We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At $120 Zambeze hotel fails miserably to deliver... perhaps even at $50”
Review of Hotel Zambeze

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tete
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Zambeze
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Tete
Reviewed 22 August 2013

As price goes up, so do my expectations. On the 4th floor overlooking the bridge I also overlooked the taxi rank which became a veritable boom-box until 2am. The mini-bar rattled more than the aircon, both of which I switched off because of the noise – only to hear the taxi’s below! There is no parking even though at check-in I was told the parking is around the corner… there are 2 parking bays both of which are permanently reserved for hotel vehicles. There is a guard at the parking gate but he does not patrol. Breakfast was truly dismal – the food, the service, the crockery and cutlery – everything. Needless to say my next night in Tete will not be at the Zambezi

Room Tip: The best way to get a good room is to go to another hotel. Maybe try one away from the river... it c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobD001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013

I have stay in this hotel first time I was in Tete on June 2008. I went for a week to facilitate training sessions for a big company staff members. At the time there were going on some renovation and expantion activities on the hotel. My room was ok, with a big bed, TV, nice bathroon, but no internet on the room. The bar was the only place you could have access to wireless. The food is nice but sometimes take time to be ready. One thing i didn´t like was hear drunk people screeming on the corridor during the night when I was sleeping.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Was there five days for business. Considering that we were in Tete, the hotel is quite good.
Rooms are clean and with new funiture. Bathrooms were also clean but a bit old.
The price is too high, same level as 5 stars in some countries. But there's nothing better in Tete.
You must pay at the check-in.
Restaurant is okay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trlife22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Taking into account that this is in Tete and therefore you should not expect too much, this hotel isn't too bad really.

I had a 'junior suite' on the 1st floor - basically a stretched normal room with some chairs and a table in the extra area. The furniture is basic but fairly new and the room was clean. The queen bed was 2 singles pushed together but was comfortable enough and the sheets and towels are poor quality (like everything in Tete!) but again were clean.

Had no problems with hot water, wifi (plenty fast enough for e-mail and web browsing) and everything that should work did! The room has a mini-fridge, modern air-con and LCD TV (not that there is much to watch). The location is good - supermarket up the road, lots of ATMs right outside the hotel and a short walk to the river, shops and local markets. It is on quite a busy intersection and you can hear local life going on outside at all times of day and night so bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper.

Breakfast and dinner are simple and basic but they do the job and seemed to be about the same level of quality of food as anywhere else I ate in Tete (which is to say edible and you won't starve but the ingredients are all poor quality - never got ill so it must be safe). Great view of sunrise from the restaurant over the bridge and river. The public areas and corridors in the hotel could all do with a big spruce up. I guess you just have to remember where you are and adjust expectations accordingly.

There is no hair dryer, no kettle/tea/coffee/cups and no iron (although the laundry service was fast and good). I requested a kettle which wasn't available according to the first person I asked but when I asked somebody else later I got one. This proved to be the general rule - if at first you are told no then just ask someone else and eventually you get a yes!! And this is where the hotel falls down - service. A smile or bom dia from the staff is a rarity and they don't seem all that bothered about giving any sort of service for the very high room rate they charge. There are new chain hotels being built in Tete and I think when they open then the Zambeze is going to have to have a rethink about service and/or rates. But at the moment, this seems to be the best place to stay and is more than acceptable for a place like Tete, I heard horror stories about the other accommodation options!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I've stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions over the last few years. For a long time this was the least worst accomodation option in Tete, usually fully booked by mining companies.

During my last visit I stayed in a 1st floor suite, that was large with a sofa, desk, double bed, LCD TV (with limited channels), air con and mini fridge. Sheets were clean, but bathroom had a cracked loo seat and could have done with a lick of paint. Nevertheless, I was pleasantly surprised that there was hot water on tap 24/7 (not the case in the past).

Staff attitudes - including management - range from surly to downright rude. Food at dinner and breakfast is just OK.

There are a couple of new hotels being built in the area (a Park Inn and a Hotel VIP) that should provide better accommodation options.

Room Tip: The suites are large and cleaner/better kept. Avoid the small rooms to the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EmilRio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tete
4.6 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Tete
14.2 km away
Hotel Moatize
Hotel Moatize
#1 of 1 in Moatize
11 reviews
4.7 km away
Hotel Inter - Tete
Hotel Inter - Tete
#5 of 6 in Tete
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
VIP Executive Tete Hotel
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zambeze? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zambeze

Address: Avenida Eduardo Mondlane 6 | Inhambane, Tete 2300, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Tete Province > Tete
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Tete
Number of rooms: 336

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing