We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort, great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Ranked #5 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great resort, great value”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Our group of 6 had an amazing time, and we intend to return next year.
At the airport they found us with cold towels and colder bottles of water, exactly what you need in 36 degree heat. While checking in we were given lais and juice, a nice touch.
In all the service was excellent and we found 99 percent of the staff extremely friendly, and amazing to our 3 children.
Bring musquito repellant if you're going to be sitting on your porch alot at night, the shrubbery is beautiful, but buggy.
Great breakfast, great beach, great area of chaweng.
People have mentioned fireworks. They happened twice, didnt wake our children but I can see some people getting annoyed. That said, it happens all over the beach in Chaweng so thats probably not particular to this resort.
All in all amazing holiday.

Room Tip: We saw three rooms. room 327 is right on the beach, best location in the hotel and beautifully appoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haddonandcara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    950
    366
    59
    19
    7
See reviews for
332
707
56
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, Melbourne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

A family of four, we stayed at BFS in late July 2012. The resort is well laid out and the pool is fantastic. It has two smaller attached pools for children. The breakfast area is beautifully positioned on the beachfront and the position of the resort itself is great, the beach here is superb. The room was spacious, a deluxe room it was. From here to the beach it was no more than 20 seconds.

Only problem with BFS is some of the staff. For starters, when we arrived we realised the room we booked over the internet was a little too small. The receptionist showed us our room and a bigger room but she was obviously not from the Land of Smiles, her persona was cold and she was very matter of fact, almost as if we were being checked into a maximum security prison.

Then while I was sleeping one day on the lounge chair by the pool a staff member woke me up and ordered me not to put towels on pool side lounges as well as beach lounges, as the resort was full. I hastily pointed out that there were four of us, therefore we had every right as paying guests to reserve four lounges with four towels. Ok then, he said.

Several similar incidents somewhat marred our stay at what was otherwise a great resort.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank turns71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We booked a superior room in this hotel and if you see the pictures of the hotel you expect the paradise. In fact we had a superior room with a window directly into the hotel lobby, closed windows to the street (Chaweng Beach Road) and this was in fact not that what we expected from this Hotel. We managed to upgrade on the 3rd day to a bungalow and stayed there for another 4 days.
If you like touristic areas with a lot of noise, action and firework each day this is the right spot. For all others stay away, this is just not like the area you would stay for relaxing holidays.

Room Tip: don't book the superior rooms, they are all beside the lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DominikNeuner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

My husband and I have just returned from 10 days at Banana Fan Sea, it was our first visit and the resort ticked all the boxes.
Staff constantly friendly and faultless service for whatever your needs may be.
Our only problem was do we sit by the pool today or by the beach? the most relaxing holiday
we have ever taken..as everything was taken care off for us by the staff.
All meals were excellent in variety and produce, a friend and I took the cooknig classes and had
a great time, then joined by our husbands to enjoy and show off our 3 course lunch.
Banana Fan SEa is a resort we will return to.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanette58_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

I have just returned from Banana Fan Sea with my husband and i had an amazing stay. We were greeted with cold face towels and a drink on arrival and the staff were constantly friendly and very welcoming. The rooms were very spacious and were kept spotless daily by the staff. We also had complimentary bottled water in the fridge every day. The pool area was beautiful looking out on to gorgeous sea views and we never had to rush to get a sunbed in a morning. There was always plently to choose from with free clean pool towels daily. The food in the restaurant was very nice and very good value. The thai cuisine was very tasty. I would definitely stay at this hotel again. It was beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Seatonjames23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.2 km away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,742 reviews
1.9 km away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
2,358 reviews
0.2 km away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
678 reviews
0.4 km away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
1.4 km away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Fan Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Fan Sea Resort

Property: Banana Fan Sea Resort
Address: 201 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,711 - ₹ 12,195
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banana Fan Sea Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Banana Fan Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Fan Sea Hotel Chaweng
Banana Fan Sea Bophut
Banana Fan Sea Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing