We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Naranjo

Garden and pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden and pool
Garden and pool Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Garden and pool
Garden and pool
Garden
entrance
the pool
Entrance
kitchen
kitchen
Lounge
lounge
Bedroom
bathroom
Garden
Garden and pool
Pool
Pool
Pool
Garden and pool
Outside view
Outside view
the village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Vejer de la Frontera, Province of Cadiz, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Belinda B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mrs ”
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I have just returned from a road trip of a life time ! We spent 14 nights at Naranjo and had an absolute fabulous time , we stayed in the 1 bed cottage and as reviewed by others the bed was indeed so comfortable ,everything that was possibly needed was already thought of by Jerry and Helen and in place pots , crockery etc BBQ was provided which my husband used numerous times !!! The pool was glorious and spent many hours on a lilo basking in the sun . Jerry and Helen made us aware of all the "must sees", Vejer was gorgeous , Barbate beaches were wonderful , food shops Aldi and Lidl , Tarifa, Algerciras , Gibraltar , Cadiz , Baleo Claudius ( Roman ruins at Bolonia )Medina Sidonia fantastic church dating back 10 th century blew me away ! Seville was another good historical place and cathedral brilliant !
I could go on and on but will rein it in now , but not before saying a very big thankyou to Jerry and Helen for a memorable holiday , we now have some fantastic memories and it was certainly an eye opener into the Spanish way of life .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2016
Thank you Belinda and David for those kind words.
It is a beautiful and interesting place to be, and it's good that it all worked so well for you.
We aim to please, and are glad you found everything to your liking .
Thank you
Helen and Gerry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard W
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitely going to return! Highly recommend”
Reviewed 8 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a great little find this place is! We originally chose it for its location and the swimming pool but there were so many pleasant surprises when we got there. Not least Gerry and Helen who were genuinely SO happy and helpful throughout. If you see this, Thank You.
For readers' reference, we stayed for 8 days and we were in the smaller of the two cottages.

Accommodation:
There are too many little details to mention individually but they all add up to make a really well-equipped and well-done cottage and garden with a lot of thought gone into it. El Soto the town is just a row of rural houses and a bar/restaurant. Running along the back of the plot is the Montenmedio Estate, which is 500 hectares of woodland, golf course, and walkways: result is that the only noise is birdsong. I would happily have lounged by the pool a full day if I’d been allowed to! Idyllic.

Location:
Per the above, golf, walks and the famous NMAC Montenmedio exhibition are literally neighbours but, perhaps more importantly, there is the N340 road that feeds this whole, magnificent coastline: El Soto (town the villa's in) is as close as it can be without being audible. From Tarifa to Cadiz are some of the best beaches you can find. Atlantic with no estuaries, cities or big ports means blue water and white sand (like the brochure). Worth mentioning, we work and live in Spain but we choose to holiday here. I appreciate that the N340 doesn’t sound very glamorous but you lose a large chunk of some days trying to find it if you rent a place on one beach but want to try another. Also, Vejer, for example, is very pretty in its own right but offers some major supermarkets and a superb variation of restaurants only 10 minutes away. Barbate as well is nearly as close and good for shops and fish restaurants.

Some recommendations, if you’re now sold:
Santa Lucia – A tiny paradise! 5 minutes away. Quiet little town with some un-signposted Roman thermal baths and some seriously misplaced top-class restaurants (La Tajea and La Castillería).
La Muela – Find the pizza place with the clay oven. Tables are wonky and the pizza is special.
The NMAC merits a good half-day.
If you speak Spanish, the plays performed in the old ruins (Bolonia) are very good.
Bolonia beach, Playa de los alemanes (Atlanterra beach) and Canos de la meca (another beach) are among the best and not as full.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool area
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2016
Thank you for your wonderful review.. We are really glad that you enjoyed and appreciated it so much.
Your comprehensive description of the area and its attraction truly does sum it all up, as it can be hard sometimes to put it all into words.
We look forward to your next visit and thank you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim A
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“An Amazing Gem in Spain”
Reviewed 1 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The Area

Well if you want bars Karaoke and to party till the early hours! Then please do not book as this is not for you !!

However if you want the real Spanish Countryside mixed with Storks in the Village, Goats being led down the street along with horses then El Soto is for you! There are fab beaches within easy driving distance and great history in the Area to explore..

A Car is essential in my opinion for this location but may not be for others? The nearest large supermarket is in Barata that is about 10 mile away (16km)

The Apartment

We booked last minute due to our travels and was so glad it was available as the owners responded quickly and efficiently and even when we got lost as our sat Nav could not find this little Gem! When we called they pointed us in the right direction again.

We stayed in the 1 bed semi detached chalet which there is a 2 bed attached and would make an ideal set up for families wanting there own space but being close at the same time.

The chalet was very clean and great attention to detail has been thought about for guests staying here. The double bed in the 1 bed is so comfy we were thinking about sneaking it out the door on our departure ! It comes with quality bedding that adds to the luxury feel.

The Pool is large but in January although the weather was lovely and Sunny we did not dare dip our toes ! There is a large area for sun bathing around the pool.

The Owners
The owners live on site and are very friendly without being obtrusive but are so helpful to make your stay be as comfortable as possible.

Would we recommend .. Without a doubt .... Thanks for a wonderful stay

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Location as it was such a quaint little village
Liked least: Nothing to not like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2016
Thank you for your kind review
It is a lovely place to be, with so many interesting and amazing places nearby to visit.
We aim to please and are glad that you found everything to your liking .
Thank you and kind regards
Helen and Gerry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T6455WYda...
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely accommodation in a perfectly situated spot”
Reviewed 18 February 2014 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed with Helen and Gerry for 10 nights and it was absolutely perfect. They were so accommodating helping us with arriving and our room was fantastic - you walk straight out the door toward an immaculate pool with lovely trees and flowers surrounding you. It was an idyllic stay, made special by the owners. The fact that you are at the base of Vejer is a massive plus because you have so many awesome restaurants to eat at every night. If you're not lazing around the pool in a state of pure tranquility, then make sure you a.) buy a bottle of Brandy Caramelo from "Ya en tu casa" in Vejer, have dinner at El Tesoro just outside Tarifa, and spend a whole day at the beach at Caños de Meca. Those were our highlights - it's such a lovely part of the world - and Helen and Gerry will be your gracious, kind hosts in the perfect base to explore.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anitabbs
Sanlucar de Barrameda, Spain
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing