We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not surprised its a Travlleres Choice Winner”
Review of Coconut Lagoon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coconut Lagoon
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Not surprised its a Travlleres Choice Winner”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

This resort was fabulous. We arrived before our rooms ready (from overnight house boat stay) so were taken to dining room for coffee and cake. Tick number 1 !!!
We had a heritage room right beside lake, which was decorated with flowers as it was my husbands birthday Tick No 2 !! The room was lovely but quite steep stairs to first floor bedroom, had a few problems with mobility so next day requested to be changed. Were then put into a free standing Villa. Tick No 3!!. As you have to eat at resort I was a bit concerned but the food was fabulous. A la catre and the buffet, well it just goes on and one. My husband was given a birthday cake with all the staff singing, happy smiles every where, and service amazing. Tick no 4,5,6 !!.. When you arrive you are taken on a tour and the re cycling program they have is commendable. Tick no 7 !! The pool is very large, clean, and the pool side drinks and snacks reasonable price. Tick no 8 !!. Sunset cruise on lake with the fiddler player perfect for meditation, relaxation or just day dreaming Tick No 9 !!. Well I,ve only got 1 tick left so give it to the overall experience of staying here, so thats 10/10. Fabulous
PS the baby calf was sooo cute

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flybuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anjali T, Vice President Marketing at Coconut Lagoon, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for all your ticks, am glad we were able to provide experiences that ticked all the right boxes on your holiday.
Regards,
Anjali Tolani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    845
    281
    64
    17
    11
See reviews for
348
559
40
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Its not just the beautiful cottages, fabulous food, spotless clean rooms, well manicured lawns and authentic local food that make Coconut Lagoon fabulous....Its the very friendly, very professional STAFF that makes it an experience one would like to re-live. The attention that we were given from the moment we stepped on the property till the time we left was superb. If you are one of those who likes to have authentic local cuisine then this place is for you. Have always hated the resorts that claim to have a 100+ dishes on their buffet with sub-standard food. COconut Lagoon serves you quality, fresh, local cuisine. Would rate the Ayurveda center a 7 out of 10...but the service more than makes up for it.

Room Tip: More privacy in the bungalows as opposed to the Heritage rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YasGup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anjali T, Vice President Marketing at Coconut Lagoon, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your comments on Coconut Lagoon- for going beyond the built space into the heart of the place i.e. its people. At CGH Earth we believe that authencity of offerings and experience is the biggest luxury. Thanks for your praise for the cuisine offered at Coconut Lagoon. I have also made a note of your feedback on Ayurveda center and we shall endeavour towards a better score on that.
Regards,
Anjali Tolani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmendingen, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2012

It was an exceptional experience. Pure luxury, excellent service, breathtaking location, absolute silence. We were located in one of the littel houses near the lake. The lower floor was a litle spartanic, but we were explained that it is typical of the malayam houses. The outdoor bath and shower were very clean and a nice experience. The upper floor was very bright, with a view over the area and towards the lake.
We tried both the central restaurant as the seafood restaurant right on lake Vembanadu. The first one is a good choice with an wide buffet selection, the second one is definitely better and more exclusive. Quality was very high, service very fast, kind and gave helpful information selecting the right dinner.
We tried the ayurvedic centre, it was ok, bu we found better ones right in the village, easy to reach.
The birdwatching tour in the morning was very informative and a great experience. Hotel provides good quality glasses.
Special thanks to Thomas at the reception and to Leethu for patiently explaining the birds and the surrounging nature. We sureley come back into God`s own country.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doggydoc66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

This was the third CGH Earth property we stayed at during our tour so we knew what high standards to expect and we were not let down. We arrived by boat and were welcomed by charming staff offering refreshing towels and fresh coconut drinks. We just stayed in a standard villa for 2 nights - for longer stays I think it would be nice to have a pool villa although the main swimming pool was beautiful with plenty of loungers and a nearby pool bar serving snacks as well as drinks. We loved the outdoor bathroom in our villa - the villa itself was spacious, clean and well equipped.
The hotel provided several complimentary tours - we went on the early morning bird watching walk with the very enthusiastic and friendly naturalist. We also took advantage of the complimentary sunset boat trip which was very relaxing. The buffet restaurant had a very wide choice of food - delicious Keralan curries.
The chai boat came every afternoon at 4 p.m. offering complimentary tea and snacks.
After our two night stay we then spent a night on one of CGH's houseboats - wonderful! A peaceful cruise of the backwaters with delicious freshly cooked food - total relaxation!
All the staff were so helpful - intent on making your stay an enjoyable one and they succeeded!

Room Tip: We only stayed in a standard villa which was perfectly adequate for our two nights there - I am sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Southernpence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This full service eco resort worked hard to provide guests with many interesting opportunities to learn, relax and enjoy the natural surroundings. We had a two story teak cottage with an upstairs bedroom with windows and a wood window seats on three sides - a bit like a ship, and a high 4 poster bed. The very modern bath was outdoors but walled for privacy. For anyone with even small mobility challenges the steep high stairs to 2nd level would be a challenge, especially to do a night excursion down and out to the bathroom - plus we worried a bit about night mosquitos. There were one floor options but I believe our's was one of their nicest cottages with a view of the lake. Meals were very good as was their afternoon tea and snacks. We particularly enjoyed walks around the very large property with the naturalist from whom we learned many things about the flora and fauna including the many species of birds given sanctuary just across the canal: they also bred a rare local miniature dairy cow so there are tiny cows tied to trees all around. Evenings had some musical entertainment but were quiet as fitting with the resort's style. The sunset cruse was fun. We also ventured into the Ayurvedic medical treatment spa where even a basic massage was an unusual experience. Our house boat from Spice Coast Cruises picked us up at the hotel dock for the backwaters visit to follow.

Room Tip: Cottages near the water are nicer given the sunset view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adventurelady99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
4.9 km away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
712 reviews
1.1 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
6.3 km away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
338 reviews
2.6 km away
Kumarakom Lake Resort
Kumarakom Lake Resort
#4 of 26 in Kumarakom
1,710 reviews
4.5 km away
The Zuri Kumarakom
The Zuri Kumarakom
#6 of 26 in Kumarakom
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Lagoon

Property: Coconut Lagoon
Address: Po Box 2, Kumarakom 686563, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,063 - ₹ 37,303
Hotel Class:4 star — Coconut Lagoon 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Lagoon is CGH Earth group's 'celebration of Kerala' on the Vembanad Lake, Kumarakom. Built on a coconut grove with water channels in between, this is truly a unique experience for the guests. As a responsible tourism venture, this eco resort brings alive the culture of the place as well as take good measures to protect the environment through its many recycling and protection processes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, ClearTrip, Expedia, MakeMyTrip, HotelQuickly, Agoda, TravelGuru, Yatra and Hotels.com so you can book your Coconut Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Lagoon Hotel Kumarakom
Coconut Lagoon Kumarakom, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing