We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Good Value for Money and Good Family Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Center Parcs Les Bois-Francs
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We stayed here the last week of August in a comfort cottage. It was a very good family holiday overall. Very similar in layout as Longleat, but without the hills. 3½ hours down from Calais, very easy route (except be careful around Rouen). 95% of the guests are French, so whilst they do not all speak much English, this is acceptable I would say. Take a phrase book and have a go - you would expect someone coming to the UK to do the same. I speak some French and we found the staff helpful, professional and courteous without exception.

Whilst the cottage was more basic and tired than the equivalent in a UK CP, it is cheaper than for the same period, so we expected less. The cottage was very clean, although some things were broken (airer, fridge handle). Was rather damp, but being in the middle of a forest and constantly having wet towels drying isn't going to help that. We were out for most of the day so didn't worry really.

The facilities are fantastic - we tried the horse riding, crazy golf, mini tennis. Hired bikes and cycled loads every day, they go from tandem to toddler with stabilisers and come with locks. Book in advance to save 10%. Good way of getting exercise in and paths all over the place. The Aquamundo was amazing. VERY clean, lots of slides, very warm large outdoor pool, rapids, wave machine, toddler pool. Quietest in the mornings.

The food was expensive but then you could go elsewhere - we found a great pizzeria on the main square in Verneuil that opened at 6, and the supermarket prices weren't bad. The 7pm opening was a pain, but they do hot food deliveries, BBQ food and grill for you to do yourself, or eat at lunch and have bread and cheese in the evening. Our children ate everything that was put in front of them and did not complain about the food, which is rare! the Monde buffet was excellent, wide range of food. They did Moules as a special on Thurs which was very good value and delicious.

So will we go back? Yes, but we will book early to get the discounts and offers and upgrade to a VIP cottage. We've stayed in some Haven type parks on IoW and they weren't a patch on this place, including for the equivalent accommodation. This was our only holiday and we were more than happy with it.

Room Tip: Look at the map, book early and choose your cottage particularly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (8,549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

319 - 323 of 8,550 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2011

Please do not stay here.

We have recently returned having stayed in a VIP Eden 3 bedroomed cottage for an 8 night holiday. The accommodation is the poorest level we have ever experienced and the cleanliness was non-existent. We left after 4 days unable to stand the smell and conditions within the cottage.

We stayed in villa 969, which is within the more recently developed part of the site with the "newest" accommodation. The VIP Eden is also the highest level of accommodation you can book - I shudder to think what the other accommodation must be like!!!

The highlight of the disgraceful standard was the urine smell that emanated from the downstairs bathroom regardless of how much bleach, cif or fabreeze we used. A unique achievement as there wasn't even a toilet in the downstairs bathroom!! We have included a few photographs to give you an idea of the standard.

Do not make the same mistake as we did and think that the Centre Parc brand wouldn't allow such a poor representation. We have since complained on three occasions - we have been completely ignored to date.

Having been a frequent guest in the Centre Parcs within the UK we are very aware of what standards to expect. It is safe to say we will not be staying in any Centre Parc location in the future.

YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Book somewhere else if you want a good room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

I am writing this address the balance on good and bad reviews. After booking the holiday I then read the review and was worried I had made a mistake. There seemed to be 50/50 good and bad reviews.

We went with our 16 month little boy, wife and another couple.

We got to Les Bois centre parcs on 1 Aug 11 after crossing a ferry crossing at Calais. Not too long drive and easy to get to.

When we got there you see an amazing French chateau in beautiful woodland grounds. The chateau is closed. But is a nice feature anyway. We got there a bit later approx 1700hrs and there were no queues and were given the keys and sent on our way.

When driving around some accomodation did look it did need a bit of paint, however when we got into ours it was absolutely spotless with a samsung flatscreen, open fire surround, open plan kitchen with toaster, kettle, coffee maker, gas hob (no oven), and good quality microwave with grill function. Baby furniture was very clean and of good quality, his cot was better than at home :)

The rest of our stay was fantastic we took our own bike but you could hire on base. We found a cycle route into local towns 18km long and another cycle route 'voie verte' which was a forest based route into the local town Verneuil Sur Avre 8km each way. This town is a must see with a host of old Churches, local shops etc.

The swimming complex is great. our little boy loved his first taste of the rapids, and is an excellent baby pool. It gets very busy after 1600hrs with nearly 1000 in the pool (it does take upto 1500 though). We went before and just after lunch and there were only 300-400 people in.

Everything is more expensive but so is Europe at the moment. Pool bike rides etc are all free and we did mainly that and we were amused. There are other things at extra costs which would not break the bank, we just never bothered.

Food is rather expensive, again we cooked most nights due to the little one being asleep on evenings. They sell a complete BBQ set for 20euro including coal etc and did a few of these which was good. If you eat out the Steak house is very good. 17 euro for 2 courses and the burger I had was amazing! Other restaurants are between 16-24euro per person for a set 2/3 course meal.

Another advantage of this site is its location to Paris. We got a train from Verneuil sur avra at 0748 arrived in Paris at 0911hrs. Managed to get around Paris and see Eiffel tower, Notre Dame, Louvre (including the Mona Lisa) and walk up the Champs Elyssee. Got return train at 1830 arriving back at 1940. Cost of train was 36 Euro, but was a fantastic day and good break from the Parc.

Overall a great concept, in beautiful grounds. I do play golf and there are practice facilities which is good. Would not pay the prices to play the course, but putting green and driving range kept me happy.

I dont know how anyone could give this 1-2 Stars. It amazes me??? However we all have good and bad expriences. We did have a few issues, but we also had a few issues after paying £4000 on our honeymoon in the Carribean. Things will always happen. We blocked the sink and they came out straight away and was sorted within 12 hours (this is acceptable in my eyes).

If your going enjoy, we did. And dont worry about these contradictory reviews....

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

The most filthy cottage with a lack of security I have had the displeasure of visiting. If you go to this place check out the cottage BEFORE you unload the car. I had not done this and had to reload the car after a"upgrade" to another cottage that frankly I found unaceptable and after I had paid 840 Euro for a week I left after 2 days. The 840 was AFTER a discount of 200 Euro. The new cottages are built like cardboard and falling apart, the old ones are a disgrace.
broken locks, dirty floors, walls, crockery. broken fridge, lamps with no shades, wall lights haning off walls.
DO NOT GO THERE!

Room Tip: Do not unpack car before checking cottage quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ipswichsuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

We chose to go here because it was around £300 cheaper than staying at a uk park and we had a great time! It does help to speak a little French here as the staff do not seem to speak very much English (why should they I suppose!) but they were also happy to run off and find someone that could when we got a bit stuck!
We stayed in a BF228 Eden Style villa and whilst it was not luxurious, it was spotlessly clean. I have often been to Whinfell and refused to use any of the crockery and cutlery before it has been through the dishwasher again but here everything was very clean indeed. Due to having two small children who insist on rolling things under sofas and beds, I can report that these areas were spotless too! The whirlpool bath was in perfect working order much to the kids amusement! Pretty much everything you need if here - take a cheese grater and some tongs with you though!
The area behind the villa was very private and enclosed with tall bushes. We had a big decking area and a grass area to oursleves. We had plenty of visits from birds, ducks and cats which the kids loved too. The tv has bbc world news and you can plug in a dvd player.
The park itself was clean and tidy and there was lots to do, the swimming complex is fantastic and the changing rooms and showers were very clean too. The food is expensive but the pizzas and omlettes were had were huge and tasted great and both our children ate well and for free. The chateau is boarded up but certainly doesn't look derelict.
Would we go back? Definately.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank reynolds04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Verneuil-sur-Avre
26.2 km away
Hotel de Normandie
Hotel de Normandie
#1 of 2 in Conches-en-Ouche
51 reviews
40.2 km away
B&B Hotel Evreux
B&B Hotel Evreux
#3 of 15 in Evreux
93 reviews
15.2 km away
Hotel du Dauphin
Hotel du Dauphin
#1 of 1 in L'Aigle
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 km away
Auberge La Pomme de Pin
Auberge La Pomme de Pin
#2 of 2 in Senonches
57 reviews
37.8 km away
hotelF1 Evreux Sud
hotelF1 Evreux Sud
#13 of 15 in Evreux
22 reviews
7.0 km away
Le Clos - Relais et Chateaux
Le Clos - Relais et Chateaux
#1 of 4 in Verneuil-sur-Avre
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Center Parcs Les Bois-Francs? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Center Parcs Les Bois-Francs

Address: Les Barils, 27130, Verneuil-sur-Avre, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Verneuil-sur-Avre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Verneuil-sur-Avre
Price Range: ₹ 3,366 - ₹ 16,959 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Center Parcs Les Bois-Francs 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Center Parcs Les Bois-Francs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Center Parcs Les Bois-Francs Hotel Verneuil-Sur-Avre
Center Parcs Les Bois-Francs France/Verneuil-Sur-Avre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing