We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect hosts and location”
Review of I Gelsi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
I Gelsi
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We go back to this resort every year and love it, it's so relaxing and a perfect location. Sitting by the swimming pool feels like a million miles away from normal life. Wonderful place to visit and would advise anyone wanting a relaxing time to visit.

Stayed: July 2011
Thank deano933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2011

We stayed here following a 3 night stay in Rome and it was absolute bliss! I Gelsi is in such a beautiful setting and really made our holiday! Nothing is too much trouble for Enza and Paulo and we can't wait to go back. They were happy to recommend restaurants and places to go and we were very happy we could buy some more of Paulo's lovely wine.

The apartment was spotless and had everything we needed and the pool area is exceptional. We made full use of this on most days as it was so hot it was nice to relax in the sun before heading out later on once it had cooled down. Coming from the busy city we really enjoyed the peace and quiet along with the amazing views and spent most of our time in the local area. We hired a car, which is pretty essential due to where the property is but the local town is only a short drive down the hill and has everything you would need including shops, bars, cafes, restaurants and the train station with the fast trains only taking 30 mins direct to Florence. Other towns are also easy to get to from here including Siena and Arrezo.

An absolutely stunning place, with amazing owners. Thank you so much Enza and Paulo for helping to make our holiday so great! We can't wait to go back!!

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Hannah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We have had a great stay with Enza and Paulo-they are very welcoming and helpful.They hosted a fantastic meal for all the guests -lovely food and a great way of getting to know everyone.The pool is well kept and there is a terrace with a stunning view over the valley.The apartments have everything you need and if there is anything else you need Enza or Paulo are very happy to help.We enjoyed Paulo's wine and were glad we could buy some extra bottles .
I Gelsi is a good base to visit Siena,Florence ,Lucca and the Chianti region-you need a car to get around and into the nearby town.
We enjoyed a group holiday with 2 other families.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YorkSuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Going abroad self catering with children is never easy but we struck lucky with this place. A car is a must to reach the beautiful place in the Tuscan hillside. What made this stand out was the welcome we received from Enza and Paulo. We were lucky that the other apartments had varying kids the same age who all bonded together in one big gang and played safely around I Gelsi. A notable factor was that most of the people were return visitors too this relaxing place. The location is a winner with trains going to Florence every 30 minutes from Figline? We were also able to visit the towns of Siena and Arezzo without the kids feeling too tired in the sweltering heat. I would recommend that any families let the kids play by the pool all day and then visit towns in the early evening. Having an interest in wine the Chianti route is on your door steep and there are numerous places to stop and visit. Lastly the local town of Valdarno is worth a visit filled with boutique shops and restaurants and cafes. All the kids were sad to leave which is a perfect indication that they had a great time. We will defy lately recommend this to friends and family and there is a high probability that we will be back at some point.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NeilRobertson66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We are a family of 6 from South Africa and we spend 11 days at i Gelsi. Paulo and Enza made us feel welcome right from the start by meeting us at the station in Figline Valdarno. Since we did not have a car they drove us to the station and back on a regular basis to enable us to travel to other cities. We all felt at home in the beautiful Tuscan setting on the farm and spend our evenings outside until sunset. Our kids also had a great time, playing with other kids who were around. Staying at i Gelsi is great value for money and our hosts' hospitality made our holiday a memorable event. We hope to be back in the furture. Thank you so much for being such wonderful hosts, Paulo, Enza and the kids!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gouws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Figline e Incisa Valdarno hotels
2.7 km away
Hotel Villa Casagrande
Hotel Villa Casagrande
#2 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
922 reviews
3.2 km away
Villa la Borghetta Spa Resort
Villa la Borghetta Spa Resort
#1 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
1,389 reviews
1.5 km away
Norcenni Girasole Club
Norcenni Girasole Club
#1 of 22 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
B&B Le Vecchie Mura
B&B Le Vecchie Mura
#4 of 11 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
17 reviews
6.2 km away
Hotel Tenuta il Burchio
Hotel Tenuta il Burchio
#4 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
199 reviews
2 km away
Hotel Toscana
Hotel Toscana
#5 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to I Gelsi? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I Gelsi

Address: Localita San Martino Altoreggi No 46, 50063, Figline e Incisa Valdarno, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Figline e Incisa Valdarno
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
Price Range: ₹ 6,462 - ₹ 11,523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4/5 beautiful apartments in farmhouse with large pool in Figline valdarno, Tuscany, Italy. Superb private grounds set in 15 acres of Tuscan countryside including olive groves. Despite its quiet location “I Gelsi” lies centrally between important art-historical places of Tuscany: Florence 25km, Arezzo 40km, Siena 60 km, and is within easy reach of the A1 motorway. The nearest town is Figline Valdarno 3kms away, a lively small medieval town with an attractive weekly market, an excellent supermarket selling local produce and plenty of medieval attractions and festivals. In Figline you will find all amenities including train station with frequent direct trains into Florence (travel time 20 mins).The well-known Chianti region with places such as Greve, Gaiole and Castellina and its fine wines, lies not far from the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your I Gelsi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
I Gelsi Figline e Incisa Valdarno, Province Of Florence, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing