We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,004)
Filter reviews
2,004 results
Traveller rating
1,489
363
104
19
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,489
363
104
19
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews meandering pool sunset cruise mat weaving private pool luxury pavilion room basket weaving prince charles heritage villas seafood restaurant paradise on earth lake resort pottery making outdoor bathroom open air main restaurant evening tea our honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 2,004 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2018

We had a gorgeous room with its own private plunge pool and a bathroom which opened out onto it. Everything had been thought of, down to the swimming towels which were changed whilst we were at dinner. The bar area overlooked the lake and you could go on a complimentary boat ride every evening. Dinner was a noisy affair as the hotel was pretty full, but it all seemed to work, although service was a bit slow. Breakfast was excellent and the only downside was that we weren't there long enough to enjoy all the amenities and activities on offer.

Room Tip: Some rooms open directly onto the swimming pool whilst others have a plunge pool.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kfrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjayvklr, Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Kumarakom Lake Resort!

We thank you for your wonderful comments and for taking the time in sharing your experience on TripAdvisor following your stay at our Resort. It was a pleasure to have you as our Guest and we appreciate that you chose our Resort as a preferred location for your holiday.

We are pleased to know that you had a fantastic and comfortable stay and appreciated our warm, friendly hospitality in addition to the resort facilities. Your feedback has been shared with the entire team, as it is motivating.

It is our privilege to be of service to you and we all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to Kumarakom.

Warm Regards,
Sanjay Varma
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018

This resort hotel is absolutely stunning. Beautiful architecture, gorgeous landscape, serene ambiance and drop dead views of the lake. We splurged with a Luxury villa with private pool, large and beautiful bedroom, sitting room, shower and open air copper bath and it was totally worth it! We enjoyed the Vembanad Seafood Restaurant in particular because our waiter, Kannane, was so attentive, efficient and eager to please. The seafood was very good although we did find the menu a bit limited. We were not impressed with Ettukettu, their specialty restaurant. The breakfast was very meager and the one dinner we had there the service was seriously slow and the food was disappointing. The houseboat trip (we did private) in which the hotel serves an amazing multi-course lunch is definitely worth doing - our best meal while we were at the resort. In general, one gets the feeling that the hotel is somewhat resting on its laurels. Service and food was not where it should be for a luxury hotel and the gym's equipment such as it was was probably 20 years old which was surprising for what is not an inexpensive hotel.

Room Tip: Meandering pool villas are beautiful and well located
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 306rl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjayvklr, Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Kumarakom Lake Resort!

Thank you for taking your valuable time & reaching out to write your wonderful review of Kumarakom Lake Resort and highlighting the areas that made your stay enjoyable. We are extremely pleased to note that you enjoyed the stay at the resort, House boat lunch cruise, beautiful architecture, gorgeous landscape, seafood from the "Vembanad" restaurant and the warm hospitality of our team member Kannan. We have taken the liberty to share your kind appreciation with the entire team especially with Kannan. Definitely your feedback motivates us to achieve higher standards of service.

With regards to your feedback we notice that there are certain areas that have scope for improvement. Your suggestion regarding the service and quality of food in the multi cuisine restaurant and regarding the gym equipment have been taken note of. Please be assured that the feedback given by you is being looked into. We are grateful to you for sharing your experiences so that we could make necessary amends at our end to provide you with excellent services to all our guests.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you back at Kumarakom Lake Resort.

Warm Regards
Sanjay Varma
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018

Stunning, gorgeous, amazing. But this is God given.

Food was not particularly outstanding.

Level of hygiene was in the dumps - filthy ice bucket sent to room with dried food still stuck on it!!! Disgraceful and disgusting!!! I’m stunned that a hotel at this level does not check that their utensils are clean before sending to a guest room !!!

Real noisy on roof through the night like something heavy was being dragged around over it. Water pressure failure while in the loo, several times. For what this hotel charges, it should install a generator and keep it on all the time !!!

Two types of villas - Poolside and heritage.

Poolside villas are on two levels and have a lazy river type pool running outside. Lakeside heritage villas are on one level and smaller. They have an infinity pool.

Our personal preference are the poolside villas.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank BigJohn32819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjayvklr, Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Kumarakom Lake Resort!!!

We would like to thank you for sparing your valuable time in giving us your feedback. Please allow us to apologise for the deficiency in services.

With regard to your feedback we notice that there are certain areas that have scope for improvement. Your concern regarding the level of hygiene and the noisy roof at night have been taken note of. Please be assured that the feedback given by you is being looked into. We are grateful to you for sharing your experiences so that we could make necessary amends at our end to provide with excellent services to all our guests .

It is the feedback from our guests like you who highlight the areas where we need to improve, that helps us to ensure that our guests have a comfortable and delightful stay with us, every time.

Thank you for staying with us and we sincerely look forward to having you back at Kumarakom Lake Resort.

Warm Regards

Sanjay Varma
Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018

Stunningly beautiful and relaxing resort on the Vembanad lake where life slows down and you can just breathe and drink in the soul soothing sites and sounds. The sunset cruise, lounging on a hammock at the infinity pool and stepping out of our villa into the soft refreshing waters of the meandering pool were just what we needed after several weeks touring India. The treatments at the Ayurvana were restorative and Ayurvedic medicine prescribed by the resident Dr Nidin gave almost instant relief to a stubborn bronchial infection. Accommodation was very comfortable with special outdoor bathrooms well appointed and stocked with luxurious bath products. Every need has been anticipated. Southern Indian cuisine at the restaurant was delicious with countless options. Impeccable service and warm hospitality on every level made for an extraordinary and memorable experience. We were very sad to leave and are already planning a return visit.

Room Tip: Villas along the meandering pool are really special.
Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank YBRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjayvklr, Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Kumarakom Lake Resort!

We thank you for your wonderful comments and for taking the time in sharing your experience on TripAdvisor following your stay at our Resort. It was a pleasure to have you as our Guest and we appreciate that you chose our Resort as a preferred location for your holiday.

We are pleased to know that you had a fantastic and comfortable stay and appreciated our warm, friendly hospitality and an incomparable level of service in addition to our hotel facilities like sunset cruise, meandering pool, ayurveda treatments, southern India cuisine at the restaurants etc. Your feedback has been shared with the entire team and they are all enthused and thrilled to hear from you.

It is our privilege to be of service to you and we all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to Kumarakom.

Warm Regards,
Sanjay Varma
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018

This has to be one of the most relaxing places to stay.Very well trained staff, nothing was to much trouble. Absolutely loved our rooms with pool access straight off our patio areas. Great outside bathrooms too. The views of the lake with the houseboats coming and going was great.Tea on the lawn in the afternoon was just lovely. Really enjoyed our dinners with lots of choice and breakfasts too. We could have started here for the rest of our holiday as we enjoyed it so much! Lovely well tended grounds too. Definitely will return totally loved it!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank VincePayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjayvklr, Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Kumarakom Lake Resort!

Thank you for taking out time to share your feedback for the comfortable and indulgent experience at Kumarakom Lake Resort.

It is truly a pleasure to know that you enjoyed the view from the resort, activities, excellent food and the warm service provided by our team. We have shared your feedback with our team, which is very encouraging.

We all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to Kumarakom.

Warm Regards,
Sanjay Varma
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews