We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
1
4
14
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1
4
14
5
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I have stay in this hotel first time I was in Tete on June 2008. I went for a week to facilitate training sessions for a big company staff members. At the time there were going on some renovation and expantion activities on the hotel. My room was ok, with a big bed, TV, nice bathroon, but no internet on the room. The bar was the only place you could have access to wireless. The food is nice but sometimes take time to be ready. One thing i didn´t like was hear drunk people screeming on the corridor during the night when I was sleeping.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Was there five days for business. Considering that we were in Tete, the hotel is quite good.
Rooms are clean and with new funiture. Bathrooms were also clean but a bit old.
The price is too high, same level as 5 stars in some countries. But there's nothing better in Tete.
You must pay at the check-in.
Restaurant is okay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trlife22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Taking into account that this is in Tete and therefore you should not expect too much, this hotel isn't too bad really.

I had a 'junior suite' on the 1st floor - basically a stretched normal room with some chairs and a table in the extra area. The furniture is basic but fairly new and the room was clean. The queen bed was 2 singles pushed together but was comfortable enough and the sheets and towels are poor quality (like everything in Tete!) but again were clean.

Had no problems with hot water, wifi (plenty fast enough for e-mail and web browsing) and everything that should work did! The room has a mini-fridge, modern air-con and LCD TV (not that there is much to watch). The location is good - supermarket up the road, lots of ATMs right outside the hotel and a short walk to the river, shops and local markets. It is on quite a busy intersection and you can hear local life going on outside at all times of day and night so bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper.

Breakfast and dinner are simple and basic but they do the job and seemed to be about the same level of quality of food as anywhere else I ate in Tete (which is to say edible and you won't starve but the ingredients are all poor quality - never got ill so it must be safe). Great view of sunrise from the restaurant over the bridge and river. The public areas and corridors in the hotel could all do with a big spruce up. I guess you just have to remember where you are and adjust expectations accordingly.

There is no hair dryer, no kettle/tea/coffee/cups and no iron (although the laundry service was fast and good). I requested a kettle which wasn't available according to the first person I asked but when I asked somebody else later I got one. This proved to be the general rule - if at first you are told no then just ask someone else and eventually you get a yes!! And this is where the hotel falls down - service. A smile or bom dia from the staff is a rarity and they don't seem all that bothered about giving any sort of service for the very high room rate they charge. There are new chain hotels being built in Tete and I think when they open then the Zambeze is going to have to have a rethink about service and/or rates. But at the moment, this seems to be the best place to stay and is more than acceptable for a place like Tete, I heard horror stories about the other accommodation options!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I've stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions over the last few years. For a long time this was the least worst accomodation option in Tete, usually fully booked by mining companies.

During my last visit I stayed in a 1st floor suite, that was large with a sofa, desk, double bed, LCD TV (with limited channels), air con and mini fridge. Sheets were clean, but bathroom had a cracked loo seat and could have done with a lick of paint. Nevertheless, I was pleasantly surprised that there was hot water on tap 24/7 (not the case in the past).

Staff attitudes - including management - range from surly to downright rude. Food at dinner and breakfast is just OK.

There are a couple of new hotels being built in the area (a Park Inn and a Hotel VIP) that should provide better accommodation options.

Room Tip: The suites are large and cleaner/better kept. Avoid the small rooms to the rear.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EmilRio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

I have stayed in the Zambeze 2 times, in march and july 2011, along with some colleagues, in business trips to Tete.
Due to the flourishing coal mining business in Tete, Zambeze is almost all the time 100% booked, and it's very hard to get a room. Prices are the same as top quality Maputo hotels, but staff commitment to quality and good service is nearly none. The hotel is nicely placed and that's about it. Rooms are awful. Think in smoke smell, dirty sheets, pillows that smell like sweat. Leaking toilets. Bad reception small tube TVs, large and noisy A/Cs with no temperature control... You can expect bad infrastructure given you're in Tete, but dirty sheets and the uncommitted staff is truly unnacceptable. There were 2 times when my colleagues arrived, asked for the room and it was denied. After arguing for a while, the clerk gave them the room key that he originally wasn't planning to give. Breakfast and dinner aren't very good, but passable.
Don't come on tourism, unless you are the hardcore-style tourist or backpacker. If you are coming on business, bring clean sheets and some snacks, just in case.

Room Tip: There's no good room here. Suggest you bring your own clean sheets.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Juliano_DL650VSTROM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews