We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“relaxing in luxury” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kumarakom Lake Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kumarakom Lake Resort
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
midlands
Level Contributor
127 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“relaxing in luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

We spent New Years eve '11/12 & 3 more days at this resort ( we were in the presidential suite )
during our stay from the tinniest thing to the biggest requirement we were fully looked after and pampered ! Their Massages are very well done and extremely relaxing
buffet selection of all meals was tremendous...cleanliness was upto mark interior designing etc was smashing ....the sunset boat ride was beautiful.
recommend it !!! we would go back .

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deeeeMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,617 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,171
    313
    88
    18
    27
See reviews for
547
689
29
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

Very peaceful place to stay in. Surrounded by water from all sides. Room and surrounding area is well maintained. I will recommend this hotel for stay if you want to sit in peace away from the rushing world.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ramanathan84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

1st June 2012 - 4th June 2012

It was a sudden thought that our family should go on for a vacation. Since the time was short, it was decided that we would go to Kumarakom Lake Resort (We had already done our research on this place sometime back) and hence it was easy for us to immediately book directly thru the resort’s Chennai office. Mr. Mani was our contact person and was excellent in the way he helped us and with that we were all set to fly to Kumarakom.

Resort, Stay, Service and Food:

1st June 2012 - We hit the airport and flew to Cochin very early in the morning. We had requested for a pickup from the resort. We were greeted by a representative in the airport and he was kind enough to welcome us and the said that the car is waiting. To our surprise, we were given an Innova however what we had asked for was Tata Indigo. This was a pleasant upgrade the hotel had done which was a nice touch and made us think that they go the extra mile.

The way to the resort was amazing and as said we really felt that it is "God's own Country". Tell me where you would see such greenery and the abundance of water. Way back in Chennai, there are parks and beaches, no complaints about Tamil Nadu, however Kerala’s nature took us by the natural canopy. We reached by about 9.30 AM to the resort, but as we are aware, our check in time is only by 2.00 PM in the afternoon. But we had requested earlier that we would need an early check in .We were greeted by the resort staff with a very warm smile and we were asked to relax for a while and we were treated with tender coconut which was very refreshing. Within an hour after we said we had a special request of an early check in, we were offered our room. In the meantime, we did venture out in to the resort and were checking on the place. We found that the resort is very nice and clean but not a very big property which we expected (Yeah it was only our expectation) but no big deal.

After we checked the place, we came back to the reception and we told that the room will be ready in another 5 minutes and bang on the rooms were ready and we checked into our private pool villa. We were lucky that we were given a villa which was close to the infinity pool which overlooked the Vembanad Lake which was one of our requests too. The front off staff did explain to us all the amenities in the room which was very good. The room was clean and neat with all the necessary stuff required for a family. We were then showed the private pool with the Jacuzzi and my daughter was so excited that she wanted to jump in right then This private pool which they call can actually be only called as a BIG PLUNGE Pool and not a private pool per say. The open shower idea was good, but did have its disadvantage for a family. If someone is swimming, then people can’t use the rest rooms :).

We saw the Meandering pool which was out of bounds to us since we stay in the private pool villas, hence can’t comment on this but the look of it, it was nicely done. The infinity pool was nicely done, but when you try to look down on the Vembanad Lake, you see a lot of growth and dirt; thank goodness there was no smell.

As a place Kumarakom, there isn’t much to be done as sightseeing, hence all the 3 nights and 4 days, we were inside the resort and spending the time with family, which was a much needed one and so we felt that we got undisturbed time for us. But if people are looking for some real good time to go out and experience places, then I don’t think I will suggest Kumarakom as a place.
It was afternoon and we were hungry and we went on to the multi cuisine and were greeted by the staff and made us to sit in a comfortable place. The amount of spread and the taste of food were well prepared. We enjoyed the food there for the next 3 days of our stay. Yeah, there was another restaurant, which was a sea food speciality restaurant. Being a vegetarian, we were not able to check out that restaurant. Though we thought if there had been another restaurant, it would have been good rather than going to the same one every day three times or at least knowing that we are vegetarian, they could have offered us a dinner at the lake side or a barbeque done near the infinity pool.

The service in the restaurant was impeccable. People need to learn the art of service from these people. The quality of the food and the taste was fantastic. As a person who is on a vacation, the primary stuff is food and this was well taken care off here. I need to mention about Hari here, who is the restaurant manager. His courtesy and smile and ever helping tendency were highly appreciable and a special thanks to him and his team for taking care of the most important stuff on our vacation.

Recreation:

The resort had small rabbits, which was a high attraction for my 7 year old daughter. She was constantly with them and playing. They also had a mat weaving and pottery making, but they were not of a great interest. They had the sun set cruise in an open boat, which was nice. This happens every day in the evening. Before hitting to the sun set cruise, we did make to the thattukada where the set up was like a normal tea shop, where we were served tea and snacks. This tea shop is very common for us being south Indians and we still enjoyed it, but many found it unique. But as such if there was a small park inside the resort, it would have been really nice where the kids can have a physical activity.

Over all:

A very good resort with a picture perfect place.

Caution:

Never try to go to this place in summer. You just can’t beat the heat and you would sweat it out completely and also would get a lot of sun burns. Yeah in spite of the resort giving you a pre warning of the same.

The other major issue is that since this resort is surrounded with water and lots of greens, mosquito is one major hazard. I did have my special bites and was suffering from it for about 3 days.

Room Tip: We did not experience the SPA just for the sake that the cost is way too high. The speed boat which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Praveen Kumar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

Pristine and breathtaking beauty is what this resort is all about! We loved our stay at the resort as well as one night at d luxury houseboat! We had a private chef all to ourselves which definitely felt gooood :D The boat was huge..loved d views of d v\Vembanad lake from d deck and those lovely antique chairs! We stayed in a meandering pool villa... and apparently d meandering pool at this hotel is one of the longest pools in any hotel in Asia i believe! It was a lovely feeling to just enter such a long meandering pool from d comfort of one's room! Even d bathrooms were rustic and charming and OPEN to d sky with some pebbles and greenery around! Extremely charming!!! D food was superb! We even tried our hands at some pottery! Also, there was a mesmerizing flute concert on a boat cruise we all went for one evening.... there were dark clouds in d sky that evening and d mighty vembanad lake... AH! Truly breathtaking! Kumarakom Lake Resort- a wonderful, wonderful small luxury hotel :D

Room Tip: Heritage villas are definitely far more luxe! with a private pool and are much bigger in size! but w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank divinedivs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

I couldnt think of a better caption to describe my stay. We were 4 adults booked in 2 rooms (Hertigae Villa with Private Pool) at the property. We had an all-inclusive package. My mom had a fracture in her leg but she was able to move around in a wheel chair. The hotel was very kind to organize a wheel-chair for her for the entire stay. All through the stay whenever she needed to venture out (which was about 4-5 times in a span of 4 days) they used to send someone to assist her. For us this was indeed the clincher. Special mention for Kavi (who manages the coconut stall at the property). He is extremely curtious and knows how a wheel chair operates and how to move it around. Seemed professional !! Excellent guy...

I'll briefly describe each feature of the property / service below.

Airport Pick-up / Drop - We were 4 adults and therefore had a Innova sent to us at Kochi Airport. The transfer was pretty smooth. John (our driver) was quite good. The car ride was comfortable. The road journey took us about 2.5 hrs but the roads are quite comfortable and scenic.

Check-in - We reached early since we took an early morning flight. We hung around the reception area and finished the check-in formalities. They served us awesome Coconut Water which was very refreshing. The hotel was sold-out so we were able to get our rooms only by 12-1230. No complains against that. They cant help it if rooms are occupied.

Rooms - The rooms are located slightly away from the reception / restaurant area. More closer to the Lake. Our room was fairly large with a king-size bed. There was a nice bench to sit on along with chairs. The wardrobe was pretty big as well. The bathroom was out in the open along with the private pool (incl Jacuzzi). The pool was small but comfortable and good enough for 2 people. Its more of a place to plunge and relax. The Air-Conditioning was pretty good. We were there right before the rains and it was still very humid so this was a good relief.

Evening Tea / Snacks
Every evening the hotel organized a tea-coffee / snacks in the open lawn outside the main restaurant. The Coffee, as expected, was exceptional. We were a bit disappointed with the snacks though as they were almost always quite cold. No fun in that.

Sunset Cruise
They also organized a sunset cruise every evening. It was a large barge with chairs and some live music on board. They sailed for an hour and provided some amazing sunset views as well as the lush greenery all around. Fantastic experience. Do not miss this.

Spa / Massage
We had 2 massages per room included in our package. This was pretty good. The Spa is quite good and the people are well trained. We had a good relaxing time here.

Food at Restaurants
The place has 2 restaurants. One - Sea Food Speciality and other the Main Restaurant. Being Veggies we explored only the Main Restaurant. All the meals had a good variety of servings. Being Kerala they used to always have 3-4 South Indian specialities. While the overall variety was great we werent totally happy with the food. Besides the South Indian food, the other stuff was quite below par. The desserts especially were not really great at all. This is one place where I felt there was no value for money. The food was truly below 5 star category while their charges were more then even Taj Vivanta next door.

Service
I was truly surprised and amazed at the level of service. The entire staff was very helpful and always tried their best to please the guests.

Overall Expereince
I think if they work a bit on the food (which is not really a difficult task) then this place will be top notch. Rest all is already in place in terms of rooms / location / service and efficient staff. I would recommend this property to anyone looking for a nice quiet place to relax. And I forgot to mention - the hotel has benches on the banks of the lake. This is a superb place to sit in the evening, sip on a drink and watch the sunset... its breathtakingly beautiful !!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great and spacious. If you have the budget then take a room with a private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saneguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
1.6 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
2.7 km away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.0 km away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort
2.1 km away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#7 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
2.4 km away
The Zuri Kumarakom
The Zuri Kumarakom
#6 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kumarakom Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kumarakom Lake Resort

Property: Kumarakom Lake Resort
Address: Kumarakom North Post, Kumarakom 686 566, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,809 - ₹ 26,967
Hotel Class:5 star — Kumarakom Lake Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kerala's leading resort by the side of famous Vembanadu lake, the largest backwaters of Kerala, located north of Kumarakom. An ideal backwater resort for honeymoon holidays, leisure holidays, family vacation, etc. All the villas are centrally air conditioned - There are 7 lake view heritage villa with plunge pools, 15 Heritage Garden view Villas with plunge pools, 26 meandering Pool Villas, 9 Luxury Pavillion Rooms with heated Jacuzzi, 2 Presidential Suite with private Pool and 4 Air conditioned House boats with 7 rooms. Air conditioned Conference hall with 85 Pax theatre style seating facility available. 100 seater restaurant with traditional Kerala architecture, 45 seater seafood restaurant with bar available. Kerala's traditional Ayurveda, Yoga, and backwater cruise facility available. The entire resort is Wi-Fi enabled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, ClearTrip and Agoda so you can book your Kumarakom Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kumarakom Lake Hotel Kumarakom
Kumarakom Lake Resort Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing