We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good value for outskirts of Chaweng.....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chaweng Bay View Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chaweng Bay View Resort
Ranked #54 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good value for outskirts of Chaweng.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

We booked this place after reading reviews on TA and it looked like the best value for money. Through my fatigue of looking for a place, I didn't do my research properly and thought it was on/near the beach from a previous review I read, the title of the hotel should have given it away, but let me assure you it's not on or near the beach and after looking we couldn't find any easy access to the beach, the hotel say just turn right and then left, their English is quite limited. We found this a problem all along Chaweng Beach as most of the front has buildings on it, Lamai was much easier. We hired a bike from the hotel so we able to drive there but wouldn't fancy the walk there and back. We walked once in the evening, it took 20 mins to get to the start of the main strip and there is hardly any pavement or lighting on route.

We checked into our room and it was near the pool, very nice, large, clean and with great views. The only problem was it wasn't like the room I remembered booking, when I reviewed my booking.com reservation it said one-bedroom villa, private balcony, spa bath, this had neither. We checked with reception, they said no, only the executive villas have a spa, so I queried my booking with the agent. I also took a copy of my booking which said 'one-bedroom villa' along with pictures of a spa to reception, they said booking.com had got the wrong pictures on the wrong named rooms, the room names do not correlate with the hotel website, but I argued that this was what I thought I booked. Reception said this had happened before but that they would honour the booking but it would only be the day after, fair enough. Note - this has now been changed on booking.com but just making people aware.

We were moved the next day to the one bedroom villa, which was further done the hill, quite dark but clean, I preferred the other room but it was what we booked, my husband preferred the villa he thought it was quirky and liked the spa, its personal taste. The walk to the breakfast was also a bit further but hey it got the heart rate going in the morning.

The breakfast was very good and generous at times, it isn't buffet as people have mentioned, but we prefer not to have food that's been cooked and left out for ages. We had cereal, fruit, juice, toast, eggs etc etc and it was all good.

The pool is next to the restaurant and has great views, my only comment is they need more beds and more umbrellas, the sun can be quite harsh and there are only 2 umbrellas that we saw for 10 beds.

We used the laundry service while there and a previous reviewer was spot on with how fresh they smelt, we did question being charged for 8kgs, but hey we didn't have a scales.

Overall, good value for money for a standard room in Chaweng, I wouldn't pay for the spa villa and location is fine if you want to be away from the hustle and bustle and dont mind walking back and forth.

Room Tip: Rooms by the pool have the best view but means a long walk down the hill and up unless you have a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thewelshkiwiconnection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    40
    10
    8
    5
See reviews for
9
41
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights and loved it. We had a room with a jacuzzi outside and the kids enjoyed playing in it. Our room was number 5 and adjacent to the pool - which meant there was no steep hill for us. We dined at the restaurant many times and we all loved it. Our package included breakfast and we had copious amounts of food which we could never finish. The staff were all gorgeous, Joe, the guy in the restaurant was delighful and spoke good English. The view from our room and the pool area is absolutely stunning.
The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from downtown but this suited us, as I didn't really want to be hearing music pumping all night with 2 kids in tow. One thing, that was a bit annoying is that the curtains don't have a blockout lining - so my kids were up before 6.30 am each day!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KatyHowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venezia, Italia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

The villas are located between the hills and is it very private and quite. The road from the reception to the rooms is very steepy but it is worth it the effort! Big windows allow to see the vegetation and it is very romantic. Breakfast in the morning near the pool it is the best thing because you have a spectacular view of the bay. The centre can be reached in 10 min by tuc-tuc (do not pay more than 100 baht for it) or you can rent a scooter from the hotel (250 baht) and keep it for 24hours. The scooter is a good idea because you can even reach the villa!
The centre is a long long road with thousands of shops and restaurants so a scooter from the hotel could be the perfect solution. The staff is very helpful and smily, you can even book tours and safari from the hotel. Rooms are clean and spacious. For breakfast you need to choose in the morning what to get and try to understand the girl offering different things (eggs, toast, cereals, pancake, juices). Laundry service is cheap and good. The pool is very nice and open until late, 10 pm, and it is very romantic to stay there with just the lights in the evening.
Book a taxi from the hotel before arriving because it is cheaper than booking it at the airport. And hope the flight is on time!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erikabello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galway
Level Contributor
107 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

Stayed for 3 days. Hotel is central to all activities. Hotel is directly on the beach. The breakfast is very basic, but very well presented. This hotel is not expensive, but well priced. Close to resaraunts and pubs.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

I did a 2 nights stay at Chaweng Bay View in april 2012. Here are the main points

- rooms are nice and big, well equipped and very quiet and clean. Housekeeping is very good

- breakfast is very good with the choice of hot and cold drinks, fruits, scrambled eggs, toasts, ham and fruit. Quantity is limited though (no buffet)

- staff was very helpful and efficient

- the hotel is on a hill, so you have to walk up hill to your room evry time. Thus this is not a place for people with small kids

- the hotel is in norther Chaweng, on the main road, 20 minutes by walking to the very centre and nightlife (i mainly walked and that's no big deal)

- should you choose to rent a motorbike, the hotel can have one brought to you in about 10 minutes, but the motorbikes have no insurance at all, so be very careful (consequences in case of an accident with third party corporal damages can be huge). For the reason i choosed to walk

Although this has nothing to do with the hotel, be careful of street dogs in Chaweng, i was bitten by one while walking in the street (no closed to the hotel, but in the centre of Chaweng), and it's burdensome since you need anti-rabbia injections and have the wound cleaned every day

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Moon_Parigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
5.2 km away
Marco Polo Resort & Restaurant
1.2 km away
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
#45 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.8 km away
Maryoo Hotel
Maryoo Hotel
#97 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Samui Bayview Resort & Spa
Samui Bayview Resort & Spa
#58 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
3.7 km away
Seascape Beach Resort
Seascape Beach Resort
#65 of 104 in Chaweng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.6 km away
Papillon Resort
Papillon Resort
#47 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaweng Bay View Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaweng Bay View Resort

Property: Chaweng Bay View Resort
Address: 9/39 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach | Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,352 - ₹ 5,578
Hotel Class:3 star — Chaweng Bay View Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Chaweng Bay View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaweng Bay View Hotel Chaweng
Chaweng Bay View Resort Ko Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing