We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Memorable family holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kumarakom Lake Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kumarakom Lake Resort
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Memorable family holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed in a private pool villa. The private pool was the best part and the children loved it. It is 4 ft deep so if you have very young children then keep a close eye on them. Our villa was the one nearest the infinity pool and we had lovely views of the Vembanad lake. The room was spacious and accommodated the extra bed comfortably. The basket of fruits and a tray of kerala condiments was replenished daily. The open air bathroom had all the amenities you would need from a 5 star - just need to be careful of the bugs that drop by in the evening. The food was average and especially vegetarian food had limited options (we had a vegetarian in the group). The resort has plenty of space to walk around and its many small bridges over the small canals made it exciting for the kids. The evening cruise looked like it might be fun - we did not take it since we were due on the houseboat. The evening tea stall is a must-do for lovely tea and views. The potter is also a must-visit.
The highlight of the trip was the night on the houseboat. After 6 hours of cruising the lake, a village walk, and an awesome lunch, we docked at a very private location for the beautiful sunset. We were lucky to get upgraded to the 2-bed houseboat which we had to ourselves. It is very spacious and has enough space for the children to run around. It also has a glass enclosed dining space which ensures that once you dock for the night the bugs don't get to you. It had a DVD player on board which kept the children busy after dark. The 3 member staff on the boat was excellent and did everything to make our stay very comfortable.

Room Tip: We stayed in villa 203 near the pool and it will be very good for families with children (who will k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shwetalshub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,126
    302
    84
    18
    26
See reviews for
531
658
28
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

An unusual resort with attached units set along a meandering swimming "pool." You can walk out the back door, down the stairs, and into the water. Some rooms were a long walk from the main area. The bathrooms are outdoors, covered, but not air conditioned or protected from bugs [they do spray the property a lot]. They use an ancient lock and key set-up that is very frustrating to try to lock. Some rooms are near the fence that separates the property from the town and are noisy as children play nearby. Internet patchy and TV stations awful. Nice lake cruises available.

Room Tip: Stay reasonably close to main lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JC-912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faridabad
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Well, Once we left from Leela, Kovalam , we headed straight towards Kumarakom lake resort(KLR). Dates of Stay : 21st Jan 2012 to 23rd Jan 2012

The approach to the resort has a very good scenic view with paddy fields on either side and a slim road approaching to the same.

Moment we entered we could see a Wooden Jungle covered with Green Bushes all around and it really made me feel happy and proud that I chose the resort to spend my days forward.

We were again welcomed by Coconut water and hygenic extra cool towels to refresh ourselves.

Again we were escorted to our Villa and I must say that the approach to the villa was awesome . KLR has allowed the lake water to seep into their property and with canals all around it made me feel really fresh.

Coming to the Villa , Decor was all kerala Specific with huge door locks & I must say I have seen the Biggest key ever available for personal use :-)

The villa had an open bathroom which might not be comfortable for everyone , but the same was okay. It also had a private and small swimming pool and I was amazed to see the maintenance of the same--awesome....

One thing to ensure there are the flies during the night time, there are lot of them and also in the swimming pool water. Infact I could see the Lizards on the walls surrounding the villa.However the same didn't kill my excitement at all.

During evening,resort arranged a cruise for all guests on the lake so as to see the sunset.It was completely a different experience altogether coupled with Live Music on the Deck.

Coming to the food it was very good and hygenic and I loved it.

Next Day we had a Booking in the Premium Houseboat of KLR and I loved the stay in there too.
Before checking into the Houseboat , we were asked what all dishes we would perfer in lunch and dinner and the same were served to us during our stay there.

A private Houseboat for us there and we were sailing on water for next 6 hours. KLR provided us with two Captains and a lovely Chef"Pradeep" ... I cannot forget his name as he made our stay memorable. Comparing all other locations and stays during my honeymoon he served us the best food and it was Divine eating food.

Lot of North Indians might feel that kerala is all about dosas and sambhars... Well No....I ate one of the best Homely Chapatis on the HouseBoat.

View of the lakes with both sides covered with paddy fields was really scenic and all we could hear were birds all around us.

Our Boat was to be stationed at Allepey, however Just from the security point of Perspective and we had to start for another spot, I asked the captain to park our ship right next to the resort.

During night it was like staying on the houseboat with all amenities of resort (Remember I got this tailormade for me on the spot).

Suggestions : I Spoke to lot of people there and all of them had a view about the security of the villa. Specially if one is dipping in the pool then he/she might feel that theres every possible chance of they getting photographed--For the comfort of the guests , a plate shall be hung on the wall right in front of the pool ensuring that security is ample and its safe to enjoy the lovely water..

Second , Yellow Bulbs didnt make me feel good. Also Lighting definitely needs some work as villa I found was not well lit and it was all yellow.

Third, I didnt like the grey walls inside, KLR is a pure fun resort so a vibrant color on the walls would really make guests feel happy.

Overall , I thank KLR for making our stay memorable and I would definitely come there again.

Well, do not miss to learn Pottery there in the resort and click some good postcard images.

Cheers !!!!

Room Tip: All rooms have a good view, go for Premium Villas with private pool. Rest need not bother they are v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kunal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The highlight of our stay at Kumarakom was the night we spent on their houseboat on the backwaters. It was wonderfully relaxing to float along, watching life unfold on the banks. Our personal on-board chef prepared a delicious dinner. We had to escape from the deck at night to get away from the bugs, but otherwise a perfect interlude. The rest of our stay at the resort was a bit too 'resorty' for our taste: too many people, too large a communal dining area, too many rooms too close together. The resort is in a beautiful location and the spa was very good. The food was not. We had the worst meal of our entire 3-week trip at the lakeside restaurant. It is a great place to visit with kids, but not somewhere we would return as a couple.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JezebelleH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

we had 1 night on a beautiful houseboat with air con from this resort on our tour of Kerala with Musafir Tours (highly reccommended)

The trip was peaceful and very beautiful. We were cared for by a crew of 3, fabulous food, (althoguh far too much), and we had a really good night sleep on the lovely comfy large bed in the air con cabin.

Cruising on the lake is lovely and a real must on a tour of this beautiful country.

Back at the resort we had a lovely breakfast in the hotel. Excellent choice of every kind of thing you could possibly need at breakfast time

Room Tip: Air con and sealed dining room a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naughtydel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
1.6 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
2.7 km away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#1 of 25 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
1.8 km away
Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
0.0 km away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
2.4 km away
The Zuri Kumarakom
The Zuri Kumarakom
#6 of 25 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kumarakom Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kumarakom Lake Resort

Property: Kumarakom Lake Resort
Address: Kumarakom North Post, Kumarakom 686 566, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,673 - ₹ 77,936
Hotel Class:5 star — Kumarakom Lake Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kerala's leading resort by the side of famous Vembanadu lake, the largest backwaters of Kerala, located north of Kumarakom. An ideal backwater resort for honeymoon holidays, leisure holidays, family vacation, etc. All the villas are centrally air conditioned - There are 7 lake view heritage villa with plunge pools, 15 Heritage Garden view Villas with plunge pools, 26 meandering Pool Villas, 9 Luxury Pavillion Rooms with heated Jacuzzi, 2 Presidential Suite with private Pool and 4 Air conditioned House boats with 7 rooms. Air conditioned Conference hall with 85 Pax theatre style seating facility available. 100 seater restaurant with traditional Kerala architecture, 45 seater seafood restaurant with bar available. Kerala's traditional Ayurveda, Yoga, and backwater cruise facility available. The entire resort is Wi-Fi enabled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Stayzilla, ClearTrip, Expedia, Agoda and TravelGuru so you can book your Kumarakom Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kumarakom Lake Hotel Kumarakom
Kumarakom Lake Resort Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing