We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two nights wasn't long enough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kumarakom Lake Resort
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 December 2017

This Resort is wonderfully comfortable with great activities and staff who enjoy talking to and helping the guests. We enjoyed an entertaining, but futile attempt at fishing, tried the pottery and the mat weaving. These activities were included in the price of the room. Look forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: Room is well appointed and lacks for nothing and also has access to the swimming pool that meanders...
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pilitak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjayvklr, Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Kumarakom Lake Resort!

Thank you very much for sharing the feedback on your stay in Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you stayed with us at Kumarakom Lake resort. It is our pleasure to take care of our guests, so that they can enjoy their most beautiful days of their holidays. It is the positive feedback from our guests like you who inspire us in our pursuit for service excellence. We are glad to know you had a memorable stay with us.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you back at Kumarakom Lake Resort.

Warm Regards,
Sanjay Varma
Resident manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,865)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 65 of 1,865 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

Amazon oasis in India! Highly recommend to visit for any occasions! Great food! Exceptional service! Just paradise!
You can go ride the bikes around the resort and village to the Birds Sanctuary, yoga classes every morning at 8:00, a lot of other activities!! Good for families with the kids!!

Special thank you for host Kavi Arasan! He made our stay very enjoyable!! He took all those beautiful photos of us.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Marina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

The hotel creates a lot of hype since the stay of Prince Charles and Camilla. We found service levels to be inconsistent and at times below average. The property itself is beautiful and well taken care off but the staff really need to up their game with their service levels especially in the restaurant and front office. Houseboat experience was good but again, the service level needs to be improved- eg it will be nice to ask your guests once on board, if they want something to drink and at least have a decent selection on Board - coconut water, I would have thought would be a staple and basic. When after half hour, no one came to ask us if we wanted anything to drink, I went to the back looking for the staff to find both the waiter and the chef sleeping!
I can quote many more examples of sub optimal service but I will choose not too.
Management, you need to pull up your socks significantly.
Definitely not returning to this property.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank RKRSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjayvklr, Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Kumarakom Lake Resort !!

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay with us and sparing your valuable time in filling up the feedback form.
With regard to your feedback we notice that there are certain areas that have scope for improvement. Your suggestion regarding lapse in our service and the unexpected situation you have passed through has been taken note of. Please be assured that the feedback given by you is being looked into. We are grateful to you for sharing your experiences so that we could make necessary amends at our end to provide you with excellent services to all our guests . We apologize for the inconveniences caused and assure you the best for the future.

Thank you for staying with us and I look forward to having you back at Kumarakom Lake Resort.

Warm Regards,

Sanjay Varma
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017 via mobile

From the moment you step into the resort the entire experience of your stay is overwhelming. The resort is beautiful and very well maintained and seeing is believing. The entire staff is very courteous and well trained. No request from the guests is ever refused and they go out of there way to make u comfortable. Every staff member performs his duty to perfection. The buffet layout for both breakfast and dinner have a wide variety to satisfy varied tastes and the dishes are made to perfection. The specialty seafood restaurant was though a complete disappointment. A number of activities are lined up to keep the guests busy and the evening tea before the river cruise is totally enjoyable. All in all a wonderful Resort and would love to visit it again.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Brinda2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjayvklr, Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Kumarakom Lake Resort!

Thank you for taking out time to share your wonderful feedback for the comfortable and indulgent experience at Kumarakom Lake Resort.

It is truly a pleasure to know that you enjoyed the buffet meals at Ettukettu restaurant, activities around the resort and the warm hospitality from our team. We have shared your feedback with our entire team, which is very encouraging.

Your feedback with regards to the seafood restaurant has been taken note of . The observations mentioned have already been taken up with the concerned departments and corrective action has been taken.

We all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to Kumarakom.

Warm Regards,
Sanjay Varma
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017

A scenic paradise right on the side of lake Vembanad. We stayed in houseboat for a night and then two nights in meandering pool villa.

We felt really pampered on the houseboat, courteous crew of 4 for just two of us. The meals served on houseboat were fresh and really really delicious. The sailor took us to wherever we wanted to go in the backwaters and he parked houseboat at very scenic location for the night.

Now coming to resort, really scenic and well-maintained. Meandering pool is excellent concept and we enjoyed it very much. There are quite a good no. of activities for everyone - we tried our hand in mat weaving and pottery, and went for the relaxing evening boat cruise.

A beautiful experience to cherish and obviously we will be there again..!!! worth more than every penny spent.

Room Tip: Opt for Meandering Pool Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashish K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjayvklr, Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Kumarakom Lake Resort!

Thank you for staying with us at Kumarakom Lake Resort & House Boat and reviewing us on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to read your review about the House boat stay, activities, mat weaving, pottery, sunset cruise ,beauty of our resort and the warm service from our team.

Please accept our heartfelt gratitude and we look forward to welcome you again.

Warm Regards
Sanjay Varma
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
1.6 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
2.6 km away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
891 reviews
0.5 km away
Lake Palace Family Resort
Lake Palace Family Resort
#19 of 26 in Kumarakom
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
0.8 km away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
362 reviews
4.1 km away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kumarakom Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kumarakom Lake Resort

Address: Kumarakom North Post, Kumarakom 686 566, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kumarakom
#1 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range: ₹ 18,471 - ₹ 28,581 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kumarakom Lake Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kerala's leading resort by the side of famous Vembanadu lake, the largest backwaters of Kerala, located north of Kumarakom. An ideal backwater resort for honeymoon holidays, leisure holidays, family vacation, etc. All the villas are centrally air conditioned - There are 7 lake view heritage villa with plunge pools, 15 Heritage Garden view Villas with plunge pools, 26 meandering Pool Villas, 9 Luxury Pavillion Rooms with heated Jacuzzi, 2 Presidential Suite with private Pool and 4 Air conditioned House boats with 7 rooms. Air conditioned Conference hall with 85 Pax theatre style seating facility available. 100 seater restaurant with traditional Kerala architecture, 45 seater seafood restaurant with bar available. Kerala's traditional Ayurveda, Yoga, and backwater cruise facility available. The entire resort is Wi-Fi enabled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, MakeMyTrip, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly, ClearTrip, TravelClick, Agoda and TravelGuru so you can book your Kumarakom Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kumarakom Lake Hotel Kumarakom
Kumarakom Lake Resort Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing