We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value, pleasant people”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Villa de Leyva
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Sol de La Villa
Ranked #10 of 77 Villa de Leyva B&B and Inns
Manchester
Level Contributor
143 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good Value, pleasant people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Nice place in an interesting building just one block North of the Plaza Mayor (allegedly Latin Americ'a largest) but quiet. Staff were a bit reserved at first but actually very helpful - let me use the laundry when I came back caked in mud from a bike ride. 70 pesos for single use of room and a hearty breakfast. Recommended.

Room Tip: ask to see first
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HalfyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    19
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
18
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2011

Service was really bad! Totally unfriendly and once we paid ( they made us paid in advance) they completly forgot about us. No hot water in the room, breakfast was impossible since they were 5 tables and 100b guests!
To avoid!!!! Very expensive for what you get
Towels not very clean and hair on the pillows

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kellysanchezg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2010

Nice place. The service is really nice and helpfull. They can organize many trips to local sightseeing points.

Rooms are clean and tidy. There is just enough space for guests, the same is in toilets.

You should really come here in december as there is candle light festival and there is light show that lasts more then one hour.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sylvii85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2010

This hotel would be a sighseeing attraction by itself in some less interesting city!

An absolutely perfect location one block from the main square. Every wall of the hotel is painted in different pastel colors making a hotel a masterpiece. We actually walked around for a while just enjoying its artistic value. The rooms are the cleanest and most comfortable we saw in our trip in Colombia. Very friendly service, excellent breakfast, hot water 24 hours a day, WiFi, unlimited drinking water (so you don't have to buy it in the store).

The rate for our room was 80,000 pesos ($40) a night. Before we got here, we saw a few other hotels and this one was way above them.

Last note - during two nights of stay there, we didn't even lock our room in the morning when we left it for the day of sightseeing. Both Villa de Leyva and the hotel itself are very safe and peaceful. Highly recommended it!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alexm262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Villa de Leyva hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel La Posada de San Antonio
Hotel La Posada de San Antonio
#4 of 28 in Villa de Leyva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
3.8 km away
Hotel Casa De Adobe
Hotel Casa De Adobe
#8 of 28 in Villa de Leyva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.6 km away
Hospederia Duruelo
Hospederia Duruelo
#2 of 28 in Villa de Leyva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Antonio Narino
Hotel Antonio Narino
#3 of 28 in Villa de Leyva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Jardines de la Villa
Hotel Jardines de la Villa
#20 of 28 in Villa de Leyva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Campanario de la Villa
Hotel Campanario de la Villa
#5 of 28 in Villa de Leyva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sol de La Villa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sol de La Villa

Property: Hotel Sol de La Villa
Address: Carrera 8, No.12 - 28, Villa de Leyva, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Boyaca Department > Villa de Leyva
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Villa de Leyva
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing