We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Different but Very Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kumarakom Lake Resort
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Different but Very Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

We enjoyed the Kumarakom Lake Resort although it was more "earthy" than many of the hotels we stayed in during our India trip. The bathroom was outside and while private, it was too open for my liking. The heavy wooden doors with big locks were harder to work. The room itself was large and nice but somewhat rustic. The grounds were very pretty, and we enjoyed our meals there. We also had enjoyable entertainment on the grounds. Mosquitoes were kept at bay by frequent sprayings.

If you stay here, be sure and walk around the neighborhood and meet the children and families who are out. It is a warm, interesting area which give you a good view of the people and culture and the way they live there. People in our group brought pens and candy for the children which they loved.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JTJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,188
    321
    90
    18
    27
See reviews for
559
698
29
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (553)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, Delhi, India
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

A stunning location and beautiful hotel”
This was by far the best hotel of our stay in Kerala combining style, comfort and location all to a high degree. I recommend the huge Luxury Pavilion room that we had (505) for it's lovely views over the gardens from the floor to ceiling windows and it's bathroom with full size jacuzzi. The views over the lake at sunset are wonderful, the pool is a good size, and afternoon tea is served in the lovely gardens. Only real complaint is the cost and limited options for dining (we were put off the buffet by the mass catering feel). The barbeque never seemed to happen so that left us with the seafood restaurant which was fine for two nights but may have paled for any longer. Their premium houseboat maintains the high standards and makes for a wonderful trip around the lake but I have to say the food, though mostly good, was embarrassingly excessive.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HCSC_GRAINS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

This was by far the best hotel of our stay in Kerala combining style, comfort and location all to a high degree. I recommend the huge Luxury Pavilion room that we had (505) for it's lovely views over the gardens from the floor to ceiling windows and it's bathroom with full size jacuzzi. The views over the lake at sunset are wonderful, the pool is a good size, and afternoon tea is served in the lovely gardens.
Only real complaint is the cost and limited options for dining (we were put off the buffet by the mass catering feel). The barbeque never seemed to happen so that left us with the seafood restaurant which was fine for two nights but may have paled for any longer.
Their premium houseboat maintains the high standards and makes for a wonderful trip around the lake but I have to say the food, though mostly good, was embarrassingly excessive.

Room Tip: Luxury Pavillion room 505 was wonderful if you are happy to share the pool - villas seemed rather da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YshaCB21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed in a private pool villa. The private pool was the best part and the children loved it. It is 4 ft deep so if you have very young children then keep a close eye on them. Our villa was the one nearest the infinity pool and we had lovely views of the Vembanad lake. The room was spacious and accommodated the extra bed comfortably. The basket of fruits and a tray of kerala condiments was replenished daily. The open air bathroom had all the amenities you would need from a 5 star - just need to be careful of the bugs that drop by in the evening. The food was average and especially vegetarian food had limited options (we had a vegetarian in the group). The resort has plenty of space to walk around and its many small bridges over the small canals made it exciting for the kids. The evening cruise looked like it might be fun - we did not take it since we were due on the houseboat. The evening tea stall is a must-do for lovely tea and views. The potter is also a must-visit.
The highlight of the trip was the night on the houseboat. After 6 hours of cruising the lake, a village walk, and an awesome lunch, we docked at a very private location for the beautiful sunset. We were lucky to get upgraded to the 2-bed houseboat which we had to ourselves. It is very spacious and has enough space for the children to run around. It also has a glass enclosed dining space which ensures that once you dock for the night the bugs don't get to you. It had a DVD player on board which kept the children busy after dark. The 3 member staff on the boat was excellent and did everything to make our stay very comfortable.

Room Tip: We stayed in villa 203 near the pool and it will be very good for families with children (who will k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shwetalshub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

An unusual resort with attached units set along a meandering swimming "pool." You can walk out the back door, down the stairs, and into the water. Some rooms were a long walk from the main area. The bathrooms are outdoors, covered, but not air conditioned or protected from bugs [they do spray the property a lot]. They use an ancient lock and key set-up that is very frustrating to try to lock. Some rooms are near the fence that separates the property from the town and are noisy as children play nearby. Internet patchy and TV stations awful. Nice lake cruises available.

Room Tip: Stay reasonably close to main lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JC-912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
1.6 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
2.6 km away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
6.9 km away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#7 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
4.1 km away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
2.3 km away
The Zuri Kumarakom
The Zuri Kumarakom
#6 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kumarakom Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kumarakom Lake Resort

Property: Kumarakom Lake Resort
Address: Kumarakom North Post, Kumarakom 686 566, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,592 - ₹ 22,229
Hotel Class:5 star — Kumarakom Lake Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kerala's leading resort by the side of famous Vembanadu lake, the largest backwaters of Kerala, located north of Kumarakom. An ideal backwater resort for honeymoon holidays, leisure holidays, family vacation, etc. All the villas are centrally air conditioned - There are 7 lake view heritage villa with plunge pools, 15 Heritage Garden view Villas with plunge pools, 26 meandering Pool Villas, 9 Luxury Pavillion Rooms with heated Jacuzzi, 2 Presidential Suite with private Pool and 4 Air conditioned House boats with 7 rooms. Air conditioned Conference hall with 85 Pax theatre style seating facility available. 100 seater restaurant with traditional Kerala architecture, 45 seater seafood restaurant with bar available. Kerala's traditional Ayurveda, Yoga, and backwater cruise facility available. The entire resort is Wi-Fi enabled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, ClearTrip, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Agoda and Yatra so you can book your Kumarakom Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kumarakom Lake Hotel Kumarakom
Kumarakom Lake Resort Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing