We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely spotless cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Hayes

Cosy Holiday House In Dartmoor Village, Devon
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy Holiday House In Dartmoor Village, Devon
Comfortable Double Bedroom With Plenty Of Storage Cosy Lounge Dining Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Cosy Holiday House In Dartmoor Village, Devon
Comfortable Double Bedroom With Plenty Of Storage
Cosy Lounge Dining Room
Stylish Bathroom With Walk In Modern Shower
Rear Aspect Double With Bunk Single Bed Above & Wardrobe
Well Equipped Modern Kitchen
Bathroom Detail
Beautiful Views Across Dartmoor From Terrace Decking
Al Fresco Dining Outside
5 Traditional Cosy Devon Pubs Within 1 Mile
The Artichoke 12th century pub in Christow
Walled Garden, In the near by village of Dunsford, one of the best Cream Teas around
TophamTown , where your find Dutch houses, from its maritime past
Best UK beaches a short drive away
Haldon Forest cycle trails
Haldon forest not just for cyclist but also has spectacular walks
Cycling at Haldon a forest
Bovey Castle Golf Club Mortonhampstead situated 6.5 miles away
Stover Golf Course situated 16 mins drive away
Teign Valley Golf Course situated a short drive from Christow
Beautiful woodland walks, The Stepping  Stones at the a Mill Dunsford
Steps Bridge Dunsford, follow the river to Clifford Bridge then to Fingle Bridge
Steps Bridge Dunsford beautiful weir
Fingle bridge one of Dartmoor's most visited beauty spot, also enjoy a drink in the pub
Walled Garden Dunsford where on a nice day you can sit in the beautiful gardens
Steps Bridge Dunsford take a walk through the woods following the river Teign
Clapper Bridge at Postbridge on Dartmoor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Christow, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Shrubby85
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely spotless cottage”
Reviewed 10 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed at Hayes cottage in Christow for 4 nights in May and had a wonderful time. The cottage is so comfortable - it has everything you could need in the kitchen and an amazing shower in a very modern bathroom. It's spotlessly clean and everything in it smells beautiful and fresh. We found it very quiet and peaceful at night. The village itself is gorgeous, we enjoyed several walks around and out of the village itself. The village pub is very cosy too and we ate two delicious meals there, it's just a couple of minutes stroll down the lane. Helen the owner was very welcoming and left us a bottle of wine and cupcakes which were an unexpected treat on arrival. We would recommend the cottage without a doubt.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2016
Thank you so much for taking your time to write such a lovely review.
It means a lot to us that our guests have an enjoyable stay. We hope to see you again,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnandsu...
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect cottage for our stay on Dartmoor”
Reviewed 14 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We were also travelling with my elderly Mother, so one of the important reasons why we chose this cottage was that it had a walk-in shower. The cottage had absolutely everything else that we needed and more. Even a clothes line! It was spotlessly clean, warm and newly refurbished. We loved the extra touches of fresh flowers and the delicious cupcakes awaiting our arrival. There was really good information about the cottage, the village and Dartmoor, in a booklet provided by our hosts Helen and Mark. If we ever get back to Dartmoor from NZ we would love to stay there again. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and would welcome you anytime in the future. Thank you for leaving our house as you found it, it's so nice that our guests treat our home with respect, thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xxGEMSxx
1 review
“Fantastic accommodation!”
Reviewed 29 February 2016 for a stay in August 2015

Perfect cottage for families.It has everything you need for a comfortable stay and spotlessly clean throughout with lovely personal touches. Would highly recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2016
Thank you for taking time to review our home, it means a lot to us, that your stay is comfortable and enjoyable. We welcome you back at anytime in the future and thank you for leaving the house as you found it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle8...
1 review
“Great cottage in a lovely location!”
Reviewed 2 December 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed at Hayes toward the end of August we have 3 young children including a 10 month old and The cottage was well suited to all of us. We were very impressed with the cleanliness it was absolutely spotless which is a relief with a crawling baby on the loose.

The value for money is outstanding and the cottage owner Helen was very nice leaving us some wine and cupcakes to enjoy.

We hope to visit again and would recommend this cottage for anyone wanting a break in Devon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Dec 2015
Thank you Michelle for your positive comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in 2016 , thank you for leaving the house the way you found it
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L K
1 review
“Perfect for foreign family especially with young children to visit Dartmoor”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We are infatuated with this house as the location and convenience is perfect for us. Not only all you can see in the photos is genuine to the detail (the roses are exactly what you can see and everytime you check-in!), but what you can't see is the hospitality of Helen and her husband who puts a point in baking cupcakes and placing a bottle of wine for each of the 2 times we stayed in their place this summer. There are toys and games for the children, older and even little ones, and we even took advantage of their barbecue to host a dinner al fresco on the last night. Their cute dogs were a great hit for our children too. From there, we've walked the Dartmoor National Park many times, went to Shaldon beach, ate at the Walled Garden in Dunsford, at the Vanilla Pod in Trusham, at the Coombe Cellars, visited Exeter and sent our eldest to the nearby summer forest camp everyday. There's also a playground at the end of the lane which we used a lot. With a little bit of experience and in comparison with another rental in a nearby locality, this is a much better located place as it also has a country bus 360 linking to Exeter city 5 times a day which stop is just seconds walk at the village shop. The car is a necessity but not everyone has to fit in it and take the same journey when you want to go out. Highly recommend: we will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the dishwasher!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely comments
Look forward to your next visit
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing