We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serene & peaceful....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Noida, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Serene & peaceful....”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We took a motar boat from Taj kochi to reach kumarakon... a journey of close to 2 hours..... a great view of back waters on our way to kumarakom.........

A huge, lush green property... with only 28 cottages & villas........ the cottages were quite huge & well kept .......... we got an upgrade to a Villa as well for our last night, which is really huge & a great open bathroom (the main attraction)... Thank u guys for the upgrade.........

Every evening you can enjoy the free cruise & post that tea & pakoras at 'Chayakeda'.......

The staff is very courtoues & hospitable, on the day we checked out & were heading towards Munnar, they packed us nice sandwiches for our journey....... very thoughtful indeed !

The resort is very peaceful, serene & full of greenry....... Only thing they can do is little better maintainence of the pool & may be add another restuarant to Dine for.......

There is not much to do at Kumarakon......... just enjoy the resort & relax!!

Had great time :)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shil_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback that you have provided for our resort.
You have indeed used the right term for our resort - 'Serene and Peaceful'
Our biggest advantage is that though we have 15 acres of land, we have an inventory of 28 rooms in all only which means that every guest has about half an acre to himself/herself.
Space is something that one keenly looks out to in today's hugely competitive world where every inch of space in our cities is being utilised only for fianancial gains.
So in true terms, a holiday at our resort does rejuvinate one to get back to the daily rigours of life.
We do look forward to welcoming you back for yet another enchanting holiday with us

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    780
    262
    63
    23
    29
See reviews for
519
465
22
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

My husband and I booked Taj Vivanta based on the reviews on TA but as always were sceptical on whether it would be too much of a concrete structure rather than a cultural experience.
We drove from Munnar to Kumarakom which was a 5 hour long but beautiful drive. The moment you step into the Taj property, it is obvious that the holiday will be gloriously laid back.
We received a welcome drink of coconut water (my favourite!!) and were directed towards the outdoor restaurant for lunch while our bags were placed in our room. The lunch was a mix of surprising tantalising flavours and we couldnt wait to be back for Dinner that night.
Onto our room which was a Superior cottage - we had a great view...just at the edge of the Lagoon this was room no 18, so if you can, do request for this.
The cottage is Keralan style, with a large bedroom, closet space and an equally large bathroom with a tub and shower. The verandah makes for a wonderful reading area overlooking the lagoon. At night, girls from the neighbouring village light diyas (tea lights) all around the lagoon, which is a breathtaking sight.

In the evening there is a complementary boat cruise on a rice boat which is a must do especially if like us, you arent going for a backwaters cruise. The boat ride lasts about an hour and ends with a tea and evening snacks reception (again complementary) near the lake. This is when the lovely management at Taj mingle with guests, and make the event fun filled yet non - interfering. This is where the Management will take you through activities lined up at the resort for the next few days and may also personalise some especially for you.
The next morning we were upgraded to the luxury private pool cottage bang on the lake - which was an unbelievably stunning treat! The luxury private pool villas come complete with a larger than average private pool surrounded by a personal cabanna and day bed. There is an outdoor bathroom, covered by net to keep insects at bay but brilliant as you shower on white pebbles. The rooms are massive with a four poster bed, all luxurious amenities and a small dining area. The balcony overlooks the lake and has a cute wrought iron swing to add to the mood. If you do book a pool villa, make sure it is no 24 (this is the best view of the resort and the President of India recently stayed here)
During our stay we went for pottery lessons (brought home our creations and certificates for the same), village walks, paddle boating and ofcourse made full use of the bikes at the resort.
Despite the fact that the hotel was full, we never felt lacking in space, service or quality of our holiday. The premises are immaculately maintained and clean - mosquitos will be a problem but the staff light natural lemongrass repellants for you while dining.
Anthony from the Engineering team, Prince from Food and Beverage and Aaron from room reservations were some of the stars who helped make this stay wonderful in every way.

We ventured out of the resort one day to try food at a local restaurant which was a good experience. There is a visit to the bird sanctuary organised by the hotel at around 6:30 am every day but we did not try this.

A quick word on the food : it was as expected from a Taj property - extremely delicious. The variety is huge, ranging from authentic Keralan to wider Indian cuisines, Italian, International and Chinese. Must try the dry Kerala mutton dish, fish in banana leaf and raw mango with coconut salad!

If you want gorgeous views, stunning villas, Taj quality food and smiles all around - you should not miss this....we already cant wait to go back!

Room Tip: Superior or Deluxe cottages are well done up and have gorgeous views to match. If choosing a Deluxe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NTmadfortravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Guest,

We are indeed delighted by the long and wonderful feedback that you have provided about your experience here with us.
As I have written in the past,what I would like to stress is that holidays do not come by easily in one's hectic life schedule today.Therefore ,we try and do whatever possible at our end to make one's holiday experience memorable.
Thank you for mentioning the small aspects where the staff took care of you as well.
We look forward to have you as our esteemed guests yet again very soon

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

II stayed here with my family in January, and we had a fantastic time. The grounds are stunning and immaculately maintained. Extraordinary efforts are made by the staff to ensure a pleasant stay. Mr Prince (day manager) took particularly good care of our party; helping arrange activities for us, etc. The rooms/bungalows are wonderful; spacious, full of amenities (chocolate treats, fresh fruit etc) and the staff turn down the room each afternoon, leaving behind fresh towels folded into the shape of a swan!
No detail is spared – and there are plenty of complimentary activities to keep you and your family busy: cycling, boat rides, sunset cruises, cooking classes, yoga – to name but a few!
Overall, our 4 days at the Taj Vivanta were our best in Kerala - I would recommend this hotel to everyone. One tip: Enquire if there are any upgrade opportunities upon arrival. We were lucky and got bumped up for the duration of our stay…

Room Tip: Ask about upgrades upon arrival... if they can accommodate they will!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danielsandersley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your noteworthy feedback and the praise that you have showered upon our staff members as well.
All our staff members try in their own small ways to do different things that please our guests.
Thank you for mentioning the swan.That indeed is a small effort by the housekeeping team to take our guests by suprise.I am happy that you were delighted by this effort.
We look forward to welcome you back to the resort yet again very soon.

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

The first thing i would like to talk is FOOD. The food is really very very good real 5* quality. I stayed for 3 days and there are so many activities to get you occupied. They get you in their free boat ride. There are also pedal boats, pottery clases and so on. The property is a bit old need refurbishment but cleanly maintained. The location of the hotel is so nice will really make you satisfying. I give this place 5 star and it deserves it

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sriwath R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback that you have provided.Food is generally one aspect which is very difficult to satisfy since every individual has his/her likes or preferences with regards to their individual food habits.
The chef and his team try very hard to meet up with each guest and fulfill their individual requirements as far as the food is concerned.We also cater outside the menu as much as possible.
We are indeed pleased that we could meet up to your expectations.We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel yet again very soon.

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Castle, Delaware
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

This is a really gorgeous property with great rooms and views. Very scenic location right next to a bird sanctuary. Easy access roads. Warm and welcoming friendly staff. The boat ride was just ok - no great shakes. The cottage we were in was fabulous. Especially thier outdoor bathroom. Spacious and fully airconditioned with a nice balcony. They had cultural shows every evening which made dinner pleasant and enjoyable. Was there with my wife on my honeymoon. We had a fabulous time. Was there 3 nights in the deluxe villa. It was certainly a very memorable experience and would recommend this place with no hesitation.

Room Tip: Get the deluxe cottages. The outdoor bath is awesome. Plus almost like your the only one there - pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful praise that you have showered upon us.We are indeed glad that we could make your stay with us indeed memorable.Thank you for the mention of the open air bathrooms.They were indeed conceived to ensure that the guests have a unique experience unlike what they would have had in any hotel.They are actually designed on the lines of traditional bathrooms in the Kerala houses of the yester years.
We look forward to welcome you back very soon

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
4.1 km away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
3.5 km away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#7 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
5.6 km away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
4.4 km away
Karma Chakra
Karma Chakra
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
1.6 km away
Kumarakom Lake Resort
Kumarakom Lake Resort
#4 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
Address: 1/404 Kumarakom, Kumarakom 686563, India (Formerly Taj Garden Retreat)
Region: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,847 - ₹ 16,601
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kumarakom is a popular tourist destination in the Kottayam district of Kerala. Located on the picturesque Vembanad Lake, Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, Kerala, is a 30-minute drive from the Kottayam railway station or an hour's drive from Cochin city. Kerala's backwaters surround the 140-year old colonial bungalow which houses this resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, ClearTrip, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Kumarakom Hotel Kumarakom
Taj Garden Retreat Hotel Kumarakom
Kumarakom Taj Garden Retreat
Vivanta By Taj - Kumarakom Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing