We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A really great hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banana Fan Sea Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Ranked #5 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Skedsmo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A really great hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed at Banana Fan Sea Resort for 16 nights........ Since my mom and dad have stayed here several times, it was a "must" to stay here for my family too! We had the gratest time ever.... the location was perfect, the pool area great and the beach was excellent! The kids loved it too, they loved the icecream and milkshakes in the restaurant and the kids pool was great for kids that would like to learn to swim. The staff is really friendly and helpfull and they arranged an easter egg workshop for the kids, which my kids just loved!

Everyday at the beach we enjoyed 60 min massage in the hotels massage area.... Nice and relaxing.......

Next time we are going to Samui, we definently know where to stay.......!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monica O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    908
    357
    56
    18
    7
See reviews for
315
679
55
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Travelled with friends and a 3 year old we needed accommodation that was not a mega resort and was within walking distance for dining. The Banana Fan Sea Resort was perfect!

The resort was located on the beach but had great privacy. The rooms were always clean and the staff friendly and attentive to all our needs especially the 3 year old!

Pool is not massive but clean and there are lovely lounges and umbrellas to just relax. We had to get use to the "grab a lounge with a towel" in the morning routine when we went to breakfast. Otherwise we would have struggled to get a sun lounge together.

Breakfast is buffet style with a chef to make your choice of eggs etc. All good! Lovely choices of fresh juices and fruits etc. We ate at the restuarant and the food was great with a comprehensive drinks menu.

You can walk out the front of the resort, turn to the right and try Ninja Crepes across and up the road for food. Do not be put off by its laid back appearance the food is terrifc and the lime shakes which are identical to a lime granita are just what you need in the heat (you can also get them to take away!)

There are so many good restaurants on the beach just remember to be adventurous and try Thailands amazing cuisine. You will end up paying more for a Western dish when you can have an authenic Thai meal for half the price.

Just a quick word of advice if you are looking for good quality "replica" bags this is the place to shop not Bangkok. My friend bought a great bag in a shop owned by an Indian family (not one of the touristy cheap cheap shops) that she gets many comments on back home and I thought I would leave it till I got to Bangers! BIG MISTAKE!

Room Tip: When you book a room try and get one away from the restaurant. It can be a little noisy in the morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlameRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We spent two weeks here in April 2013 in a beachfront villa (327). The hotel is very well located on a beautiful stretch of white sandy beach,easy walking distance to central Chaweng but on a nice quiet part of South Chaweng. Our room was very nicely decorated and quite spacious, with a verandah overlooking the beach .Air conditioning was very effective. The bathroom was smallish but perfectly adequate and well appointed. We were very happy with the standard of the room and the space provided. I think some of the other deluxe rooms are on the small side, but they all offer a verandah and attractive decor. All the other beachfront villas are also delightful-room 328 is amazing and offers a stunning seaview too. The pool is not big, but it is very nice ( most of the pools we saw in KS were smallish.) The beach is fantastic and there are plenty of sunlounges . The restaurant serves good food and poolside service is also offered. Breakfast was good -the usual buffet offerings and egg station etc. Free wifi was available in the room, restaurant and poolside. There are many restaurants, bars and shops nearby so you are spoilt for choice.
If you are looking for an exclusive deluxe resort this may not be the place for you, however we were very happy here.This a good 4 star resort with a mix of familiies, young couples and older couples. Staff are friendly and helpful and the location on beautiful South Chaweng beach makes it an excellent choice. (NB the beach in central Chaweng is not as nice and is very crowded and noisy so bear this in mind when looking at hotels in that area)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank waitee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

This is a lovely hotel. We stayed in a superior room, which was great. The room was clean and comfortable. The hotel is right on the beach and a short walk from all the restaurants and bars. The pool is nice as was the food and the staff. This hotel is definitely value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank padser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Our family of 3 grown up children with their parents stayed at this resort this summer in two adjoining de luxe bungalows. Really nice location, nice facilities, super nice and service minded staff and an excellent restaurant at the hotel as well. The resort is right at the beach - we stayed mostly at the pool area with easy access to drinks and snacks and was in the nicer arm seawater in just a few steps.

Only issue we had was lack of wireless Internet access in the pool area and bad signal in the bungalows. Guess this is not important for all, but it was a bit annoying for us having to do emails in the lobby. If that had been taken care off, this would be five stars from us.

Anyway - highly recommended

Room Tip: Wireless Internet will probably work in rooms near the lobby area ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Torben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.2 km away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
1.9 km away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,252 reviews
0.2 km away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.8 km away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.6 km away
Baan Samui Resort
Baan Samui Resort
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Fan Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Fan Sea Resort

Property: Banana Fan Sea Resort
Address: 201 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,715 - ₹ 13,754
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banana Fan Sea Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Banana Fan Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Fan Sea Hotel Chaweng
Banana Fan Sea Bophut
Banana Fan Sea Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing