We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Ranked #10 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
London
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

I don't really want to rave about this hotel, because it may encourage too many people to go and we'll have trouble getting a room! This is in a super location on the absolutely beautiful Chaweng beach. Chaweng is very touristy and has loads of bars, restaurants, and of course massage parlours, but when you have had enough of that, you just return to the peace and tranquility of the Centara. it is beautifully kept, the gardens are lovely, the staff helpful and friendly and the food is excellent. The rooms are spacious, and we had a lovely sea view from our balcony. We paid 500 baht a week for internet access which was well worth it - access is good all over the hotel. The themed dinners were beautifully presented and good value - the only thing that bumps up the price is the cost of wine, but that is expensive wherever you go I think.
There were one or two little niggles - we arrived at about 10:30 p.m. and our room was not ready, and neither was the one that a very embarrassed front desk assistant showed us as the alternative. After 3 days, I had to enquire how often the towels were changed (answer every day) because ours had not been, and in that climate they tend to remain damp.
We hardly used the pool because the beach is so lovely and the sea is warm and great for swimming, but it is quite a good pool, not overcrowded, and there is a jacuzzi too.
Overall it was one of our best holidays ever, and we are DEFINITELY going back - same hotel, same room if we can get it, but most of the rooms have a good outlook over the sea.so it's not a problem.

Room Tip: I think building 1, 2 or 7 & 8 probably have the best views with more privacy (but more stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DinyDoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,201
    724
    214
    87
    53
See reviews for
657
1,160
49
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Aussie
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Stayed at the Centara Grand Samui with my husband in April. The resort is at the quiet end of Chaweng and only a 15 minute walk on the beach to the busy end ( longer if you walk on the street). There are lots of beach side restaurants to choose from and the dining at Centara is also lovely. We hired a car and drove around the island to explore it at our own pace, this was a great idea as there are so many less touristy places to see. The shopping on the other side of the island in Narthon was great, quite cheap and not too much haggling.
Dr Frogs Restaurant was a favorite for us, but to make the most of the magic location you need to go before it gets dark as it has spectacular views overlooking the ocean and Chaweng beach. Twisted Thai is another restaurant worth a visit, but dont expect it to be the usual, it is a different take on Thai food, quite an experience.
I would not hesitate in reccomending Grand Centara Resort, the staff and management are wonderful and nothing is too much trouble. We will be returning next year with our daughters and Grand Centara is where we will stay. Wonderful!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AussieBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Macquarie
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We have travelled through Thailand quite a few times now, one of our favourite destinations. This was our third visit to Koh Samui,and as before we love being on the island. We have had the pleasure of having stayed previously at another hotel, and thought this time it would be nice to stay at the Centara Grand Beach. This hotel did not disappoint us at all. As expected from having stayed with Centara Grand on Phuket and Krabi, there is definitely a standard here with this group. That is to make your stay comfortable and affordable, with excellent service and accommodations. Yes the rooms may be a little out dated. So what! Newsflash ! This hotel is not brand new. I think some people expect the impossible.Rooms are very clean and have everything you need, fantastic views, big beds,comfortable pillows,( pillow menu is provided) and a decent sized bathroom. This Grand Resort offers access to beautifully kept gardens, pool and beach.There is easy access to the shops if that is your thing. You can walk along the beach to visit the many other restaurants and bars. As well as plenty of open space in the resort grounds to sit and relax quietly under trees or by the pool and beach,you don't get that very often. I would certainly recommend and re visit next time I am on Samui. Thanks guys. Very happy .

Room Tip: We had room 823... friends had 838, both were quiet and had lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LVL143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We arrived at the Hotel at around 11pm and check in was quick and with a smile. The front reception made us feel very welcome. This is the first time since we have been travelling to Thailand that we received interconnecting room to start with. We stayed in a Deluxe Rooms overlooking the garden and the beach, we could also see the pool. Room nos. 326 and 327 one level up from reception.

The rooms where clean and tidy and the beds/pillows so comfortable. Housekeeping was superb and the staff very friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. Plenty of bottle water daily. We paid for the internet unlimited (visit was 8 days) and the cost was 999 baht and no problems with internet speed or connection.

Buffet breakfast daily was fantastic with a great selection. The pool was also great not to mention this resort is on the best part of Chaweng Beach. The pool towels are a bit dated but served their purpose. Pool food was fantastic and very reasonably priced. Cocktails around $9.00 Australian. Themed dinners on offer each night prices ranged from 600-900 baht for the buffet plus drinks.

Location is very central and you can easily walk into town or catch a tuk tuk at 50 baht per person (maximum price).

The tour desk within the hotel is very helpful and can book any tour you like even if you pick up a brochure from the street, the tour desk can book/confirm it for you.

Also on check-in you are given a free 15 minutes voucher for the Day Spa but if you would like to take this up make sure you book straight away as they have limited spots. We used the Massage place directly across the road or on the beach as the prices are much cheaper.

Room Tip: Definitely make sure you can a room that overlooks the garden and the beach area and preferable on l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 101holidaylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Stayed 6 nights. This hotel was absolutely beautiful. I was worried as people mentioned it was a bit older so I was really impressed when I got there. The lobby is beautiful & all the gardens are lovely to walk around. I liked the themed buffets each night with entertainment. Since it was our anniversary we got a really great surprise to celebrate! The receptionist also called us when we first checked in to make sure we were happy with the room. We were very impressed with this.

Housekeeping was very thorough & tidied up our things which was great. Loved having a nice neat room to come back to. The only complaint is there's not enough space to put shampoo, conditioner etc in the shower (only a minor thing though). The direct beach access was wonderful. There were plenty of activities run by the hotel which families would like. The breakfast was the best - loved the smoked salmon. The only thing missing was Eggs Benedict.

Staff were super friendly & always greeted us & smiled as we walked about the building. Loved our stay here so much!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oodavski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
2.3 km away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,275 reviews
0.6 km away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
0.5 km away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
0.4 km away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
2.5 km away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Property: Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Address: 38/2 Moo 3, Borpud | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,825 - ₹ 17,841
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui is a long-established resort that sits right on Chaweng Beach, a tranquil location that yet provides easy access to Central Festival for shopping and the ever-present buzz of Chaweng Road. Complete with the old world charm of colonial-era architecture and an unparalleled beach front setting, the resort is home to a host of facilities and activities, including a beautiful spa, complimentary Yoga classes a large sea-gazing swimming pool with its own swim-up pool bar and Jacuzzi, a fitness centre, two tennis courts and two kids clubs. You’ll enjoy no less than seven restaurants and bars, including COAST Beach Club & Bistro. Perfect for the most tranquil romantic escape or an adventuresome family holiday, the resort also features Muay Thai classes, beach volleyball, and a choice of water sports – think kayaking, windsurfing, sailing, Hobie Catamaran, body boarding and paddle boarding - as well as superb snorkelling and island hopping excursions around Koh Samui and diving opportunities arranged respectively by the tour desk and the PADI Dive Centre. Whether holidaying in Samui just the two of you or with the family, you will enjoy views of over the turquoise expanse of the Gulf of Thailand from your balcony or a private plunge pool. Spaciousness is a feature with all rooms and suites, with total living space ranging from 40 to 132 square metres while selected suites also provide concierge services. And your good times will begin almost from the minute you touch down on the island, as the resort is a short 15-minute drive from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Hotel Chaweng
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Hotel Centara Grand Beach
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing