We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (280)
Filter reviews
280 results
Traveller rating
227
36
11
6
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
227
36
11
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews underfloor heating english owner atlas mountains berber style local guide day trip huge pool wonderful hotel stayed here for nights mint tea gardens are beautiful adventure park away from the hustle and bustle traditional burger tagine taxi driver retreat
Filter
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 280 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2015

We spent 5 nights here in January, after 5 nights in Marrakech & wish we'd spent less time in the latter & much longer in the former. Paul & his staff are welcoming, helpful & friendly without being intrusive. It was the quietest month in the hotel & we felt more like house guests then hotel guests. All of the staff were kind, gentle people who really seemed to care about us & our needs, especially Mohammed on the reception desk, Fatima the Berber maid, Moustaffa the waiter, and Mohammed the chef (who changed the menu daily). The pace of life is really relaxing & we were very well looked after when we went on a fabulous day trip with Hussein. We also went on several exploratory walks on our own & felt very safe in the beautiful countryside & Berber villages, where children & adults alike greeted us with cries of "Bonjour! Ca va?" Daytime temperatures are really quite pleasant & so long as you have suitable clothing, the cold at sunrise & sunset is not a problem. The underfloor heating makes the Kasbah Angour really cosy & the crackling log fire in the café dining room is wonderful. We had a super view of Paul's beautiful garden, which looks as though it's been established much longer than it in fact has. The whole place had a really special atmosphere & we can't wait to return, which is the highest recommendation we can give.

Room Tip: South facing rooms overlooking the garden let the sunshine in during the winter, but all of the rooms had fabulous views.
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ALAN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2015

Leave the hotel stars outside the door as you enter the peaceful & unexpected world of the Kasbah Angour. After the hustle & bustle of Marrakech, a 45 minute drive brings you to a place of peace, tranquility & the most wonderful views of the Atlas Mountains.

Paul & his team are welcoming & friendly and can offer either a chance to do some solo exploring or provide well organised trips. We did a days mule trekking around the delightful town of Imlil and, to be honest, we didn't think money could buy an experience like this: our Morrocan guide was both informative & and a very interesting person.

The rooms are extremely comfortable and cosy, with underfloor heating: Paul, the owner, showed us around the other rooms and there wasn't any we would be unhappy to stay in. The pool area is lovely - a bit cold for a dip in January for us, but there were some hardy youths staying who seemed to be enjoying it.

You are a bit of a captive audience as far as eating is concerned, but the food is good, and despite previous comments, we found the menu varied from day to day. If you don't try the Eggs Berber Style for breakfast, you're missing a real treat. The bar could be more welcoming and have more atmosphere, but, this apart, a most enjoyable stay and more than doable for a long weekend's break from the UK

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jolleyrats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2015

We stayed for a few days over Christmas, and thoroughly enjoyed it. Very peaceful, excellent food at very reasonable prices, helpful and friendly staff, comfortable bed, incredible views and facilities. Throughly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2015

Wonderfully peaceful purpose built hotel, (not your normal international hotel), built in the local style to fit into its environment, It was less than half full when I was there so probably quieter than usual, in summer there would be more noise around the outdoor pool. Nice introduction to the hotel, it's history and facilities by Paul, then the mint tea before being taken to my room, Dinner is generally slow cooked in the local style so is ordered about 5:30. A good selection of outing are available ( here travelling solo is a downside as the cost per head reduces the more people participating), I took a gentle 7 mile walk from the hotel to see 2 local villages, fields and woodland with a great local guide and a drive to the local market in Ansi and a circular tour of 2 valley and many Berber villages (including a mint tea stop in one of the villages) both outings were 1/2 day.
All in all the perfect place to complement 3 nights in Marrakech

Room Tip: Wifi only in Public rooms
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidM15658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2014

The welcome was warm and friendly & the staff were helpful and willing to cater for the needs of the guests as well as arranging excursions etc. The hotel is situated in a peaceful location, with fascinating views of the Atlas Mountains. The food was fresh and was mainly from the local Berber cuisine - a healthy, tasty and enjoyable option. Either Paul, the owner or Saeed his deputy manager was always accessible and approachable. The grounds are immaculately kept & safe to explore, enjoying the beautiful plants and flowers. Rooms are presented and kept to a high standard and furnishing represented examples of Berber design. The Bar area was comfortably furnished and had lots of cushions. I have already recomended Kasbar Angour to family members & personally look forward to a second visit.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Caz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews