We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,034)
Filter reviews
2,034 results
Traveller rating
1,516
366
104
19
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,516
366
104
19
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews meandering pool sunset cruise private pool mat weaving basket weaving prince charles heritage villas seafood restaurant lake resort paradise on earth pottery making outdoor bathroom evening tea main restaurant open air our honeymoon traditional kerala
Filter
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 2,034 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Warning: this is going to be a long post because I don't want to miss any detail. I took my mum to this property for a post-retirement break over a long weekend, and boy, were we in for a treat! The airport pick up and co-ordination was very well organised, with a person waiting with our signboard to bring us and our luggage up to the car which was parked outside. The vehicle was neat and clean, our driver very respectful and polite, which made the 2.5 hour drive to the property from Kochi airport a breeze. Bottled water and magazines of our choice were placed in the car beforehand. We reached the hotel in time for check in and were warmly welcomed with a traditional tikka of sandalwood. Check-in was a breeze and we were escorted to our room with a full overview of the property and its features. We booked an ayurvedic treatment package for 3 nights/4 days direct from the hotel, which was great value for money (2 treatments per day per person, and room with all meals included). Special mention for Mr. Teji, who was very nice and took the trouble of asking for any special requests we'd have during our stay. He made sure that the menu had a couple of mushroom dishes, and seafood was delightful as expected. We were interested in visiting the bird sanctuary nearby, but he rightly suggested that we wouldn't be able to sight much in there - instead put us on to a boatman (Mr. Sabu, an ex-army serviceman who now promotes responsible tourism in Kerala, and is a birding expert). That was one of the highlights of our trip. We were met at a small jetty at the crack of dawn, where Mr. Sabu rowed us along the perimeter of the sanctuary and through lake Vembanad - the sunrise was quite a sight, and we sighted a number of native birds, some of which I have no idea how he managed to identify/see!! Quite amazing. Food was very decent and variety was not bad either, though service at the buffet restaurant needs a bit more finessing, the staff are so kind at heart I would overlook that aspect. Every evening they had a cultural program, a kalaripayyattu demonstration one evening, mohini attam dance performance another, a ghatam session on a third.. and so on. There were a bunch of other activities we missed out on (because we were so busy relaxing) - basket weaving, pottery, etc., but we never got around to it. Last but not the least, the Ayurmana spa - each treatment was better than the previous, two masseuses would work in perfect coordination and we got a great rejuvenation therapy over 4 days - including the shirodhara, the rice and milk massage, a natural ingredient facial treatment, the traditional 'kizhi' (potli) massage, which was so relaxing I can't describe it in words. We slept like babies all 3 nights (and afternoons!) thanks to Dr. Nidhin and our wonderful masseuses. There's an evening sunset boat ride, a beautiful property to walk around in, evening high-tea with snacks, an infinity pool (which you don't need if you have your own private plunge pool with Jacuzzi, which is pure bliss). If you want more activity you can take a short car ride to the town of Kottayyam nearby, to see how locals live and shop for some traditional Kerala sarees while there. Thanks to all the staff and management at this resort, right from the housekeepers to the cleaning staff, front desk, restaurant et al, who made our experience so special and relaxing. Our airport drop was also perfectly smooth, and we even had time to stop for some yummy banana chips on the way. We hope to be back sometime!

Room tip: The meandering pool villas don't have much privacy - we preferred the lake view villas with in house plunge pool
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LifeandLeisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjayvklr, Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback about Kumarakom Lake Resort on Trip advisor.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We wish to express our sincere gratitude for the wonderful feedback you have offered for the team, our services and product. We are glad to know that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and we shall continue to focus on exceeding expectations of valuable guests such as yourself.

Thank you for your generous appreciation towards the Sunset cruise activities, authentic Kerala food, and the warm service from our team.Your feedback has been shared with the team especially with Teji and Dr. Nidhin and they are all enthused and thrilled to hear from you.

We all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to Kumarakom.

Warm Regards,
Sanjay Varma
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Wish we could have stayed longer and I will certainly return. Loved my private pool, the outside bathroom (not as unusual as it sounds) the delicious food and great service. I also thought the in-hotel boutique offered a good range of well made goods - great for a retail therapist!

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjayvklr, Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Kumarakom Lake Resort !

We would like to thank you for giving us your feedback on your stay.

We are glad to know that you had a memorable stay at our resort and enjoyed the stay in the room with private pool, delicious food and the warm service from our team. It is the positive feedback from our guests like you who inspire us in our pursuit for service excellence. We shall forward the same to our team.

Thank you for choosing our resort for your stay and we look forward to welcome you back.

Warm Regards,
Sanjay Varma
Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

This resort is perfect for taking a converted rice barge to the backwaters near Allepi. The boat is clean, great chef and friendly crew. 2 nights aboard exploring the lake and canals was maybe 1 night short. luxurious and totally relaxing. The resort has 2 pools and food is great but expensive

Room tip: pool villas are a must
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjayvklr, Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Kumarakom Lake Resort!

Thank you for staying with us in the House Boat at Kumarakom Lake Resort and reviewing us on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to read your review about the House Boat cruise, friendly, polite and helpful staff and their service!

It brings us immense pleasure to learn that you had a relaxing and a comfortable stay with us . Your remarkable review has been shared with our entire team.

Please accept our heartfelt gratitude and we look forward to welcome you again.

Warm Regards
Sanjay Varma
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

This beautiful place by the shores of Lake Vembanad has umpteen numbers of resorts -Kumarakom lake resort is located in idyllic setting where one can just relax.Enjoy the unique local cuisine.Far from the madding crowd a lovely place to stay for a holiday.Do take a cruise in those beautiful houseboats which have offers to suit every pocket.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Sudhir Kumar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjayvklr, Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Kumarakom Lake Resort to stay and reviewing us on this forum. We are delighted to read your review!

It brings us immense pleasure to learn that you had a relaxing and a comfortable stay with us . We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the activities in the resort and the warm hospitality from our team members. Your remarkable review has been shared with our entire team.

We look forward to have many more moments like these at Kumarakom Lake Resort as it an honour for us to be of service to you, always.

Warm Regards
Sanjay Varma
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff, beautiful facilities and delicious food in the Backwaters of Kerala. Afternnon complimenatary tea with snacks was a nice touch as was the welcome coconut drink. Music and dance provided for our enjoyment and beautiful floral arrangements enhanced the experience.

Room tip: We had a villa room on the meandering pool which was private and comfortable, well outfitted with a lovely open-air shower and bathroom.
Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjayvklr, Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Kumarakom Lake Resort!

We thank you for your wonderful comments and for taking the time in sharing your experience on TripAdvisor following your stay at our Resort. It was a pleasure to have you as our Guest and we appreciate that you chose our Resort as a preferred location for your holiday.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the stay in the room, delicious food , tea and snack from "Thattukada", and the warm hospitality from our friendly and helpful team.

It is our privilege to be of service to you and we certainly look forward to Welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Sanjay Varma
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews