We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic setting - perfect backwater retreat!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coconut Lagoon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coconut Lagoon
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
169 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Romantic setting - perfect backwater retreat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

Super romantic and stunning backwater hotel on island. Ideal for romantic couples to experience the backwaters or for pre/post houseboat stay.

Service: Excellent, very friendly and professional staff!

Price/Rates: Accommodation mid-range but worth every cent. Restaurant/Bar reasonable. Full board Ayurveda packages available but expensive comparing to other hotel offerings. Individual Ayurveda treatments expensive.

Location: Access to hotel by boat, hotel on the backwaters with waterways between rooms. Very romantic and attractive. Peaceful, romantic, pretty, quiet.

Food/Restaurant: Very good main restaurant and speciality fish restaurant – very good service. Poolside bar offers great seafood lunch at very reasonable price.

Facilities/Activities: Plenty to do and many activities included – cooking demonstrations, bird watching, dragon fly watching, canoe and boat rides, games room, Ayurveda talks, village walks etc . Daily complimentary 1 hour yoga class in the mornings – good Yoga Master. Kerali (martial art) demonstration and classes a couple of times per week. Nice grounds with pretty gardens, hammocks and swings. Stunning birdlife and plenty eagles. Great pool with view over backwaters and Spa-like Ayurveda Center.

Rooms: Traditional Kerala bungalow style. Stylish, spacious, clean and very comfortable – all with verandas and garden/water views. Stunning outdoor bathrooms.

Ayurveda: Very friendly and competent Doctor and Therapists. The Ayurveda Centre will appeal to westerners seeking a less authentic (hospital like) and more spa-type experience. Clean and stunning treatment rooms with views onto rice paddies. No separate dining room/ kitchen for Ayurveda guests – but one table reserved for Ayurveda Guests. During or stay there was a group of 6 (3 couples) on a 3 week Ayurveda retreat. Again I think it would be challenging to follow a strict veg/non-alcoholic diet whilst other guests are indulging in all the fabulous delicacies – I would therefore not recommend this resort for solo travellers or those seeking a serious Ayurvedic retreat.

What I liked most: Exclusive ambience, stunning setting and romantic atmosphere. You don’t need to take an outside trip – here you can do as little or as much as you want – enough activities but no pressure to participate. Stunning live music during dinner time and throughout the day. Interesting cooking classes. Traditional afternoon tea and snacks served from boat.

What I liked least: I loved everything about this hotel – the only point I can make is that I will not choose this hotel for a solo 3 week Ayuverda retreat – it is far too romantic!
Participate in the Kerali session and attend the cooking demonstrations.

Would I return to this hotel: Yes, this is second honeymoon material!

Room Tip: Special Tip: New bungalows with own pools close to completion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WEALLLUVTRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    802
    265
    60
    16
    11
See reviews for
324
530
37
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

The resort is a five star village with lake and paddy field. The property is really vast and you have a good view of the lake. The resort can be reached through a 10 min boat ride. We stayed at the heritage bungalows but had a chance to see the pool villas which are really amazing. The place we stayed was really comfortable. But we were a bit disappointed about the food. The lunch was hopeless, the non veg dishes were not at all up to the mark. The dinner at the seafood restaurant was good.The restaurant had a good view of the lake and the ambiance was also good but a table has to be reserved in advance since the place is very small. The swimming pool is good but not an infinity pool like the other resorts in Kumarakom. The stay was overall good but the service was not of professional standards and the food was not worth the money we paid for. The experience at the ayurvedic spa was good.

Room Tip: The best ones are the pool villas with a good view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelFreak1177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

I stayed there for two nights, was graet experience with lot to do, SunSets were amazing, Recommend to all who want to relax and have good food.The Boat trip on Lake,Butterfly Garden, Rice paddies are part of the experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PremNewDelhi_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

The hotel is placed at an amazing location. We got a Cottage right by the lagoon and the lake junction whcih was amazing. The Rooms were not as big as expected however quite comfy. The bathroom they say is the main attaraction as it is open with a open view to the sky. I Think we expected more and were a little dissapointed. The breakfast was good all indian food. Its an eco resort and accroding to that its amazing. However the climate was aweful. Imagine sitting outside and sweating while you are doing nothing. The Air Condition did not seem to work with that kind of humidity. Imagine a huge waterfront in front of you and no wind....The evenings were great with the sunset and all. The cultural programes arranged by the hotel were great. On the last day we had a cockroach in the open bathroom as it was raining and all leaves etc were fallen in there and there was a lizard on the bed. However if you living in a Village you do expect to see these things, Did not bother us much. The ecosystem and the property is maintained very well. Excellent Staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amrishvora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anjali T, Vice President Marketing at Coconut Lagoon, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear Guest,
Thanks for posting your feedback on your stay with us at Coconut Lagoon. I'm glad you enjoyed your experiences at Coconut Lagoon. Like you have mentioned in your review, we hold our eco system and the community that we are located in, very closely and offer experiences that add to them rather than take away from these two important aspects. We practise chemical free herbal pest control measures at all our destinations and sometimes they may not be as effective as we might like them to be but it definitely keeps the eco balance. I apologise that you had to encounter a lizard on your bed and assure you that is not a regular feature but a rarity. Please do come back to Coconut Lagoon and some of the other CGH Earth destinations.
Regards,
Anjali Tolani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Simply magical! Arriving by boat, peaceful calm surroundings, very comfortable room and delicious food. The service was amazing and we were so pleased we were recommended 3 nights there. I'd go back anytime!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeardyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
1.2 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
4.9 km away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.9 km away
Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
4.4 km away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#7 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
5.4 km away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Lagoon

Property: Coconut Lagoon
Address: Po Box 2, Kumarakom 686563, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,712 - ₹ 34,259
Hotel Class:4 star — Coconut Lagoon 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Lagoon is CGH Earth group's 'celebration of Kerala' on the Vembanad Lake, Kumarakom. Built on a coconut grove with water channels in between, this is truly a unique experience for the guests. As a responsible tourism venture, this eco resort brings alive the culture of the place as well as take good measures to protect the environment through its many recycling and protection processes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and ClearTrip so you can book your Coconut Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Lagoon Hotel Kumarakom
Coconut Lagoon Kumarakom, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing