala snacks. Very nice. I went for a bird watching walk one day and also did use the spa there - and have to say both were very rejuvenating. The staff offered to upgrade us free to a bigger room, but we politely declined the offer since the room that we stayed in was comfortable enough. The food is very good and delicious - especially the breakfast. You get a very good cross section of Indian, Kerala and western breakfast. Awesome spread. Chef Shihab will make whatever you ask and make it really well. The quality of Taj service was evident when one day we didn't like the biriyani that we ate and the next day the entire staff kept asking about the food, the previous night experience, how to improve etc. Unbelievably responsive. The only gripe I have about the property is that the food there is not value for money - the portions you get for the money that you pay is rather small, delicious sure they are, but not worth the money you pay. Well, since nothing is nearby, you are bound to eat there - mind it.

Room Tip: The closer you are to the entrance, the lesser chance you have of getting a pot-shotted by a bird.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ANANDKMOORTHY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review.
We are glad you had a great time with us.
We do try and train our team members to understand that from the perspective of an individual guest,a vacation is one that comes very rarely and hence is a very special period since it allows one to bond with his/her dear ones.Therefore we try and make each individual's vacation special.
We have also noted your feedback about the food portion.
We look forward to welcome you back for another stay with us very soon

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

We have always stayed at the Kumarakom Lake Resort while in kumarakom but went with taj vivanta this time. For a family holiday, we couldn't have made a better choice!

The place has plenty of activities to keep kids entertained. They are planned and conducted in a manner that the kids probably identify with from school. Anyway, they enjoyed and looked forward to the day's activities and were very pleased with all the certificates. i especially liked how the kids were encouraged to make friends and participate. Small wonder then that they had an EXCELLENT time and were extremely reluctant to go back home.

So much for them - for the rest of us as well the place was serene, beautiful and very, very relaxing. most of us cycled after years!! unbelievable fun! The birds nesting area within the resort provided us with great views of amazing birds we do not usually get to see in the city as well as a feeling of being very close to nature.

the food was a bit of a let down. They did not have a buffet for most of our stay due to logistical reasons. As our group comprised of non vegetarians except for two of us, it was either waste food(the portions were big!) or order very few items, so we got no variety in our meals. Once the resort started filling up they switched to buffet. Not fair to put convenience over guests' pleasure in my opinion.

A special mention must be made of the lovely diya lighting ritual every evening. it provides local employment as well as an unforgettable experience for everyone who visits.

All in all a very memorable holiday. Would love to come back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r011ing_st0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.We are glad the family had a good time with us.
Yes,we do try and engage the kids as much as possible because once the kids are engaged,parents can engage themselves in whatever they would like to.Moreso,kids get really excited to see an open expanse of space such as ours where we engage them in a lot of activities which would be very new and uncommon to them.
Have noted your feedback about the buffet.Being a small resort with only 28 rooms,we always try and give our guests an option to explore the whole menu thereby giving them more options.
We look forward to welcome you back for another vacation with us in the near future

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
4.1 km away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.3 km away
Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort
3.6 km away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#7 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
0.0 km away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
4.4 km away
Karma Chakra
Karma Chakra
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
Address: 1/404 Kumarakom, Kumarakom 686563, India (Formerly Taj Garden Retreat)
Region: India > Kerala > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,778 - ₹ 17,097
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kumarakom is a popular tourist destination in the Kottayam district of Kerala. Located on the picturesque Vembanad Lake, Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, Kerala, is a 30-minute drive from the Kottayam railway station or an hour's drive from Cochin city. Kerala's backwaters surround the 140-year old colonial bungalow which houses this resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Indian Hotels Company Limited and Agoda so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Kumarakom Hotel Kumarakom
Taj Garden Retreat Hotel Kumarakom
Kumarakom Taj Garden Retreat
Vivanta By Taj - Kumarakom Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing