We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good Guesthouse” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Penzy Guesthouse

Penzy Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Penzy Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 64 Chaweng B&B and Inns
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good Guesthouse”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2011

This is a very pleasent guesthouse with really friendly owners. The place is spotless. The room was a great size, with en-suite, tv, fridge and free wi-fi.

It is situated at the quieter end of chewang beach, which is fine. Lots of places to eat and drink within 2 minutes walk.

The only problem with the guesthouse, is that it is opposite the only club at the south end of the road. It is loud from 10pm to 2:30am. The owners recognise this, and warned us, and offered us earplugs. But i still think it is worth it, great place, great price, great hosts that booked everything we needed.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davadking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenzyGuesthouse, Owner at Penzy Guesthouse, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Great News, the loud bar was demolished a year and a half ago in May, 2011.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    38
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
2
45
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2011

I was there with my boyfriend in November just before full moon..
Penzy and Dave have been really nice to us,by booking taxis and boat for excursions, telling us every good places to visit..

Everything there is really clean and friendly if I go back in Koh Samui, I'm gonna book there once again without any hesitation!!! ;)

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelimelOune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

We lived at Penzy guesthous for 6 nights, David and Penzy are the most welcoming hosts we have ever met. They made our week in Samui, and we highly recomend everyone to stay here. The rooms was cleaned daily and had a dvd player. They helped us organize a island tour and transportation too the airport.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linn-kristin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, SK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2011

The place was great, GREAT staff members (Penzy and David can arrange all your needs and help with discounts), great accommodations, free wifi, coffee, dvds, air con, nice little balcony for people who smoke. Great location for venturing off to the beach. If there is one thing that could've been better, I wished the guesthouse was more near the bar scene as in (Henry, Green Mango, or wherever most of the bars are). It is a bit of a walk 20-30min to the bars which isn't that big of a deal but at night you may not wanna be walking home alone cause in some spots its dark. Other than that, I'd rate this place easily 98%

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KIMCHI-LIFE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

Everything about this place was perfect until we got back at 12:30am and it was like we were in the Nightclub, very noisy, although previously warned, we didn't expect it to be this bad, luckily we had ear plugs!! If you book here, request a room at the back, i suspect it would be much quieter.
Internet also very good in our room, but we were on 1st floor.
Loved DVD player and selection of DVD's in reception, very handy when it rains(which it did most of the time) also great perk 24hr coffee.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenzyGuesthouse, Owner at Penzy Guesthouse, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Great News, the loud bar was demolished a year and a half ago in May, 2011. It's all quiet now so you can leave the earplugs at home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.2 km away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.2 km away
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
0.8 km away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
First Residence Hotel
First Residence Hotel
#39 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.4 km away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.1 km away
Baan Talay Resort
Baan Talay Resort
#26 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penzy Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penzy Guesthouse

Property: Penzy Guesthouse
Address: 37/75 Moo. 3, Soi Alibaba | T.Bophut, Koh Samui, Suratthani, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Chaweng
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,501 - ₹ 4,026
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Penzy Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Ctrip TA so you can book your Penzy Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penzy Guesthouse Hotel Chaweng
Penzy Guesthouse Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing