We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This lagoon is a must see”
Review of Coconut Lagoon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coconut Lagoon
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“This lagoon is a must see”
Reviewed 30 May 2012

I was at this resort with 2 old ladies - my mother and my aunt and a great friend. Because, I have been to Kumarakom earlier, I knew what to expect BUT I was wrong! This was a totally out of the world experience - sparsely populated, great service, beautiful rooms but to top it all - superb ambience!

Beginning with the ride to the resort, till the time we checked out, every moment was like an experience in itself. After the ladies went to sleep, we trekked around in the property at night, met friendly security guards who gave us local tips, sat and discussed our past lives in a clear moonlit sky, went snake hunting, met a diehard Newcastle United fan (the first I met - till then, I thought they were rumored to exist) etc etc etc. We had planned for one noght only - and hence had too much to accomplish in 24 hrs - something which we just managed...

This is a complete package - go experience it if you have the money, because it is expensive!

The only area where they could have done a tad better was the food - the menu was limited, and North Indian cuisines hardly matched the palate... But overall, hats off to this place - I plan to be there this year as well with my family.

Room Tip: Rooms at the far end - facing the water. And yes, if you have the money, choose one of those lavish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gautam2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anjali T, Vice President Marketing at Coconut Lagoon, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear Guest,
Thanks for posting a review of your stay with us at Coconut Lagoon.
We are glad that while you had already visited Kumarakom, Coconut Lagoon was still able to delight you with the authencity of experiences offered. We are sorry you weren't too happy with the North Indian fare offered on the menu. While we try and offer cuisine and experiences that essentially emerge from the land we are based in, we also offer a bigger selection for some guests who might want a change and we shall definitely endeavour to better our efforts at it.
Regards,
Anjali Tolani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    826
    275
    62
    16
    11
See reviews for
333
552
40
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

My stay at the Coconut Lagoon was easily one of my best. If you are looking for a unique and exclusive experience, I would highly recommend spending at least a couple of nights here.

Honestly, I don't want to describe my experience in detail because it would take away from your personal experience :-) It's not their amazing location on Vembanad lake next to a bird sanctuary or the thoughtfully designed eco-friendly yet modern property that impressed me so much, rather it's their warm welcome and superb service that blew me away. Passion about their environment and true, warm hospitality is part of the culture here.

Just go there and immerse yourself in their environment, you'll not want to come back!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelKaushik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anjali T, Vice President Marketing at Coconut Lagoon, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear Guest,
Thanks so much for your beautifully written review of Coconut Lagoon as also for keeping the intrigue alive for future guests to the destination. We hope to see you back here many more times in the future.
Regards,
Anjali Tolani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
173 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Super romantic and stunning backwater hotel on island. Ideal for romantic couples to experience the backwaters or for pre/post houseboat stay.

Service: Excellent, very friendly and professional staff!

Price/Rates: Accommodation mid-range but worth every cent. Restaurant/Bar reasonable. Full board Ayurveda packages available but expensive comparing to other hotel offerings. Individual Ayurveda treatments expensive.

Location: Access to hotel by boat, hotel on the backwaters with waterways between rooms. Very romantic and attractive. Peaceful, romantic, pretty, quiet.

Food/Restaurant: Very good main restaurant and speciality fish restaurant – very good service. Poolside bar offers great seafood lunch at very reasonable price.

Facilities/Activities: Plenty to do and many activities included – cooking demonstrations, bird watching, dragon fly watching, canoe and boat rides, games room, Ayurveda talks, village walks etc . Daily complimentary 1 hour yoga class in the mornings – good Yoga Master. Kerali (martial art) demonstration and classes a couple of times per week. Nice grounds with pretty gardens, hammocks and swings. Stunning birdlife and plenty eagles. Great pool with view over backwaters and Spa-like Ayurveda Center.

Rooms: Traditional Kerala bungalow style. Stylish, spacious, clean and very comfortable – all with verandas and garden/water views. Stunning outdoor bathrooms.

Ayurveda: Very friendly and competent Doctor and Therapists. The Ayurveda Centre will appeal to westerners seeking a less authentic (hospital like) and more spa-type experience. Clean and stunning treatment rooms with views onto rice paddies. No separate dining room/ kitchen for Ayurveda guests – but one table reserved for Ayurveda Guests. During or stay there was a group of 6 (3 couples) on a 3 week Ayurveda retreat. Again I think it would be challenging to follow a strict veg/non-alcoholic diet whilst other guests are indulging in all the fabulous delicacies – I would therefore not recommend this resort for solo travellers or those seeking a serious Ayurvedic retreat.

What I liked most: Exclusive ambience, stunning setting and romantic atmosphere. You don’t need to take an outside trip – here you can do as little or as much as you want – enough activities but no pressure to participate. Stunning live music during dinner time and throughout the day. Interesting cooking classes. Traditional afternoon tea and snacks served from boat.

What I liked least: I loved everything about this hotel – the only point I can make is that I will not choose this hotel for a solo 3 week Ayuverda retreat – it is far too romantic!
Participate in the Kerali session and attend the cooking demonstrations.

Would I return to this hotel: Yes, this is second honeymoon material!

Room Tip: Special Tip: New bungalows with own pools close to completion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WEALLLUVTRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

The resort is a five star village with lake and paddy field. The property is really vast and you have a good view of the lake. The resort can be reached through a 10 min boat ride. We stayed at the heritage bungalows but had a chance to see the pool villas which are really amazing. The place we stayed was really comfortable. But we were a bit disappointed about the food. The lunch was hopeless, the non veg dishes were not at all up to the mark. The dinner at the seafood restaurant was good.The restaurant had a good view of the lake and the ambiance was also good but a table has to be reserved in advance since the place is very small. The swimming pool is good but not an infinity pool like the other resorts in Kumarakom. The stay was overall good but the service was not of professional standards and the food was not worth the money we paid for. The experience at the ayurvedic spa was good.

Room Tip: The best ones are the pool villas with a good view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelFreak1177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2012

I stayed there for two nights, was graet experience with lot to do, SunSets were amazing, Recommend to all who want to relax and have good food.The Boat trip on Lake,Butterfly Garden, Rice paddies are part of the experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PremNewDelhi_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
4.9 km away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
1.1 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
8.2 km away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Karma Chakra
Karma Chakra
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
4.4 km away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#7 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
2.6 km away
Kumarakom Lake Resort
Kumarakom Lake Resort
#4 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Lagoon

Property: Coconut Lagoon
Address: Po Box 2, Kumarakom 686563, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kumarakom
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,693 - ₹ 21,409
Hotel Class:4 star — Coconut Lagoon 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Lagoon is CGH Earth group's 'celebration of Kerala' on the Vembanad Lake, Kumarakom. Built on a coconut grove with water channels in between, this is truly a unique experience for the guests. As a responsible tourism venture, this eco resort brings alive the culture of the place as well as take good measures to protect the environment through its many recycling and protection processes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ClearTrip, Expedia, Yatra, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coconut Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Lagoon Hotel Kumarakom
Coconut Lagoon Kumarakom, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing