We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Experience!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Indore, India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Experience!!”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

After a lot of research I chose Abad Whispering as one of my stay in Kumarakom. The resort proved to be right selection too. It’s a beautiful resort with good views of Vembanda Lake. The staff and service equally match too. Food is of good quality and much cheaper compared to the resorts nearby. I tried massage there which was also worth the money.

Lake View rooms give real good view of the Vemabanda Lake. Garden/Lagoon View rooms are good too. Bamboo Rooms and Villas are little far from the lake though you might find them a good experience.

The only thing that I did not like there was the lagoon inside the resort, which looked rather dirty. Overall the experience was very good. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Go for Lake View Rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ankit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    308
    84
    29
    23
See reviews for
328
261
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Stayed here 2 nights with my wife and 4 friends in Lake fronting rooms in on new years eve and new years day. We had done a 2 day cruise on a houseboat and we got dropped off at Whispering Palms.
What was good:
The lake views, sunsets, food and friendly staff. Manager is very switched on. The gardens are well maintained, pool is well designed and has beautiful outlook of lake. The sunset view from the pool is wonderful.
Entertainment on New Years Eve was lots of fun
Not so good part:
We stayed here in 2009 and felt the resort was not as nice now, ie. it is starting to look a little tired and could do with some refreshing.
We had to wait along time to get into our rooms.
There is no enforcement of any basic rules at the pool. The pool water smelt a bit and didn't seem to be chlorinated daily.
If you want an alcoholic drink, bring your own as they strictly enforce the NO alcohol served rule.
There is nothing to do outside of the resort.

Room Tip: If you want an alcoholic drink, bring your own as they strictly enforce the NO alcohol served rule.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidCarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

This was the last leg of our honeymoon journey and I had carefully planned to have Whispering Palms as the last stoppage on our way to the Kochi Airport. Turned out that my plan exceeded expectations. This is a dream come true place for all the honeymooners and couples. Fantastci location and amazing solitude.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the lakeside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank viren_phocus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We stayed here for one night as part of our Kerela tour and this hotel was excellent.

On arrival the setting immediately grabs you with the view of the swimming pool and the stunning lake stretching behind it.

The food was good with a wide range on the buffet and excellent A la carte options too.

We had a view of the lake from the patio outside our room and watching the sunset from there was very relaxing. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arnoldrothstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Abad Whispering Palms was a welcome surprise after travelling from Kochi via Munnar, Thekkady to Kumarakom. Sleeping over at 5 different hotels on our way, we were actually appalled by the standard of the so called mid range hotels in India. Don't expect hotels in India to be on the same standard as their counterparts in Western countries:They are usually no 'eye candy', not located in a nice spot and most are poorly maintained and they are in general dirty and unhygienic.
Abad Whispering Palms was everything that all the others were not. It was lovely positioned on the fringe of the backwaters with a wonderful view of the large expanse of water from the crystal clear infinity rim swimming pool. Rooms were set in beautiful large gardens (an absolute rarity in India) creating a welcome and tranquil escape from the poor living just outside the gates. Beggars are also getting a real problem as they confronted you around every corner in India.
The food at the restaurant was excellent and the staff friendly and unobtrusive.
If you really feel like visiting India, Abad Whispering Palms is one of those rare gems that must be on your itinerary.
We have visited December 2011.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Venambad lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monkeyman717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
1.5 km away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
702 reviews
5.5 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
4.7 km away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#7 of 26 in Kumarakom
714 reviews
9.4 km away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
1.1 km away
Paradise Resorts
Paradise Resorts
#13 of 26 in Kumarakom
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort

Property: Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
Address: New Nazarath Road, Kumarakom 686563, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,512 - ₹ 8,315
Hotel Class:3 star — Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abad Whispering Palms is located at Kumarakom the most exotic resort destination in Kerala right on the bank of the Vembanadu Lake in natural back water surroundings. Situated amidst natural backwater setting, it is a place where you can relax and bask in the luxury of tranquility. Well- designed accommodation including Bamboo Pool Villa/Cottage with private pool, Lagoon/ Garden Facing Cottages, and ,Suite Room in tranquil, serene landscaped setting to guarantee rejuvenation. We have hotels and resorts all over kerala, Indi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, EaseMyTrip, Booking.com, TravelGuru, Yatra, Hotels.com, ClearTrip and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Hotel Kumarakom
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort Kumarakom, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing