We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Ranked #10 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Kirriemuir, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

I came here with a friend's family and it is a lovely hotel. The staff are very friendly, though they don't understand much english, but there are a whole variety of different peoples at the hotel. The place its self does not look as good as the photos make out, but it has a warm atmosphere and the markets and restaurants are just outside. The food is pretty good, if not a little expensive, but the service is excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJtheOrca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,131
    695
    204
    77
    49
See reviews for
614
1,095
47
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire, UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

Could not speak highly enough of the "all round deal". The pool/beach are in very close proximity which is great, the quality of the food (both Thai and European cuisine) was outstanding, rooms comfortable but the overall piece de resistance is the attitude and attention to service/detail on the part of the staff. The gym facilities are great. We returned yesterday having spent two weeks on a family holiday. We stayed half board but many guests stayed on a bed and breakfast basis. You can eat out cheaply in Chaweng but if you eat in the hotel, it works out more cost effective to stay half board. There are a plethora of restaurants in easy walking distance. Room had a plunge pool (only on ground floor rooms) which was an added bonus to cool off in afternoons. All in all extremely relaxing and would return without hesitation. Recommend strongly.

Room Tip: The rooms on the gym/beach side of the hotel seemed to be better When you arrive you will be offere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank archibald75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012 via mobile

This is the second time for us to stay at Centara Samui and whilst the resort is looking at little run down the staff, service and food is very good. If you want to stay on Chaweng Beach this is the end to stay and Centara's beach is beautiful. The northern end of the beach is like a swamp and if you have kids steer clear at night unless you're looking for booming club music and an attempt on replicating Ibiza. The Thai cooking class was awesome and my two teenage boys loved it too which for a couple of boofy rugby players that was surprising. Great pool and activities for the kids. Try the Coco Loco cocktail at the swim up bar. Its a winner. Also, walk down the beach to Poppies resort for dinner one night, the chilli lime fish is a cracking dish. Order plenty of water because they dont miss you with the chillies.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Ooost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

We ended our three week trip to Thailand at the Centara. The resort did not meet our expectations. Although the beach is fabulous here, the rooms are lousy. We tried 3 different rooms, but each one was awful. The rooms were outdated, the bathrooms had mildew, the showers didn't work properly, and the king bed was two double beds pushed together. This place looks great from the street and the ocean, but don't be fooled, this is not a five star resort.

Room Tip: Try and get a room in buildings 1-3. The other buildings are near the road which can get noisy, esp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCSBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear Rick,

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to provide us with this invaluable feedback, however I am deeply disappointed to hear your comments regarding your stay relating to the quality of our rooms. I fear this is due to our high occupancy and it is sometimes difficult for us to provide appropriate room change allocations to all of our guest. We do have room upgrades planned for later this year and assure you that afterwards our rooms will be of a higher standard. I would like to use this opportunity to welcome you to stay with us again next year so we may show you that we have listened and learned from your critique.

With renewed apologies,

Danny McCafferty
General Manager
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

We have just got back from 10 days at the Grand Centara, Koh Samui. We took our family of four there and it was the perfect resort for children. The location was excellent - I would say the posh end of Chaweng Beach. The pool is great, not to mention the surrounding beautiful tropical gardens. The beach on the resort is also excellent with soft, white clean sand and clear waters. The breakfast is great. Luckily we got there on the 11th July and left on the 21st of July so the resort was not too crowded, although we noticed it was getting alot busier around breakfast towards our last days. The staff are friendly, from the those manning the towel kiosk, to the ladies who clean the rooms. The restaurant at the resort - Sea Breezes is very good also. Furthermore, I would thoroughly recommend a visit to Poppies Restaurant just down the road. You can access it by a short walk along the beach. The presentation and food quality is outstanding. My 11 year old son is now hooked on duck from this experience! The hotel is an oasis from the busy streets. The little treats you get for afternoon tea are a nice touch - either pieces of fruit or dried fruit/museli bars.
The only drawback of Koh Samui is the ongoing roadworks which make walking a bit tricky.
Just a suggestion - could a sign be created to change towels but leave linen on the bed? Sometimes it is hard to dry wet towls but the linen could last for a few days and would be good for the environment.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Deluxe Pool Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
2.3 km away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,186 reviews
0.6 km away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
0.4 km away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
10.3 km away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
0.4 km away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Property: Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Address: 38/2 Moo 3, Borpud | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,378 - ₹ 21,574
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located along Chaweng, Koh Samui’s finest beach. Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui offers first class Thai hospitality. Enjoy the exceptional facilities of this award winning deluxe resort which combines the spirit and culture of the island with a tranquil ambiance and sheer beauty. A choice destination for lovers of water sports in particular and everyone in general. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Fastbooking so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Hotel Chaweng
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Hotel Centara Grand Beach
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing