We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Ranked #10 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Masterton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

Gorgeous resort which is more 4 star rather than 5 due to it being rather tired in the rooms, But the beach is fantastic with a huge sea net (only one on the beach we saw) and loads and loads of loungers fon the grass area and gardens, around the pool and on the beach. Friendly staff are always on hand to assist with the relocation of the loungers from in or out of the shade.
We loved the location as the main road was parallel to the beach so the resort is placed in between.We heard no road or traffic noise.
Possibly the main hub of town (Coffee Club, McDonalds, Burger King, Boots Chemist) was a 15 minute walk away but the stores/shops at the Centara end are just as good.
The breakfast buffet was huge and included 3-4 different types of donuts (!) and a large roast beef ready to be carved.
We stayed on the top floor and had great views of the gardens and beach. Bathroom is a decent size.
The staff are friendly and smiling and very keen to make your stay an enjoyable one.
I liked the "library" which had a very good supply of books that could be borrowed.
Sea was warm and clear.

Room Tip: If you stay on the top floor you will get fit going up and down the stairs all the time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KMBH01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,203
    724
    214
    88
    52
See reviews for
658
1,160
49
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

This really is a great place to stay. If you can stay in one of the rooms with a plunge pool, it's so refreshing after a warm day in the sun. Overall what really sets this hotel apart is the quality of the service, every staff member is very friendly and keen to make your stay a memorable one.
We will definitely return here again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PMills2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
243 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

Stayed for 6nights at the end of a 3 week trip round Thailand. Samui is a lovely island and alot ncier than Phucket. The resort looks amazing upon arrival when you drive upto the grand colonial reception building. Staff are friendly and helpful. I had a club room upgrade which was great and my top level ocean facing room was spacious, clean bright and a a nice view over rhe gardens, pool breakfast area and to the beach. My only issue with the room was that on quite a few days in would come back to my room at between 6 and 7pm after a day at the pool and would find the cleaners only getting round to servicing the room then. Free internet in the club lounge was an added bonus. It is a very large resort and was very busy with families - this was only a problem at breakfast sometimes when it was difficult to find a seat but near the end of the trip they had opened up another eating area to accomodate the numbers. Breakfast was great - so much choice and good quality. There are plenty of eating options at rhe resort and in Chaweng but i cant not recommend the onsite Deli and bakery enough - the staff there were lovely and by the end of my stay knew my order as soon as i walked in. The food in the deli was so fresh and yummy and great value. The gardens were spacious and there were also plenty of activites for young and old guests going on daily. The pool area was lovely though maybe for the size of the resort a second pool would have been nice especially when water volleyball took up on section as it could then get crowded. There was a bar in the pool and ots of staff going round for snacks and drinks.. It is right on the beach as well, where there are locals selling drinks and food, gifts and massages. The sea is great to swim in as well. There are lots of jet skis along Chaweng beach which does get abit annoying with the noise of them wizzing up and down but that is only a small issue. The hotel is based at the quieter end of Chaweng and is about 15min walk along the main street to where the main basr and clubs are which is good cause means it is quiet at night for sleeping. The Ark bar is one of the most popular and is very chilled out and relaxed at night. Walking back from the main Chaweng area at night is fine and safe and i was a solo female but there plenty of taxis if you want. I did a great trip round the island which included an elephant trek and also i was there during full moon so i got a speedboat with taxi to and from the resort to Koh Phangan for the night - its a good way to experience full moon without staying in hat rin. Really enjoyed my stay at this resort and would recommend it to anyone staying in Samui. As i had a late flight on checkout day i was able to use the facilities at the gym to shower and change after a day at the pool which is good as it was over 40 degrees on a few days of my trip. Would deffo return to Samui and this resort and that is not something i could say about other places i visited on my travels in Thailand though one week is probably enough to see everything and relax at your lesiure.

Room Tip: Upgrading to a club room is good value for the extra service and amenities included in the club leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pen10poppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

This is the second time we have stayed here. The last time was 5 years ago and I would say that some features are looking a little tired. However, this is made up ten times over by the friendly staff and beautiful environment. Nothing is too much trouble and the beach well wow!!
Worth taking advantage of the club room as for a little extra you get a lot of value.

Room Tip: Ask for the club room advantage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ann and Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
137 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Just returned from the Centara Grand Beach resort koh somui, lovely hotel and beach location. Thai staff very friendly and helpful. Grounds were fab, great location on the beach. If you put down £200 credit when you arrive they give you an extra £100, if you put down £400 credit they give you an extra £200 and so on This can be spent on food & drink in any restaurant, bar in the hotel, note you can't use this for tips. Bottled Water is provided free in your room. We had a deluxe room with pool. Wish the pool area had some sunlight, instead of being fully covered in. Room was lovely, but air conditioning was noisy & room still very warm so also had to use the fan. Our favorite restaurant was the Spice Thai, the food was great. Happy hours 2for1 in the sea breeze between 4 and 6, then in the island bar 6 and 8. Singha beer is 130 baht in the hotel, wine is 199 baht a glass, between 1000 & 1700 baht a bottle. The palm grove is the breakfast restaurant, which also very good, plenty of choice. This also changes themes each night. The Hagi Japanese was also very good.
There is pool or beach service for drinks & food, they have posts with buzzers on & hanging menus, you push the buzzer & a waiter comes & takes your order, great idea!
Staff are great at this hotel.
When you first walk out onto Chaweng it is quite a contrast to the hotel! If you turn right and keep walking you do find some reasonable bars & cafes, restaurants etc most do cocktails 2for1 from between 100baht &150 baht. Singha is 70baht. The market has some bargains on a tues, thurs& sat. Also have plenty of cocktail bars at 50baht! Has quite an atmosphere & Thai people so friendly. If you buy anything barter, barter, barter and you can get the prices right down.

The Spirit House restaurant definitely worth a visit converted temple, the grounds you can walk round are great. People really friendly and food very good. Inspired by this place! Turn right out of hotel, keep on the left side and walk about 100 yards, restuarant down a side street on left.

Room Tip: Deluxe pool rooms are nice, but dont get the sun as they have covered the pool area in. Ok if it ra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsDigibit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
2.3 km away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,278 reviews
0.6 km away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
0.5 km away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
0.4 km away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
2.5 km away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Property: Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Address: 38/2 Moo 3, Borpud | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,696 - ₹ 17,658
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui is a long-established resort that sits right on Chaweng Beach, a tranquil location that yet provides easy access to Central Festival for shopping and the ever-present buzz of Chaweng Road. Complete with the old world charm of colonial-era architecture and an unparalleled beach front setting, the resort is home to a host of facilities and activities, including a beautiful spa, complimentary Yoga classes a large sea-gazing swimming pool with its own swim-up pool bar and Jacuzzi, a fitness centre, two tennis courts and two kids clubs. You’ll enjoy no less than seven restaurants and bars, including COAST Beach Club & Bistro. Perfect for the most tranquil romantic escape or an adventuresome family holiday, the resort also features Muay Thai classes, beach volleyball, and a choice of water sports – think kayaking, windsurfing, sailing, Hobie Catamaran, body boarding and paddle boarding - as well as superb snorkelling and island hopping excursions around Koh Samui and diving opportunities arranged respectively by the tour desk and the PADI Dive Centre. Whether holidaying in Samui just the two of you or with the family, you will enjoy views of over the turquoise expanse of the Gulf of Thailand from your balcony or a private plunge pool. Spaciousness is a feature with all rooms and suites, with total living space ranging from 40 to 132 square metres while selected suites also provide concierge services. And your good times will begin almost from the minute you touch down on the island, as the resort is a short 15-minute drive from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Hotel Chaweng
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Hotel Centara Grand Beach
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing