We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boating in Backwaters was once in a lifetime experience-Ashish Magar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake View House Boats
Certificate of Excellence
Pune
1 review
“Boating in Backwaters was once in a lifetime experience-Ashish Magar”
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Backwaters Cruising - Excellent. Once in a lifetime experience
Candlelight Dinner - Candle light Dinner was w/o candle as we were told by crew members that due to mosquito we need to have the dinner early(8pm) which spoiled the overall night
Service - OVerall service was satisfactory as the crew members were in a hurry to serve lunch, Snacks and Dinner. Crew members shld atleast wait for the guests to settle down instead of hurrying
Air Conditioner - We were strictly told by crew members not to switch on the A/C b4 7pm. But we were feeling the humidity from 5 pm. Very Bad
Food - This was the only 1 thing that I liked in the overall Backwaters trip.
Boat Ganga - This is a very old boat with not so good condition. In midway Boat engine stopped working and we're stradded in water for 15-20 mins. Crew members adjusted something with the help of rope after which the boat strated to sail again but with minimum speed. They should atleast check the condition of boat before cruising.
Crew members - Crew members could only understand local language due to which we're not able to get lot of things and had to keep silent. Atleast crew members shld be able to speak National Language (Hindi)
Room - Room in the boat was very congested
Room Decoration - It was told earlier in the Trip Iternary about Flower decoration but we could not find any flowers except for some Vas in which roses were kept. Whole meaning for Flower decoration was changed. Atleast pls avoid writing in Iternary if this is not covered

Overall except for the Backwater cruising and food whole Houseboat experience was not so good as we had expected and heard from our references who had visited earlier.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshishMagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    78
    12
    5
    0
See reviews for
123
96
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Houseboat experience is one of an unforgetful experience. Extremely exciting and superb. Crew members was super friendly and helpful. Food was awesome, delicious and fresh, felt like we overate coz it was too good to waste it. It was truly a wonderful stay in backwater, very relaxing and stress realeasing. Wish to go again when there's another chance.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laxmi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I went dumarakom for our honeymoon trip and stayed at Lake view house boat for more than 24 hours. I must say over all experience was really fantastic and we enjoyed a lot with crew members.

- House boat was clean and interior was also good
- Staff was friendly
- Food was good

I recommend them for family, honeymoon or any type of trip :)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jigneshgohel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We had a day & night stay at lake view houseboat from alleppy to kumarakom.We were little late to check in due to delay in reaching at Alleppy .It was a exiciting experience when we checked in & started cruising.we had a good food in the afternoon.nicely cooked south indian style fish & rice,sambhar etc.all enjoyed including my parents.Tea in the evening & at night at some point
we had a halt.prior to that by 6 pm we had photo/shoot etc during sunset.it was a great feeling.
unexpectedly we did not have much problem of mosquitos at night.only thing there was disel/petrol smell when A/C was on.
in the early morning we enjoyed sunrise & breakfast,pleasant weather,birds,lotuses on the way to kumarakom.
people on the houseboat were nice,cooperative.
it was a great experience altogether but one should check in at proper time to enjoy as in our case we got in & started b the time it was 2.30 pm & then approx 1 hr waiting for lunch & after 2 & 1/2 to 3 hrs it was getting dark & we halted by 5.30 to 6 pm.Again by 1 to 1 1/2 hr
it was final destination that was kumarakom.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
51 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

It was a wonderful stay in backwater of kumarakom. house boat is well equipped. Staff is very good, they also stops at various location where you can buy fresh seafood, kerala massage etc. food quality is very good, excellent location and relaxation.

Room Tip: hire for small boat for better privacy and time flexibility
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tejendra_gohel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kumarakom
6.6 km away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
2.0 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
4.0 km away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
691 reviews
0.4 km away
Kumarakom Lake Resort
Kumarakom Lake Resort
#4 of 26 in Kumarakom
1,678 reviews
15.2 km away
Cosy Houseboats
Cosy Houseboats
#11 of 155 in Alappuzha
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake View House Boats? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake View House Boats

Property: Lake View House Boats
Address: Near Govt Boat Jetty | Kumarakom, Kumarakom 686566, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Kumarakom
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,356 - ₹ 15,486
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake View Houseboat, pioneers in Kerala Backwater cruise, starts its operation During 2002. We have 6 houseboats with a total of 12 rooms for renting. We are located at Kumarakom Govt Boat Jetty, Kumarakom Kerala. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lake View House Boats Kumarakom, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing