We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort(Kumarakom)(Great Value!)
US$ 73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coconut Lagoon(Kumarakom)
US$ 168
US$ 142
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Aveda Kumarakom(Kumarakom)
US$ 165
US$ 118
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Backwater Retreat Theme House(Kumarakom)(Great Value!)
US$ 48
US$ 31
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Green Fields Kumarakom(Kumarakom)(Great Value!)
US$ 89
US$ 75
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Backwater Ripples(Kumarakom)(Great Value!)
US$ 73
US$ 68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 81/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Cocobay Resort(Kumarakom)(Great Value!)
US$ 64
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 177
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 200/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 191
US$ 155
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,953)
Filter reviews
1,953 results
Traveller rating
1,442
360
103
19
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,442
360
103
19
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmeandering poolsunset cruisemat weavingprivate poolbasket weavingluxury pavilion roomprince charlesheritage villasseafood restaurantparadise on earthlake resortpottery makingoutdoor bathroomevening teamain restaurantopen airour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 1,953 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2018

This resort is perfect for taking a converted rice barge to the backwaters near Allepi. The boat is clean, great chef and friendly crew. 2 nights aboard exploring the lake and canals was maybe 1 night short. luxurious and totally relaxing. The resort has 2 pools and food is great but expensive

Room Tip: pool villas are a must
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjayvklr, Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Kumarakom Lake Resort!

Thank you for staying with us in the House Boat at Kumarakom Lake Resort and reviewing us on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to read your review about the House Boat cruise, friendly, polite and helpful staff and their service!

It brings us immense pleasure to learn that you had a relaxing and a comfortable stay with us . Your remarkable review has been shared with our entire team.

Please accept our heartfelt gratitude and we look forward to welcome you again.

Warm Regards
Sanjay Varma
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

This beautiful place by the shores of Lake Vembanad has umpteen numbers of resorts -Kumarakom lake resort is located in idyllic setting where one can just relax.Enjoy the unique local cuisine.Far from the madding crowd a lovely place to stay for a holiday.Do take a cruise in those beautiful houseboats which have offers to suit every pocket.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sudhir Kumar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjayvklr, Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Kumarakom Lake Resort to stay and reviewing us on this forum. We are delighted to read your review!

It brings us immense pleasure to learn that you had a relaxing and a comfortable stay with us . We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the activities in the resort and the warm hospitality from our team members. Your remarkable review has been shared with our entire team.

We look forward to have many more moments like these at Kumarakom Lake Resort as it an honour for us to be of service to you, always.

Warm Regards
Sanjay Varma
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff, beautiful facilities and delicious food in the Backwaters of Kerala. Afternnon complimenatary tea with snacks was a nice touch as was the welcome coconut drink. Music and dance provided for our enjoyment and beautiful floral arrangements enhanced the experience.

Room Tip: We had a villa room on the meandering pool which was private and comfortable, well outfitted with a lovely open-air shower and bathroom.
Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjayvklr, Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Kumarakom Lake Resort!

We thank you for your wonderful comments and for taking the time in sharing your experience on TripAdvisor following your stay at our Resort. It was a pleasure to have you as our Guest and we appreciate that you chose our Resort as a preferred location for your holiday.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the stay in the room, delicious food , tea and snack from "Thattukada", and the warm hospitality from our friendly and helpful team.

It is our privilege to be of service to you and we certainly look forward to Welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Sanjay Varma
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

We stayed here inn FEB 2018. we stayed for three days, went to another location as part of our travel plans and then back to the Lake Resort for a spot of RnR before heading back to the UK.

We just loved this place.

We live in a tiny village in the UK and two other couples had already been to this hotel and recommended it. I am very pleased we listened.

Top highlight was the general ambience of the resort. It is very nicely situated, peaceful and in particular has a traditional feel it is with a lot of wood used in the décor.

there are two places to eat and we enjoyed the food in both. We are big fans of seafood and were extremely well catered for a la carte. The buffet option in the evening was also of a high quality. plenty of unusual pre and freshly cooked offerings: meat fish and of course oodles of vegetarian options.

The infinity pool was (1) stunning and (2) never busy. I became especially fond of a sleep in a swaying hammock post lunch.

I did yoga at dawn each day and loved the relaxation as well as the positions in the practice we shared for one hour. I would commend the instructor who has the most hypnotic voice.

I used the gym (not great but OK, bike, cross training, running machine all old and bit crappy really and free weights).

I would like to make two special mentions and they are both about staff.

First all staff get the thumbs up from me. Very kind, engaged, helpful. However my number one dude was HARI. He is absolutely fantastic at his job on the front desk. So on a professional level tick tick tick. However the real gem of Hari is his helpful, charming nature. He really contributed to our stay advising me on onward travel, troubleshooting said travel, ordering early breakfast, cars for early departure etc etc. ten gold stars.

We took the hotel car to the airport when we left and I would highly recommend that
too.

Don't think about it do it.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Phyl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjayvklr, Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Kumarakom Lake Resort!!

It has been our great pleasure to welcome you at Kumarakom Lake Resort and we thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay with us.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and we are humbled by your gracious compliments on the resort and its services. Positive comments from an experienced traveller such as yourself are most rewarding and will be shared with the entire team especially with Hari..

We sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again and the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Kumarakom Lake Resort in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Sanjay Varma
Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

We arrived by rice boat from Alleppey and landed at this resort - brilliant way to arrive at this paradise on the lake. The pool side rooms are elegant with historic furnishings based on the history of Kerala. Our pool room is at the end of a set of terraces which means it is rather quiet. We have a bathroom outside with the room as in keralan history bathrooms were outside. In the heat it doesn’t seem to matter and is rather refreshing. The whole resort has been built from restored original historic buildings from around Kerala and although the site is only 12 years old its buildings look centuries old and have a charm of their own. The food is the best keralan food choices we have had during our trip to southern India and the service is fantastic. This truly is a paradise and well worth a stay here.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sally186349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjayvklr, Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Kumarakom Lake Resort!

Thank you for taking out time to share your wonderful feedback for the comfortable and indulgent experience at Kumarakom Lake Resort.

It is truly a pleasure to know that you enjoyed the stay at the pool villa, Keralan food, activities and the warm service from our team. We have shared your feedback with our entire team, which is very encouraging.

We all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to Kumarakom.

Warm Regards,
Sanjay Varma
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews