We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Taj Hospitality in a Good resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Doesn’t my review title say it all……please note I have stopped short of calling it excellent …..since room for improvement is there…..but then worth a vacation for the “value for money” alone.

The Plus points
Right on the Vembanad lake. Lake is only visible from the private pool rooms… most other rooms have a lagoon view.
Great rooms upto Tak standards….good air conditioning especially in the Kerala heat.
Complementary boat ride and tea/snacks not to be missed.
Well maintained grounds

Minus points
Rooms don’t have a circuit breaker- the old traditional key type…was not very environ friendly there…..felt guilty leaving lights/AC on everytime I went out of the room.
Food – vegetarian fare could be improved
The bird sanctuary walk is a waste – u see more birds in the resort itself – don’t waste ur time waking up early for a tiring wasteful walk.

Overall impression
Excellent value for money……maybe for 2-3 nights.

Room Tip: Pool villa is a must if r with kids who love water OR for anyone for that matter - with hot weather...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelosky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for the aspects you mentioned you have truly liked and we will also work upon the others where you felt there is room for improvement.
We are happy that you found value for money in your experience with us.We try and fill up the resort with experiences and activities so that the guests have an enriching holiday experience.
Generally hotels are about good rooms,good food and some leisure experiences.In our resort,we offer unique activities that connect guests with nature which is becoming a rarity in our cities today.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort very soon.

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,241)
There are newer reviews for Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

971 - 975 of 1,242 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2012

We stayed at Vivanta in Last week of April for 2 nights for our anniversary.
Hotel is good… we were upgraded to Luxury Villa which is awesome..
Huge room with big bathroom and rain shower.. Initially we had some issues
At Restaurant as we eat only Jain food and had some tough time explaining to chef about
Our preferences. But they soon rectified it and then it had become quite smooth.
Because of such customer service only we always prefer Taj and will continue to do so.
Hotel has nice recreational options such as Bird watching (must do..) , evening backwater cruise,
Pottery , village walk ( avoid it as they don’t know what they are trying show..).
Special thanks to Hotel manager Sibil to personally look into our problems and solve them,
And Prince for all help at restaurant. We would love to come again .. whenever we get chance.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sahilshah_amd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.
We are glad you had an enjoyable stay with us and that we could leave you with fond memories.
Thank you for a mention of the activities in the resort
We look forward to welcome you back in the near future

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

When General Manager came to know that it was our anniversary, I got a call from the GM and he offered me an upgrade to Villa which was very nice of the management. Though I stayed there for one night I wished I had more time to spend at this excellent property. My deep gratitude to the management for the upgrade and all the warmth and kind hospitality. Would definitely recommend this to one and all who would like to go to Kumarakom.

Room Tip: Cottages facing Lagoon are very nice
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SALIM2760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback.
We are glad we could make your special day even more memorable in our own small way.
We do understand the importance of special days in one's lives and how the memories of the manner in which the day is spent lingers on with you for a very long time.
We look forward to welcome you to celebrate many more such occassions with us

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Stayed for 4nights at the Taj Vivanta. Room was very comfortable and the environs tranquil and very much reflected the natural environment of Kumarakom. Service was excellent by all staff.

We tended not to go out too much and possibly because of that, a 3 night stay would have been more appropriate. Kids had sufficient activities to keep them occupied (pool & morning activities) but it was the same schedule every day. More variety would have been good.

Only downside was that the water in the canals around the villas were not very clean and marred the beauty of the place. Hotel can take more efforts to keep the canals clean or have plenty of water plants (water lilies & lotus) to keep the water covered.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.We are glad you had a delightful stay with us.
Most guests who come for a holiday with us tend not to step out of the resort because of the calming and relaxing ambience of the hotel.
As you have rightly stated,we have lined up a whole list of activities to keep the children occupied.And let me stress again that these are activities that children would rarely expience in the urban world today.
We will try and incorporate more activities as you have suggested.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort yet again very soon

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

My review is going to be a mixed bag. After having read all the other gushing reviews of this property, I would not give the same gushing review. After having paid the stiff rates, I expect better value for my money and the resort needs to earn its 5 star billing.

We love staying at any Taj property. Kumarakom is no exception. The location on the shores of Lake Vembanad is just perfect. The day we arrived, the hotel was experiencing some technical problem, so our villa was without water and electricity. Of course, they set it right in 30-45 minutes but it was annoying not to be able to use the bathroom after a long car journey.

We stayed in a room with the private pool at the edge of the property. Needless to say, my son had a fantastic time in the pool. If one is planning a holiday in Kumarakom do splurge a little and book the private pool room. It is worth it. The bathroom is glamorous with an outdoor rain shower, looks good but is not user friendly or convenient. The loo is placed in a tight corner with no health faucet and there are too many creepy crawlies because of the outdoor theme. It can be disconcerting to find a spider climbing up your bath towel as you reach for it after your shower.

The room we stayed in did not have a ceiling fan. So the Air conditioning had to be switched on all night as it was the only means of cooling the room. All of us got up with a headache the next morning due to the non stop air conditioning. Everything else was great. The staff were so courteous and helpful. They just couldn't do enough for you. The only glitch in the whole experience would be the food. I am not complaining about the taste or quality of food. IT was great as keeping with the tradition of the Taj. It was the cost versus the quantity. The portions were teeny weeny as opposed to the cost of the food. We have stayed in several Taj properties before, but nowhere have we ever felt we were being practically robbed!! Atrocious prices for minuscule microscopic portions. Other than this, top star billing for this property. A lovely and relaxing property.

Would we come back? I would have to say yes, for the simple reason nobody in India does hospitality the Taj way.

Room Tip: Go for the private pool rooms. They are worth it. Edge of the property with great views of the lake...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Vidyanavin491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.
Whilst we are glad that you had a great vacation with us and the family enjoyed the temptation villa,we do apologise for the glitches that you had initially.
We have preserved nature in its pristine beauty in our resort and by doing this ,we try and provide an experience that is totally different to what one would experience in resorts generally.
We do look forward to welcome you back to the resort in the near future

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
4.1 km away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
738 reviews
5.5 km away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
0.9 km away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Karma Chakra
Karma Chakra
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
542 reviews
3.5 km away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#7 of 26 in Kumarakom
727 reviews
1.6 km away
Kumarakom Lake Resort
Kumarakom Lake Resort
#4 of 26 in Kumarakom
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom

Address: 1/404 Kumarakom, Kumarakom 686563, India (Formerly Taj Garden Retreat)
Region: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Spa Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range: ₹ 10,907 - ₹ 34,967 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kumarakom is a popular tourist destination in the Kottayam district of Kerala. Located on the picturesque Vembanad Lake, Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, Kerala, is a 30-minute drive from the Kottayam railway station or an hour's drive from Cochin city. Kerala's backwaters surround the 140-year old colonial bungalow which houses this resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, Expedia, Hotels.com, MakeMyTrip, ClearTrip, Agoda, Yatra, TravelGuru and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Kumarakom Hotel Kumarakom
Taj Garden Retreat Hotel Kumarakom
Kumarakom Taj Garden Retreat
Vivanta By Taj - Kumarakom Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing