We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,007)
Filter reviews
2,007 results
Traveller rating
1,492
363
104
19
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,492
363
104
19
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews meandering pool sunset cruise mat weaving private pool luxury pavilion room basket weaving prince charles heritage villas seafood restaurant paradise on earth lake resort pottery making outdoor bathroom open air main restaurant evening tea our honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
190 - 195 of 2,007 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

We had booked a villa we stayed here for 2 nights must say it’s totally worth every minute we have been there . What an amazing experience . Right from the time of check in staff in the hotel made us feel like we are at home . Guys chef in Multi cuisine restaurant you tell them what you want they will go out of the way to make sure you get the right kind of food .
And make sure you get pics clicked by Kavi he was so goood . Maju in Caricature . Pottery guys . Sunset boat ride . Evening high tea with authentic Keralan food amazing . Villa in the room has private pool and everything was taken care so nicely . I must say to every single team be it housekeeping , room service , reception ,concierge , bell boys you have really made this experience memorable for us . Thank you so much keep it up

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjayvklr, Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Kumarakom Lake Resort!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Kumarakom Lake resort on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to read your review and to learn that your experience at our Resort was a wonderful one.

I have taken the liberty to share your kind appreciation with the team especially with Kavi,Maju & Kannan, the potter, as it is feedback such as yours, that motivates us to achieve higher standards of service.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you back at Kumarakom Lake Resort on your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Sanjay Varma
Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile


We stayed in two heritage villas and spent four nights after 5 nights at the vivanta up the road
On the positives the resort is Very petty, nicely landscaped and on the edge of the lake and has a nice infinity pool
Some nice bird life and we enjoyed the sight of two otters fishing outside the vembabad restaurant
On the other hand Some things could be much better:
The villas lack privacy - built far too close to each other and the "plunge pools" in our villas were tiny
The open bathrooms are nice but ring fully open have loads of mosquitoes in the evening so remember to take repellent
Staff try hard and are eager to try and make your holiday comfortable

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Fred F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjayvklr, Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Kumarakom Lake Resort!

Thank you for taking your valuable time & reaching out to write a detailed and wonderful review of Kumarakom Lake Resort and highlighting the areas that made your stay enjoyable.

We are extremely pleased to note that you enjoyed the infinity pool, nice bird life around the resort & the warm hospitality of our team. Thank you for your kind words.

With regards to your feedback we notice that there are certain areas that have scope for improvement. Your suggestion regarding the same has been taken note of. Please be assured that the feedback given by you is being looked into. We are grateful to you for sharing your experiences so that we could make necessary amends at our end to provide you with excellent services to all our guests

We look forward to have many more moments like these at Kumarakom Lake Resort as it an honour for us to be of service to you, always.

Warm Regards
Sanjay Varma
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

Through the large wooden gates waited our tropical paradise.
Amazing resort and grounds; Didn't expect the resort attached to our house boat trip, but it was a welcome treat.
The check in was a little slow as we were tired after a long car journey from Kochi. But once aboard our boat built for two (and three staff) our complete India trip was at the perfection state.
The room with it's 24 hour AC, the same for the glassed in Dining room, the simplicity of the boat made this truly the highlight of the trip - due to it's utter beauty and relaxation.
George the Captain, full of smiles, Ruhul our butler always at the ready and the most wonderful DINHU the chef - how totally gifted he is! This trio made our 3 days and 3 nights so perfect. As we cruised along the back waters, navigated the largest lake in India, they told us just enough information, and gave us enough space to get lost in our contemplative tranquility.
We purchased our libations at the govt' store prior to; and that was a fun experience!
Jerome our driver with Incredible Real India Tours took GREAT care delivering us to the resort, after collecting us from the Kochi airport the night before; He was very helpful.
Anyway, all in all this resort is fantastic. Couldn't recommend it enough.

Room Tip: boat 305 is a lucky one!!!
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjayvklr, Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Kumarakom Lake Resort!

Thank you for staying with us in the House Boat at Kumarakom Lake Resort and reviewing us on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to read your review about the House Boat cruise, freshly prepared food, friendly, polite and helpful staff and their service!

It brings us immense pleasure to learn that you had a relaxing and a comfortable stay with us . Your remarkable review has been shared with our entire team especially with chef Dinu, George & Rahul.

Please accept our heartfelt gratitude and we look forward to welcome you again.

Warm Regards
Sanjay Varma
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

If you're looking for a holiday where you can just soak up the sun, do nothing other than eat, drink and sleep, this is a great place to be. You can easily spend 3 days in KKLR. Kumarakom gets hot and humid in the summers so winter is the best time to go. Kochi is the closest airport to Kumarakom.

We booked a regular room, a meandering pool room and a heritage villa.

The regular room is spacious, can easily accommodate 3 with an extra bed and has a Jacuzzi in an indoor bathroom. These rooms don't really have a view and is in the main building. You may be required to climb steps to get to your room.

The meandering pool villa is slightly smaller in terms of space. 3 people could result in this space being cramped. The bathroom is outdoor, which is awesome, and the balcony opens from your room directly into the meandering pool. This pool is common to all meandering pool villas. No jacuzzi here.

The heritage villa has a private pool and an outdoor bathroom. The corner of the private pool also has a small Jacuzzi. If you're looking to skinny dip, or you're on your honeymoon, this is the right one for you.

The resort has its own infinity pool which overlooks the backwater. If I were you, I'd just take a normal room and chill in the infinity pool. Nothing beats the view. The meandering pool villa and the heritage pool villa are quite expensive.

The resort is spread over a large area, if you're travelling with elderly people, please note that getting around can be painful. Most areas are however, wheelchair accessible. There are no elevators in the main areas.

The resort has hi-tea everyday between 4 to 6 PM which is complementary. The filter coffee is to die for. The snacks are ok. If you're staying at the resort for a long time, you will get bored.

There is a backwater cruise every evening which is also complementary. It goes around the backwater at sundown. It's a pleasant experience.

In terms of other activities, there isn't very much. You could try your hand at pottery, take a spa, play in the games room, but there isn't anything to do outside the resort. I would recommend taking a house boat from morning to evening one of the days. You will get to see wildlife and you will have a very good local lunch on board. I don't recommend spending the night on board. You will be plagued by mosquitoes and since the boats aren't allowed to move after 7 PM, not much to see either. Book this from outside the hotel and it will be cheaper.

I would also recommend that if you're going to or coming from Kochi, take the speed boat instead of the car. It's a super experience. And you'll land right at the hotel jetty.

The restaurants and the food at the hotel are good. Not the best I've seen at Kerala, but they'll do. There are only two, and if you're not used to spicy food, choose well. Evenings can bring in a lot of insects due to proximity to the backwaters and the flood lights. Please carry wraps and use repellents.

For more reviews, please follow my facebook page, instagram and twitter handle - @traveljetter.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank traveljetter2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjayvklr, Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback about Kumarakom Lake Resort on Trip advisor.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We wish to express our sincere gratitude for the wonderful feedback you have offered for the team, our services and product. We are glad to know that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and we shall continue to focus on exceeding expectations of valuable guests such as yourself.

We all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to Kumarakom.

Warm Regards,
Sanjay Varma
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

Beautiful resort on a great location. Rooms are also very nice. Enjoyed the stay. It is on the expensive side, but its totally worth it. One days stay is good enough too.
Their sunset cruise was also lovely...They have other activities too, like pottery, caricature etc...

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ramyarao1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjayvklr, Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Kumarakom Lake Resort!

We thank you for your wonderful comments and for taking the time in sharing your experience on TripAdvisor following your stay at our Resort. It was a pleasure to have you as our Guest and we appreciate that you chose our Resort as a preferred location for your holiday.

We are pleased to know that you had a fantastic and comfortable stay and appreciated our great location, rooms, sunset cruise, activities like pottery and mat weaving and an incomparable level of service. Your feedback has been shared with the entire team and they are all enthused and thrilled to hear from you.

It is our privilege to be of service to you and we all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to Kumarakom.

Warm Regards,
Sanjay Varma
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews