We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, nice location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banana Fan Sea Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Ranked #4 of 103 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good value, nice location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

I stayed here with two friends last December. We had spent time in Chiang Mai beforehand and were looking for a nice place to relax for a few days and after finding a cheap flight to Samui we decided on the Banana Fan. We booked two rooms which were both of a good size and well maintained although we didn't spend much time in them. The pool area is fine, the pool staff are excellent, and we took full advantage of the happy hour prices for beer!!

There are plenty of restaurants to suit all budgets a short walk away, and you can literally step straight from the pool area on to the beach.

The hotel also arranged reasonably priced airport pick up and drop off for us, and the reception were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WindsorVillain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    853
    344
    51
    16
    7
See reviews for
304
634
49
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

Upon arrival to the hotel, we were greeted by the warm and friendly staff who offered drinks and cold towel. Checking in was brisk. The room itself looks fine, but the bathroom seems old. There is bathtub and all the amenities; but for the price I'm paying, I'm expecting more. Room service comes twice a day, which is good.

The breakfast is up to standard. The staff at the restaurant take note of our preference of coffee/tea, and had them ready every morning before we settled ourselves down at the table. The beach, which was a minute walk away from our room, is simply awesome. However, the downside is that there isn't much activity at night.

The street right outside the resort is rather quiet, and the main street is quite a distance away. And because the street is one-way (the hotel is towards the end of the one-way street), we would take the taxi to the start of the street and stroll back to the resort.

The lady at the "tour guide counter" is extremely friendly and helpful. She helped us a lot and introducing all the things-to-do and places to visit.

One piece of advice: never go to sleep with a mosquito in the room. We figured out that when the staff are making up the room, they'll leave the door wide open for mosquitoes to camp in the room. Hence, mosquito repellent and coils are good. Otherwise, be prepared to hunt for mosquitoes when you arrive back in your room at night.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicholasyeo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012 via mobile

We booked here after reading all the good reviews, but we're very disappointed
The rooms are very outdated, the bathroom is even worse, and the ac just doesn't do the job.
Having said that the location and the service are very good but you can get much better value at the buri rasa next door.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yonatanadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

We just arrived home from a 13 night stay at Banana Fan Sea and would recommend this resort to anyone. This was our fourth trip to Samui but the first with our two kids and at this resort. The kids loved it. The beach is perfect this time of year so the kids won't have any problems splashing about. The pool is a little deep but has a couple of spa areas which the kids will love.
We stayed in rooms 206-207 which are connecting so they work perfectly for a family of four. The kids had one room to themselves and we had the other. The rooms are fitted with LED Tv and DVD player so the kids will be happy. They even have their own bathroom. Both rooms are sized well and are nice and clean. You won't be unhappy in these rooms.
The staff are great and loved the kids and helped out where they could. Food was great with a good range of items for breakfast. The resort is well located in the heart of Chaweng which makes walking with kids a little easier.
We loved staying at Banana Fan Sea and would certainly return if we head to Samui again.
Thanks for a great holiday.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Xander A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Banana Fan Sea resort in Samui. Since the moment we arrive we were treated in a unique manner, personel was very kind and friendly and they will do their best to make you feel at home. The breakfast was excellent with all sort of tropical fruits and variety for all tastes. The restaurant is also quite nice they offer all type of dishes, from fruit de mer to thai food with great taste. Rooms were ok, nicely decorated.
The beach was also great, away from noise places and perfect for a swim.

May only advice for the island overall, not in particular for this hotel, is that the Thais should work out in creating a particular tourist tax(2% may be) to improve their main venues and streets that could be crowded and difficult to transit.

We definitively recommend this hotel for those couples looking for a peaceful place.

Room Tip: Choose those with garden terrace. try to avoid those to close to the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adriano_Maximino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.2 km away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#6 of 103 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
0.0 km away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 103 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
1.9 km away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 103 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
1.3 km away
Samui Paradise Chaweng Beach Resort
0.8 km away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 103 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Fan Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Fan Sea Resort

Property: Banana Fan Sea Resort
Address: 201 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,991 - ₹ 13,434
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banana Fan Sea Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ostrovok so you can book your Banana Fan Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Fan Sea Hotel Chaweng
Banana Fan Sea Bophut
Banana Fan Sea Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing