We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$ 195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
KC Resort & Over Water Villas(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$ 209
US$ 93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sareeraya Villas & Suites(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$ 262
US$ 219
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 263/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Muang Samui Spa Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$ 287
US$ 178
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 248/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$ 241
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 61
US$ 55
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amari Koh Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$ 170
US$ 125
Amari.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 152/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Nora Buri Resort & Spa(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$ 176
US$ 134
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 178/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Chaweng Regent Beach Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$ 193
US$ 123
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 161/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
65
117
40
16
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
117
40
16
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachgreat hotelclean roomsbathroom smeltstayed here for nightschaweng beachhotel is locatedhotel staffwould stay againtuk tuknice balconyroom was largethe main strippleasant staygreat poolthe air conditioningsun loungers
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 252 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

When we got to the hotel we were very impressed with the greeting we received. We got a tray of juice drinks on arrival and had a receptionist called Cindy to went over and above to check us in. However the actual rooms aren't as nice as the website makes them out to be. They're still clean regardless though so they were ok. Pool was clean. This hotel is quiet far away from central Chaweng (10 min taxi ride) so not really ideal. They also had a private beach with their sister hotel but there wasn't anything special or 'private' about it. 6 different people approached us to buy bracelets and floaties and wouldn't leave until we did. Overall, it's a nice hotel in relation to the cost but nothing to really shout about.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Laura6053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

Staff really helpful. Clean hotel. Good air conditioning. No mosquito netting or anything so the first night one of the girls ended up with insects in the bed but the staff handled it really well, moved them when it happened at 5 in the morning and deep cleaned the room the next day. Breakfast was average fair, at little overpriced maybe, just eggs, yoghurt and fruit really. Overall a good stay for the price paid.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Anna May G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

The staff is really friendly and happy to suggest sum good places to visit around.. the rooms are spacious and clean. 2 swimming pools well maintained. Their private beach is added bonous and it's
Located in a peaceful area with around 3 kms distance to the happening places.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank meetiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piyaporn2509, Manager at First Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear meetiu,

thanks a lot for your kind review. Looking forward to welcome you again here at First Residence.

With kind regards
the management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

This hotel is located in the quiet part of Chaweng. There are several restaurants nearby but mostly driven by foreigners. You have Dutch - Thai, German - Thai, Russian - Thai, but not many Thai - Just Thai. As I missed.
The room was large and spacious, air con good, the beds were quite good and you can take a hot shower with no problems. The only thing I did not like was that it was not safe in the room. You have to take your valuables down to the front desk where they hold it for you.
The pool seemed OK but we did not use it much since the best part with this hotel is the private beach. It's not far at all and it was not crowded when we were there. Chaweng seemed like a place where you live in a beach hotel, but it can be quite expensive. Choosing First Resident Hotel gives you more for your money.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Hoppetussa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piyaporn2509, Manager at First Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear Hoppetussa,

thank you so much for your nice and detailed review. To read your recommendation made us all very proud. Hoping to see you again sometime!

With kind regards

the management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

Our bed sheets were stained, the bed side lamp was broken with dangerous wires coming loose from a broken electrical socket, damp and mould on the walls, bathroom tiles were cracked. The entire standard of the place was absolutely unacceptable and wouldn't have been justifiable at even half the price we paid.
We asked to speak to a manager who we showed the above room faults to. Upon seeing these he acknowledged the issues and said he would need to speak to his boss. He proceeded to call the hotel manager who refused to speak to us in person and offered no explanation for the above other than that the hotel was old and in need of rennovation. They did not even offer to change the dirty sheets; something that would have been easily rectifiable.
After at first refusing, the hotel manager finally agreed to speak to me over the phone. I reiterated our disappointments and she repeated there was nothing she was prepared to do. I explained that we had taken pictures of the room and asked how she would feel about these being posted in an honest review of the hotel online. Her response was that we could 'do what we liked' and she then hung up the phone call.
We felt very upset by this experience; after travelling extensively in South East Asia and meeting wonderful, hospitable people everywhere we have stayed this was a real shock and by far the worst I have ever been treated by any hosts. Our demands were in no way unreasonable but we had been made to feel as though we were in the wrong for speaking up. We left with no apology and not even a goodbye from the hotel staff or management. They were clearly not interested in resolving our bad experience. To put it simply they have stopped caring what their guests think; the very worst thing that anyone in hospitality could do.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews