We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Taj experience does stay with you!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
1 review
“Taj experience does stay with you!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

After a very disappointing houseboat stay on our anniversary, we checked in at Taj Vivanta on 28th Feb, Kumarakom and it totally changed our holiday from disappointing to memorable!

Everything about Taj Kumarakom is extraordinary, the beautiful property, the ever accommodating and courteous staff, the flawless service, the extra care that completes the Taj experience...

Overhearing our scuffle with the houseboat company over bad service on our anniversary and how our special day was spoilt, they surprised us with a cake alongside our dinner...a gesture that will stay in our hearts forever.

There were always some fun activities arranged for the guests to keep us occupied and indulged. One word that did not exist with Taj was "no".

I dedicate this to the staff of Taj Kumarakom. I regret that I can not name each and everyone who helped it make a wonderful stay, I'd like to extend a special thanks towards Mr Ravindran and Mr Prince Joseph for going that extra mile.

I recommend this experience to everyone!

Room Tip: The Standard cottages are beautifully located by a large lagoon...go for them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Praset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback.We are glad we could create an experience that will stay with you for ever.We do whatever is possible in our own capacity to make the experience better.
As you rightly pointed out most of the times ,we are able to meet up with the requests that a guest may have without having to say a 'NO'.Moreso we feel that it is a culture of not refusing encourages our associates to think differently to fulfill requests.
We do hope to welcome you as also your loved ones back to the resort yet again very soon.

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    702
    234
    59
    21
    28
See reviews for
461
428
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indore, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

I would say it is the best hotel experience in Kerala. The property is very beautiful and welcoming. We had a very warm and comforting welcome at the reception. The rooms are very nicely designed and you will love to be in the room. The Deluxe Allure Villa is room you want to be in. This has a very beautiful view of lake in-front of the room and you can spend long time sitting there. Also the hotel has a evening cruise of the lake and holds cultural program every evening near the restaurant. The food and service is great and the staff will help you till the finest of details of every demand.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harshkrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your splendid feedback.We are indeed delighted that we could make your holiday memorable to the finest extent possible.As you rightly mentioned,the very fact that all our rooms offer a splendid view of some form of water body(lily pond or a lagoon or the swimming pool)makes it a very soothing experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort yet again very soon

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

I stayed at the Vivanta by Taj in Kumarakom for my birthday weekend (18th-19th Feb 2012), and I must say the experience was fabulous. The only downside is that we were there only 1 night! We'd stayed on a houseboat for 2 nights previously (and were royally conned by a company called Aerotrek - don't use them!) and wish we'd only had 1 night on the houseboat and 2 at the Taj.

The reception staff, especially Deepti, were extremely helpful. We arrived early and were greeted with coconut drinks, our bags were stored at reception and we were invited to spend time using the pool facilities while our room was prepared. We were a group of 3 (but booked into a standard room) and were given a complimentary upgrade to a Heritage room in the main mansion. The room was lovely - really comfortable bed with white cotton linen, 2 bathrooms and a small 'dining' area with free fruit and water.

Overall the resort is peaceful. It's not too big but you can use the complimantary bicylces to cyle around. I am a big fan of swimming pools and this one doesn't disappoint - medium-sized so the water warms up enough to swim in, but still cools you down. There are just about enough sun-loungers, but if you need more the staff will get them for you, and move them out of the shade into the sun if you want to tan. One particularly impressive feature was that the prices in the pool bar menu is the final price AFTER tax (approx 600 INR) - this is unusual in India, as normally you'll order a 200 INR drink and be hit with a bill for 600, so the fact that they give you the final price after the various taxed makes it easier if you're on a budget. The pool also has a swim up bar, which is always good!

There seem to be too restaurants but the one inside the main house was almost always empty, with most guests preferring to sit outside by the lake. The food was excellent and the staff very attentive. Dinner was good value for the quality but the breakfast buffet was expensive by comparison, and due to the location of the hotel you don't have much of a choice of eating elsewhere.

The Keralan backwaters are one of the most stunning places on earth anyway so the hotel doesn't have to work too hard to be special. But I would highly recommend Vivanta by Taj to friends and family and would certainly stay there again. Worth the splurge for a very memorable holiday.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the splendid feedback that you have provided.We are delighted to note that we could make your stay with us delightful.We are happy to note that you did like the heritage rooms as well.They have a great character and a 140 year old story to recite.The stay in the traditional 'Baker's Bungalow' is an experience by itself.
Thank you for your generous feedback about the pool and the services as well.
We look forward to welcome you and your known ones to a pristine experience of the backwaters of Kerala

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

I stayed for two nights with my mom at the Taj Vivanta in Kumarakom. We arrived by houseboat and were greeted very warmly by a member of the staff at the boat dock. When the staff members saw that my mom had difficulty walking long distances with a bad knee, they thoughtfully assigned us to one of the closer-in bungalows for our stay.

The resort is intimate and lovely and centers around the Baker House, a historic bungalow previously owned by a family of British missionaries. Taj has done a fantastic job of converting the property into an upscale, yet intimate and warm resort, all while retaining the historical character.

We stayed in a spacious "superior charm" room which was a lovely, cosy and luxurious bungalow on the inlet lake. We had a nice verandah with chairs that overlooked the lake. The bed was heavenly with a nice duvet and beautiful blue raw silk pillows. The bathroom was gorgeous. Although this was not one of the fancier private villas with private pools that the resort also has, I felt it was beautiful and private and a 5 star stay for sure. The higher category villas have open showers, but I loved our bathroom because it had the open feel, with a big glass wall to ceiling window overlooking a lovely palm tree and walled mini garden, so you go the outdoor feel but without any lizards or other creatures :)

The most important thing I wish to convey in this review is how EXCELLENT the service was at this resort. I have travelled extensively in the US, Mexico and Europe and nothing I have seen so far can match Indian hotels for service, particularly this hotel.

Everyday, there is a lovely complimentary sunset boat cruise along the backwaters. The hotel also serves tea and snacks at sunset by the water. There are free paddleboats, bikes and canoes to use on the property. One staff member asked me about our trip. I simply mentioned that my birthday was coming up the next day and we were celebrating. The next thing I knew, the staffer had mentioned it to the manager of the hotel and they presented me with a gorgeous cake on my birthday. In addition to the cake, when I returned to the room after dinner, the room had been decorated with rose petals strewn on the bed, towels in the shape of two graceful swans, also sprinkled with rose petals, balloons and a simply gorgeous, huge floral bouquet. with lilies and roses. This special touch made the stay very memorable and I was so pleased with the service.

All in all, we enjoyed two relaxing and carefree days. The food was quite good. Pool was very nice. I did not use the spa. There are bigger resorts in Kumarakom and we visited one or two, but I love the Taj Vivanta and would definitely go back!

Room Tip: The superior charm bungalows are very nice and less pricey than the villas. They are still quite pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your splendid feedback.We are indeed glad that we could make your birthday memorable.We do realise how difficult it is for one to take a break in one's hectic work-life schedule today and how much of planning goes into the vacations.Therefore ,we try and make every possible effort to ensure that the vacation is memorable.
We do look forward to welcome you back to our resort yet again very soon

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a week in November and found it to be a wonderful place to relax. The setting of the hotel was fantastic, and there are many activities that you can undertake too - fishing on the lake, bike riding, going on a house boat, spa treatments and more! The food was fantastic and the service could not be faulted either. The rooms were slightly basic.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Govind C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.We are glad you had an enjoyable time with us.
We do look forward to welcome you back to our resort very soon.

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
4.1 km away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#1 of 25 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.3 km away
Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort
4.7 km away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#7 of 25 in Kumarakom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
4.4 km away
Karma Chakra
Karma Chakra
#2 of 25 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.9 km away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#12 of 25 in Kumarakom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
Address: 1/404 Kumarakom, Kumarakom 686563, India (Formerly Taj Garden Retreat)
Region: India > Kerala > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Spa Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,589 - ₹ 44,332
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kumarakom is a popular tourist destination in the Kottayam district of Kerala. Located on the picturesque Vembanad Lake, Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, Kerala, is a 30-minute drive from the Kottayam railway station or an hour's drive from Cochin city. Kerala's backwaters surround the 140-year old colonial bungalow which houses this resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Hotels.com, TravelGuru and Agoda so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Kumarakom Hotel Kumarakom
Taj Garden Retreat Hotel Kumarakom
Kumarakom Taj Garden Retreat
Vivanta By Taj - Kumarakom Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing