We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coconut Lagoon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Coconut Lagoon
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Having become big CGH Earth fans after stays in Tamil Nadu and Spice Village we were really looking forward to Coconut Lagoon. The village is charming and you drive to a boat landing in the backwaters where you board the "Darter" which motors up the backwater to the entrance of the property. Drums beat as the launch pulls up to reception. Check in is efficient and thorough. We had booked a heritage mansion room. The room setup is a bit awkward particularly for the elderly. The bathroom which is a fabulous outdoor one is located on the ground floor with the entry/closet area and stairs lead up to a sleeping loft. Our first room had a Queen size bed that was high off the ground (they give you a wooden box to climb into bed) which was charming but impractical and the air conditioning didn't work. Engineers tried to fix it but it didn't work. Finally I insisted that they move us to a different room where the AC worked and one that had twin beds pushed together. They moved us into the room literally next door - the AC worked perfectly and the beds were two giant twins pushed together at normal height (no box climbing). Things were looking up. The hotel also has other rooms that are not split level which I would recommend for older people. The stairs in our room were quite steep and it made getting up to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night a challenge - leave a light on downstairs so you don't fall. Wifi here only works in the reception area and the bird library building by the pool. Tip - if you want to use wifi by the pool grab the two lounge chairs that are right at the entry to the pool area by the library building. It works only there. They should try and put more receivers around. The breakfast is very good with lots of fresh juice made on order. Lunch by the pool - club sandwich was very good with a nice cold Kingfisher beer. Dinner at the special seafood restaurant was wonderful, if a bit expensive. The fish was fresh and superbly prepared. The pool is very nice but lounge chairs need replacing (many broken) and cushions need replacing (dirty and broken straps so cushions slide off of the chair - annoying). This is a general theme for the property. It looks like it needs some freshening up. The grounds are lovely - loads of birds and those wonderful Veechor cows mowing the lawn munching around. The keepers bring them out every morning and tie them up in different areas every day. The shop is large with good choices. One pet peeve - management needs to have a serious talk with staff who work the grounds. Every day we sat by the pool and while we are trying to relax one guy comes around with a loud weed whacker right behind our chair area! The ladies who pull up the grass around the pool walkway gather in groups of 4 and chatter away at loud volume - and they always seem to work around the area you sit in. Are they drawn to guests? Someone needs to talk to them about working in silence and remind them that guests are there to relax and enjoy the peaceful surroundings. Overall we enjoyed our stay very much and would return if we come back to the backwaters.

Room Tip: If you don't want to climb stairs in the night get a pool villa room. Make sure the AC works bef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbmaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anjali T, Vice President Marketing at Coconut Lagoon, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear Guest,
Thanks for posting a review of your time at Coconut Lagoon. Thanks for choosing to stay at our destinations. Am sorry you had the inconvenience of having to shift out of your originally alloted Heritage Mansion due to AC issues but glad to hear that you found the second Mansion to your liking. At Coconut Lagoon, as also at our other destinations, we encourage our guests to enjoy the space in the moment and engage in the experiences offered by the space hence we keep technological/external/news intervention to a bare necessary minimum. So WiFi hot spots are restricted to certain common areas in the resorts and not across the space so guests can enjoy being on a Holiday and not be compelled to stay connected.
Thanks for pointing out the area that we need to work on i.e. advising our team to be careful of the decibel levels while at work and allowing for the guests enjoy peace and tranquility. We shall definitely work on this.
We shall look forward to seeing you back at Coconut Lagoon and some of our other destinations as well.
Regards,
Anjali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    789
    260
    59
    15
    11
See reviews for
323
516
35
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Wonderful service, good food and very comfortable accommodations. It is somewhat rustic given its location on the lake and accessible only by boat, but suited us very well. There are many activities to engage in, a good Ayurvedic clinic, and a beautiful location. The pool is wonderful and the grounds are lovely. The separate restaurant is romantic, but expensive; we were underwhelmed by the food. You're better off at the main restaurant. We had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay. Most importantly - we would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MSir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Nice hotel still in the eco friendly mode can only be accessed via a boat from the jetty but its a pleasant trip. The hotel is very rustic and does not have all the mod cons of some of the other hotels with an attached shower and toilet open to the sky. If you are looking for a modern hotel don't use this one. The staff are very good and helpful and the food is very good. They have some very interesting things to see in the hotel and the butterfly garden is a must. Some other quaint practices such as the afternoon char wallah who comes round by boat for afternoon tea and the unusual practice of grasscutting.
Not everyones style but if you like peace and quiet and you are a twitcher this would suit you fine.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GerryScotland49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altadena CA, USA
Level Contributor
148 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

What a magical place to rest and relax. Our mistake was only booking one night! The staff was exceptionally accommodating and ready to respond. The food is excellent. We happened to mention during lunch that it was our wedding anniversary . A few hours later a "surprise" cake was delivered to our room. A perfect place to relax after traveling in India. The outdoor bathroom is so fun. The massage was the perfect and reasonable. One night just won't do!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mtd330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Great place, food and Ayurvedic centre for a relaxing massage. Very polite and helpful staff. It has a rustic charm so if you are looking for absolutely modern rooms..you may want to look at another hotel like kumrakom lake resort or zuri. I loved coconut lagoon

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelm777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
1.2 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
4.9 km away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.9 km away
Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
5.4 km away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
1.9 km away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#13 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Lagoon

Property: Coconut Lagoon
Address: Po Box 2, Kumarakom 686563, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,149 - ₹ 37,368
Hotel Class:4 star — Coconut Lagoon 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Lagoon is CGH Earth group's 'celebration of Kerala' on the Vembanad Lake, Kumarakom. Built on a coconut grove with water channels in between, this is truly a unique experience for the guests. As a responsible tourism venture, this eco resort brings alive the culture of the place as well as take good measures to protect the environment through its many recycling and protection processes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelGuru, ClearTrip and Agoda so you can book your Coconut Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Lagoon Hotel Kumarakom
Coconut Lagoon Kumarakom, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing