We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, great staff ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
First Residence Hotel
Ranked #47 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

When we got to the hotel we were very impressed with the greeting we received. We got a tray of juice drinks on arrival and had a receptionist called Cindy to went over and above to check us in. However the actual rooms aren't as nice as the website makes them out to be. They're still clean regardless though so they were ok. Pool was clean. This hotel is quiet far away from central Chaweng (10 min taxi ride) so not really ideal. They also had a private beach with their sister hotel but there wasn't anything special or 'private' about it. 6 different people approached us to buy bracelets and floaties and wouldn't leave until we did. Overall, it's a nice hotel in relation to the cost but nothing to really shout about.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Laura6053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

Staff really helpful. Clean hotel. Good air conditioning. No mosquito netting or anything so the first night one of the girls ended up with insects in the bed but the staff handled it really well, moved them when it happened at 5 in the morning and deep cleaned the room the next day. Breakfast was average fair, at little overpriced maybe, just eggs, yoghurt and fruit really. Overall a good stay for the price paid.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Anna May G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

The staff is really friendly and happy to suggest sum good places to visit around.. the rooms are spacious and clean. 2 swimming pools well maintained. Their private beach is added bonous and it's
Located in a peaceful area with around 3 kms distance to the happening places.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank meetiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piyaporn2509, Manager at First Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear meetiu,

thanks a lot for your kind review. Looking forward to welcome you again here at First Residence.

With kind regards
the management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

This hotel is located in the quiet part of Chaweng. There are several restaurants nearby but mostly driven by foreigners. You have Dutch - Thai, German - Thai, Russian - Thai, but not many Thai - Just Thai. As I missed.
The room was large and spacious, air con good, the beds were quite good and you can take a hot shower with no problems. The only thing I did not like was that it was not safe in the room. You have to take your valuables down to the front desk where they hold it for you.
The pool seemed OK but we did not use it much since the best part with this hotel is the private beach. It's not far at all and it was not crowded when we were there. Chaweng seemed like a place where you live in a beach hotel, but it can be quite expensive. Choosing First Resident Hotel gives you more for your money.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Hoppetussa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piyaporn2509, Manager at First Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear Hoppetussa,

thank you so much for your nice and detailed review. To read your recommendation made us all very proud. Hoping to see you again sometime!

With kind regards

the management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

Our bed sheets were stained, the bed side lamp was broken with dangerous wires coming loose from a broken electrical socket, damp and mould on the walls, bathroom tiles were cracked. The entire standard of the place was absolutely unacceptable and wouldn't have been justifiable at even half the price we paid.
We asked to speak to a manager who we showed the above room faults to. Upon seeing these he acknowledged the issues and said he would need to speak to his boss. He proceeded to call the hotel manager who refused to speak to us in person and offered no explanation for the above other than that the hotel was old and in need of rennovation. They did not even offer to change the dirty sheets; something that would have been easily rectifiable.
After at first refusing, the hotel manager finally agreed to speak to me over the phone. I reiterated our disappointments and she repeated there was nothing she was prepared to do. I explained that we had taken pictures of the room and asked how she would feel about these being posted in an honest review of the hotel online. Her response was that we could 'do what we liked' and she then hung up the phone call.
We felt very upset by this experience; after travelling extensively in South East Asia and meeting wonderful, hospitable people everywhere we have stayed this was a real shock and by far the worst I have ever been treated by any hosts. Our demands were in no way unreasonable but we had been made to feel as though we were in the wrong for speaking up. We left with no apology and not even a goodbye from the hotel staff or management. They were clearly not interested in resolving our bad experience. To put it simply they have stopped caring what their guests think; the very worst thing that anyone in hospitality could do.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
3.1 km away
City Dance Hotel
City Dance Hotel
#31 of 104 in Chaweng
91 reviews
0.8 km away
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
0.9 km away
Samui Verticolor
Samui Verticolor
#68 of 104 in Chaweng
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
First Bungalow Beach Resort
1.1 km away
Marco Polo Resort & Restaurant
2.6 km away
Behind The Scene Hotel Club @ Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Residence Hotel

Address: 27/6 Moo 3 Chaweng Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: ₹ 1,538 - ₹ 4,678 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — First Residence Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Ctrip TA so you can book your First Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Residence Hotel
First Residence Hotel Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing